We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #48 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

An impressive hotel. Nicely appointed and clean rooms. Comfortable beds and a great bathroom with a separate shower and bath. Well decorated for this price range. We stayed for four nights. One of the better exercise rooms I've seen in a hotel in awhile. Dumbells, exercise machines, treadmills, ellipticals, it even had exercise balls and exercise mats for use. We had an issue with the Internet service- we were charged multiple times each day instead of the $9.95 per day as advertised, but the extra charges were removed at checkout. The hotel has a great restaurant called Aqua in it, on the high end, but great food. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Mario M.,

Thank you for selecting the Westin Tampa Bay and thank you also for your very kind comments. It is always a true pleasure to receive feedback such as yours and it encourages our team to raise the bar even higher.
We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the design of the guestroom and bathroom and that you found our Heavenly Bed to be just that!! The Westin Workout does get quite a bit of use and is a major plus when it comes to rejuvenation. I am glad that you were able to use it.
I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed Aqua, our Award winning restaurant. We do have an all day menu which is priced lower because it does not feature the larger more expensive dinner size portions. I am sorry if we did not offer you that menu, but please feel free to ask for it next time. I apologize for the confusion with the internet charge and that it was posted to your folio multiple times. We did have a tempoary interface problem during that time, but it has since been corrected.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and we look forward to having the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Ron Alicandro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    141
    53
    24
    30
See reviews for
85
125
35
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel and location worked out great for my family -- convenient for downtown, beaches and airport. We had a wonderfully relaxing two day stay here. The staff was courteous and efficient, the room was airy, clean and welcoming, the view breathtaking and the bathroom spacious and spotless! The onsite Starbucks was handy and the room service dining was excellent! The one complaint we might have had is that the pool is rather small, but after having spent much of the day at the Clearwater area beaches, none of us wanted to use a pool. Great value all around and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: high floor but not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear S D,

On behalf of our entire Staff, I would like to thank you for selecting the Westin Tampa Bay and for your very kind comments. I have shared your comments with our Team and they were very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hopeful that you will return soon. We are also happy to hear that our location worked out for you and that you appreciated the central location putting you close to the beaches, shopping, countless restaurants and even the theme parks.

We all look forward to you and your family visiting with us again and hope you have a great remainder of the Summer.

Regards,
Ron Alicandro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed 4 nights and found the hotel to be very nice. Clean, friendly staff and accommodating. Nothing special but a great place to stay if you need to be centrally located. We played golf at the 3 Sports Authority manged public courses and this turned out to be a good location for us. Also easy to get to the beaches near Clearwater. One of the highlights was the hotel's walking proximity to Bahama Breeze restaurant and bar. Ate there every night. Good chips and salsa, incredibly tasty Shrimp calypso and curried shrimp rice bowl.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Mike W.,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with both the accomodations and the level of service received from our Staff. It is our goal to provide every guest with a level of service that is both personal and instinctive. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future and if there is anything that we can do to make your stay even more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Regards,
Ron Alicandro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was impressed the minute I drove up to the entrance. (Note: getting here from Tampa is quick because the hotel has it's own turn lane on the causeway; returning to Tampa takes a little longer because of the route to and wait for the traffic light on the causeway.)

The decor is sleek, modern and, in a sense, minimal - understated elegance. The staff seems genuinely interested in making your stay pleasant and comfortable, and each interaction - from handing my car to the valet, to check-in, to ordering room service - was handled quickly and flawlessly. The sense of wanting to act in the best interest of the customer extended to the staff of the Starbucks in the lobby.

One serious downside: hall noise and, to some extent, sounds from the neighboring room can easily be heard (in particular, the phone in the next room, which rings frequently as the occupants appear to be with a group). Also, I spent several minutes looking for the room service menu, and when I told the front desk I wasn't able to find it I learned the menu for in-room dining is on the TV. You can't order off the TV, though, but when I phoned to place my order the person answering immediately knew my room number and greeted me by my last name.

Room Tip: Rooms xx03 (and probably xx01 and xx05) have an excellent view of the Tampa skyline and the bay, inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear WellINever,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and thank you for the very kind words regarding your stay. Comments such as yours are very gratifying to the entire Staff and certainly provide an added incentive to continue to do all that we can to raise the bar by providing service that is nothing less than personal and instinctive. It is our pleasure to provide you with the level of service which you have come to expect from Westin Hotels and we only hope that we have another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again!!!

Regards,
Ron Alicandro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Definetly a great addition to the Westin brand.

From the time I arrived the staff demonstrated a high level of efficiency, professionalism and above all friendliness. I felt welcome and attended to.

The room was nicely sized and well appointed. Plenty of outlets for gadgets and a great interface for the HD tv. The requisite Westin bed of course makes for a nice sleep. The view, was beyond compare. Looking out across the bay to downtownTampa and St Petersburg.

An additional benefit is the in house restaurant, Aqua. The chef puts out a consistently well prepared and presented product. The staff is attentive and friendly. During my 4 week stay, I had the chance to sample many menu items and did not find anything I didn't like. The beef carpaccio is AMAZING.

Overall, the hotel made a long stay away from home more tolerable. i felt well cared for and comfortabe. There is nowhere i would rather stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Comaaz,

Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words regarding your recent and extended stay with us. It is an honor to have you as our guest and your comments are greatly appreciated. They also provide the greatest incentive for all of our Associates to continue to provide service that is instinctive and personal and give us all the strong desire to raise the bar even higher. I hope that your travels bring you back to Tampa and we look forward to having another opportunity to insure that all of your future stays are relaxing and enjoyable.

Regards,
Ron Alicandro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The words "private beach" seem to have a different meaning at The Westin Tampa Bay. It turns out that anyone off the street can, and regularly does, invade the "private beach" on a hourly basis to rent public jet skies that are located on, you guessed it , the "private beach". This strip of sand or so-called "Private Beach" is small enough without the added traffic of inexperienced, often first time, jet ski renters, which in my opinion create an obvious hazard to the legitimate guests that are paying to stay at a Resort with a "private beach". Close calls and even collisions among riders are not uncommon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear bob d,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us and I would like to take this oppoortunity to sincerely apologize if your experience on the beach in any way detracted from the remainder of your visit with us. You are correct in that the boats and jet skis are available for rental to both hotel guests and local individuals as well. However, the beach is not open to the public and can only be tenporarily occupied by local residents while they are renting a watercraft.. This is the reason for staff on the beach who monitors this by checking for hotel room keys. As you know, the waterways are public and therefore anyone can access them and utilize them along with those who are renting. Therefore, some of the close calls that you reference could involve anyone riding their own jet skis and they should be reported. Collisions, on the other hand, are a totally different story and if a collision occurs and/or is witnessed, the local authorities are called immediately. Or at least they should be by anyone who witnesses them, citizen or otherwise. Once again, your comments are appreciated and will be conveyed to both the Rental Staff and the Marine Patrol for follow up.

Regards,
Ron Alicandro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My experience at this hotel was superlative in comparison to other Westin hotels. In particular, I was very impressed with the service I received upon check-in. I would both recommend, AND stay at this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Motivation Man,

Thank you very much for visiting with us and for taking the time to share your kind thoughts regarding your stay. It is our goal to provide the highest level of service for all of our guests beginning at the point of check in and beyond. Apparently our Staff succeeded and they will be extremely pleased to know that you will be staying with us in the future.
Comments such as yours are very uplifting and provided motivation for our Associates and reassurance for our future guests.

Regards,
Ron Alicandro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.