We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot just North of Tampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #45 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Spot just North of Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for two nights in a standard king room with a view of the "beach" and bay. This Hotel does have a small private beach that had 10 or so lounge chairs on it and I am not sure you could get more than that out there. Check in was great, valet's were great, both people that took care of the bags were great and this hotel has a Starbuck's, so not much to complain about here. In the pic's they show a roof top pool, but that is for events only, there is a pool inside that is open 24/7. If we return to Tampa we will stay here again, this hotel has great access to the highway and getting around Tampa.

Room Tip: The one pointer I will put out there if you are a light sleeper lick myself do not get a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Caillier,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your very kind words. It certainly is a team effort and our team goal is to provide every guest with service that is memorable and personal. I am somewhat confused about the photo of our rooftop pool. Although it would be great to have one there is only a function room called BluVu on the rooftop level. if you come across that photo I would like to know if you could send it to me. Or better yet, bring it with you on your next visit. Once again, thank you.

Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    136
    51
    23
    30
See reviews for
84
120
35
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali Sun
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic hotel near airport with shuttle service. Hotel is close to many local attractions, shuttle service to/ from airport and areas within 2 mile radius.

Aqua restaurant in hotel has excellent food for all tastes. Every staff we met from the front desk,restaurant, to lounge on 15th floor provided exceptional service.

Scott, one of the managers at the hotel went above and beyond to assist us with some items we had to leave behind for pickup later during a returning visit a week later at the hotel as we were unable to take them with us on a cruise.

The Westin Tampa Bay team also accommodated us during our return and allowed us to check in early at 10am as we came back from our cruise out of the Tampa port.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear vg247,

Your feedback and kind sentiments are very much appreciated and will be shared with our entire Team. They will be very pleased to read, as I was, that you enjoyed your visit and gave us the highest 5/5 rating possible. As a Top Contributor with Tripadvisor, you certainly have first hand experience at being able to distinguish service which is personal and instinctive. It is our goal to provide this level of service for all of our guests and some feel that we have set the bar too high and maybe they are correct. However, we certainly have fun trying thanks to loyal guests such as yourself.
Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a family member's wedding nearby. We really enjoyed this hotel and hope to return in the future. We arrived to the hotel a few hours before check-in and were given a room on the SPG floor facing the bay as requested. Parking was $5 per night at this hotel. The hotel was quite easy to find and is within driving distance of many hotels and attractions. The view is what made this hotel. We were able to watch dolphins, manatees, and large fish in the bay in the morning. The hotel has a small private beach on the bay and some of the dolphins came pretty close to the beach. The beach is small and right near the the road, but it was plenty nice for sitting out and enjoying the Florida sun. The hotel often had flavored water waiting in the lobby for the guests. There is a restaurant/bar and Starbucks on site.

There was only one negative about our stay. Upon returning to our room on the last night (after the wedding) our room had a very strong, musty smell to it. It did not smell in the hallway, but appeared to be coming from the air vent in the room when I got closer to it. We did not alert the front desk because we had to leave in 5 hours to head to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear slp2003,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even happier that you have taken the time to share your experience. Judging by the photos it appears as though you were also able to enjoy some of our sunny weather. We all look forward to your next visit and hopefully there is another Tampa Family Wedding coming up soon:).
Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel w/free shuttle service to the airport and two local malls. The Westin also has a heated indoor pool/hot tub which is open 24 hours, along with a full service Starbucks downstairs in the lobby. I never saw anyone swimming in the bay outside, but there are lounge chairs for sun tanning which helps. We opted to eat a the local Bahama Breeze (a short walk) as opposed to the hotel restaurant but I've heard the restaurant is good. Overall friendly staff. The only downside was the front desk receptionist told us the breakfast hours incorrectly as she provided weekend hours and not weekday so we missed the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Ohio 12334,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as well as your very kind sentiments. It is our objective to provide every guest with a level of service that is nothing short of personal and instinctive. Hopefully we achieved our goal as it pertains to your visit. I apologize for you being misinformed regarding the hours for our Breakfast Buffet and I will certainly follow up to make certain that all of our Associates are better informed.
Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Needed a place that provided Airport shuttle service to and from the Airport. Our usual place was boked, so we selected this one. We will always come here from now on for our stop over. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious, the view outside with a tiny beach was nice, and the bar/restaurant was great. The service was a litle slow at the bar due to being busy, but prefer that over an empty bar with fast service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear BarKat69,

Thank you for "stopping over" and for taking the time to share your thoughts and kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and excited to know that you will be staying with us in the future. Please feel free to let us know in advance if there is anything that we can provide to make you next stay all that much more enjoyable!!

Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
659 reviews 659 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
644 helpful votes 644 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is my top choice for a hotel by the airport in Tampa. Nice new building, very modern, clean, great rooms/Westin beds, good soundproofing, and has everything you might need. Professional Service. Concierge Lounge on 15th Floor, indoor swimming pool and health club, a "real" Starbucks store in the lobby... even a little beach if you need some extra rays before your flight! Professional, friendly service. They have a shuttle service that leaves the hotel at the top of the hour that will drop off at the myriad of top restaurants nearby... so if you don't have a car, book your dinner reservations at 15 past the hour you want to go and you'll be all set.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Boston,

We are all extremely excited to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We consistently strive to hit on all cylinders and it is great to hear about the times that we are successful. Your kind words are very much appreciated and it is obvious, as a "Top Contributor" that you have a true appreciation for all aspects of Hospitality. We like to call it service that personal and instinctive and thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.

Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our anniversary, and we were very impressed. The hotel was clean, updated and the staff was friendly. We originally booked a date that had a no refund policy, our plans changed and so did our date. The General Manager was nice enough to let us change our date and called me personally to let me know. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but it looked nice. The pool, hot tub & fitness center were all clean & well kept. We'll definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear BevyUSA,

Please allow us to wish both of you a belated Happy Anniversary!! We are happy to hear that you chose to spend it with us and look forward to your return. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and the hotel to be clean and updated. Hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy our Award winning restaurant, AQUA which has also been ranked as one of Tampa's most Romantic Restaurants by Opentable. Something to keep in mind for your next anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words.

Be Well
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.