We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Rooms are always excellent and clean. Bar area is good as is the bar food. Restaurant is over priced in my opinion, certainly for breakfast.
Local dining options are limted but Bahama Breeze is always reliable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Phil B,

We appreciate your kind comments and thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Bay when you stay in Tampa. It is great to hear that your room is always clean and great and that you enjoy the food in Aqua. We will certainly take your comments regarding pricing into consideration the next time we revise our menus. Thank you again for taking the time.

Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    120
    43
    19
    27
See reviews for
80
102
35
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I expect the Westin to be good based on its name, and the Westin in Tampa most assuredly met the criteria. The Hotel is well situation, modern. The rooms are clean, comfortable and large with good sized bathrooms and plenty of water pressure and towels. There's even a little beach by the water for one to grab some sun. But what really stood out in this hotel was the staff: Warm and friendly whilst remaining efficient and present (you're greeted with a genuine smile AND getting top notch service). A thoroughly positive experience that would have me return at any time...with family, friends or solo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear CSEMcCauley,

Thank you for your very kind words regarding our hotel, the location and especially the Staff. As they say, it is the people who make the difference and we strive to achieve our goal of having every guest experience service that is truly personal and instinctive. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts and hopefully we will be seeing you again in the very near future.

Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel itself is stylish and neat. It is relatively close to the airport (10 minutes away) and offers a free shuttle service which can take you to nearby restaurants and either the International Plaza or the smaller Westshore plaza should you enjoy shopping or wish to catch a movie. Whilst the hotel is slightly 'isolated' its a great spot to get away from it all. The rooms are clean and neat and I loved the fact that they provide mouthwash. The room bar is well stocked and the Starbucks coffee machine in the room makes a good cup of coffee to get your day off to a good start. There is a small, but adequately equipped gym (lifestyle fitness machines) and indoor pool. The hotel has its own small private beach and although I wouldn't want to swim in the little bay outside the hotel, many people did. They also offer boat and jetski hire. Our room (number 1201) had a wonderful view across the bay and each morning we woke up to the sight of a family of 7 manatees playing in the bay, along with plenty of jumping fish and bird life. That in itself made the hotel perfect in our minds! The hotel has its own Starbucks, as well as a wonderful romantic restaurant called Aqua. The food is excellent. We would highly recommend the crab cakes and seafood chowder starters. And I absolutely loved the Grilled Tuna Nicoise salad. My husband and I prefer firmer beds so, for us, the sleep quality was slightly poorer than we would like (but each to their own, right?). We found the staff friendly and helpful. The internet is 9.95 per day but there is free wifi at Starbucks or in the lobby area. Westin offer gym clothing and shoe hire at $5 a day - I've never come across that before. The only negative that I can think of is that the hotel is situated on a busy causeway and close enough to the airport to hear the planes. So if you are sensitive to noise then perhaps its not the best. However, I would recommend it and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the bay. Room 1201 is a corner room with expansive views, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear SagMoonTravels,

Your comments are accurate and very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to paint a picture and including many details....down to the mouthwash :). We certainly hope that you and your husband will be visiting us again soon and when you do, please feel free to request a bed board which I can assure you will provide the firmness to your bed that you both prefer.

Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms nice and clean, attentive and helpful staff - from the front desk to valet. Really like having a Starbucks in here. Great location, close to food options, airport and the larger city. Bay side rooms have a great view of the bay, especially at night. However, I Would not recommend the breakfast buffet at Aqua.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Scotch C,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us and please know that we certainly do appreciate your very kind words. Although it appears that we did a "solid" job overall, we fell short with our breakfast buffet. I would like to apologize for your displeasure with breakfast and your comments will certainly help us continue to improve certain areas of the buffet. We hope that you will be staying with us again soon and hope that you give the breakfast buffet another chance!!

Thank you again and
Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a room booked... But when called to confirm we were notified that our room was cancelled by a 3rd party. Not sure how that happened? When we requested a new room rate it was 2x the amount as we did not qualify for the wedding party rate at that point. The person we spoke to on the phone was nice... But we could not get any solid answers regarding our situation. In future I don't think I will suggest or go to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Rusty P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your very unfortunate experience and I do apologize for the cancellation of your reservation by a third party. I do not understand how that could have happened and hope that you have been able to gain more information since you submitted this review. Unfortunately, we cannot pursue this matter and provide you with an explanation since we do not have your name or confirmation number. If you would like to provide that information, we would gladly look into the matter and get back with you.

Be Well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently had the displeasure of staying at the Westin, Tampa Bay. Upon arrival, my party and I were informed that the wedding block arrangement we had agreed upon was not going to be honoured. We ended up being spread out across two floors rather than the block of rooms that were promised. We later found out, that the honeymoon suite for the bride and groom was also not delivered according to previous arrangements. While I understand the difficulties associated with booking a whole wing at such an establishment, I do not understand why they would make such guarantees only to go back on their word after the fact.

After several run ins with the staff throughout the night, what was left of our party decided to checkout and find accommodations elsewhere. At this point, the service resembled a scene from Dumb and Dumber while trying to sort out our cancellations. Amidst the blatant lies which they were continuously caught in, they were unable to find reservations under specific names, unable to print out cancellation confirmations, and were not able to provide transportation to a different destination after that again was agreed upon.

In the end, we ended up speaking to the General Manager about the transportation issue. He without question, turned out to be the most rude and ridiculous person I have ever talked to. He redefined every stereotype of arrogant America.

Aside from the ridiculous service, the location and rooms were great. With that being said, they are not nearly enough to overlook the treatment we received. Save yourself the trouble and look elsewhere. The Mainsail, roughly 15 miles down the highway is a great pick. Don't however ask for directions from the Westin. According to them: "Just walk across that highway there, it's right across the road. You can't miss it."

I can't make this stuff up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Who says that you can't make this stuff up?

In reality, one of the members of your group was relocated to the Mainsail due to the fact that we received several noise complaints coming from their room. After giving them 2 warnings, the noise level actually worsened and the (valid) complaint calls continued. Out of courtesy and respect for the guests who were trying to sleep at 2:45 am, we secured reservations for your friends at Mainsail and drove them there in our Hotel Shuttle just to make certain that they arrived safely. The Mainsail is 4.5 miles from us and not "15 miles down the highway".
I wish that you would have explained "after having several run ins with the staff throughout the night" in a little more detail. Could it have been Security?
The next morning we comped two rooms for the guests who were kept wake all night!!
Also the next morning, four members of the group voluntarily CHOSE to check out and join their friends at the Mainsail. I am not positive if you are one of them, however a member of that group rudely demanded that we either shuttle them or pay for the cab fare. Our coutesy shuttle radius is 3 miles and we transported the others the night before out of concern for their safety. The same certainly did not apply the next day and is possibly the reason for this extremely inaccurate and unfair review.
I would also like to apologize for my response to the review "Worst hotel exprience, hands down" because we honestly did not recognize the distorted details in that review. The mention of "Mainsail" in this review is what helped make the connection to the developing trend. There was one other review submitted, but it was rejected by Tripadvisor because it was in violation of their guidelines!!
Hotel guestrooms are not intended for partying. Every guest is entitled to a safe and peaceful night's sleep and it is our responsibility to make certain they receive it.

Regards,
Ron
General Manager of The Westin Tampa Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've literally never had worse service at a hotel. Each level of service was atrocious, and no one really seemed to know anything.
Is it saying something when the Valet was by FAR the friendliest and most helpful staff member on duty, even after speaking directly to the Hotel General Manager?

Our wedding group was not given the block of rooms that we had originally negotiated, there were errors in our booked accommodations, they could not find several of us in their files, they LOST 3 of our friends and had no idea where they were sent within the city, they mis-informed us regarding check out times and cancellation policies, we were forced to wait for 2 shuttles only be told each time that they could not even take us to the proposed destination, they could not provide paperwork to confirm our cancellations. This was all within an 8 hour stay.

Terrible experience, and although the room itself was nice with a great view, it still seems
The General Manager did not care whatsoever and was completely dismissive. Awful.overpriced. With completely new management and staff, this COULD be a fantastic hotel. At the moment it leaves a LOT to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Ryan595,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent experience. However, I am the General Manager and I do not recall any such circumstances surrounding an incident as you have described it. Is it possible that you have the wrong hotel in mind? I have also checked with the members of our entire Management Team and none of them recall a situation remotely close to your description. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can help clear any of this up for you.
Regards,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Starwood, Venere, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.