We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View for pre-wedding photos!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Oxford, MS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best View for pre-wedding photos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This weekend I was in a wedding at the Rusty Pelican and we stay at the Westin. From the moment we walked in, we were treated with luxury! The hotel beds are SO comfy, the Showers are Incredible and the staff is so accommodating. Thank you for making the weekend so enjoyable. I wish I was able to stay longer!

Room Tip: Ocean view---INCREDIBLE for before wedding pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    109
    38
    19
    23
See reviews for
71
91
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, CT
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a lovely property with an exceptional staff. Located on the waterfront, we were given a room with a bay view which also overlooked the small man-made beach. There were jet-skis that could be rented there as well. We had lunch on the patio and enjoyed the meal and the reasonable price. The hotel is a little out of the way and was a $22 taxi ride to downtown (one-way). The fitness center is very nice but the indoor pool needed some ventilation as we were overcome with the chlorine fumes. I pre-ordered a cheese/fruit platter and a bottle of chilled champagne to be waiting in our room and it arrived late afternoon (a little disappointing). The reputation Westin has for their Heavenly Beds and Bathrooms is still spot on. There is free wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Perhaps we just had bad timing, but we were quite disappointed with the Westin Tampa Bay. Service was very lacking. An attempt to reach the concierge in the phone was impossible. I hung up after 20 rings. But housekeeping was even worse. The room was not made up after the first night. The used towels were removed, but not replaced. We discovered this after being away from the hotel all day, so it was too late to correct the situation. We discussed this matter with the General Manager upon check out and he promised to credit us with $50. The location is nice, near the airport and the view of the bay is spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel is newer and very modern as mentioned in other reviews. You pay for parking whether you self park or valet (we were not aware of this until check out). Shuttle service to the International Plaza Mall was very convenient. A hotel with an indoor pool is hard to find in Tampa and this hotel has a nice but small pool and very small hot tub. Please note that the pool does not have a shallow section.

The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was nice, but housekeeping service was less than I expected. Despite being out of the room for most of the day our room was not cleaned until very late. Our reservation was for 4 people (2 adults and 2 children), and I even called in advance to confirm they had this information to make sure we would get two beds. The housekeeper clearly saw that we had 4 people but only gave us 2 towels, one mini bottle of shampoo and one of their tiny, fancy bars of soap. We had to call down to get adequate supplies. For the price paid I expected better housekeeping service.

I liked the location and the the shuttle driver and front desk staff were friendly. The bar was overpriced but that was to be expected. We were close to the causeway and airport but I did not hear any noise in the room. In all I had a nice stay, and would stay again for the right price. Hopefully they will hire additional housekeepers as other reviews have mentioned rooms not being ready at check in. This is apparently an ongoing problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Was in town on business and for social event; we spent five nights here in two rooms. While facility is very modern, attractive and clean, with nice views, comfortable ("Heavenly") beds and showers, there was much to disappoint. Front desk is very slow. Our business fax was never delivered, and when we discovered the problem on the following day and inquired about it, it was never explained (and no apology.) They charge for internet use in rooms...per device. Breakfast in restaurant is overpriced. Indoor pool closes too early (dusk) as does the bar in lobby (11 p.m.) There's no hotel information book in room, must access info by scrolling through cumbersome screens on the TV ---front desk explained they were "going green", but apparently this does not apply to Westin Home Collection book, where you can order their many Westin brand products.
Location convenient to airport, but isolated; not much nearby. All in all, unimpressive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The first great thing about the hotel is the complimentary shuttle from Tampa Int'l airport. Driver was friendly and courteous. Arriving into the hotel lobby, you are greeted by the signature Westin white tea scent (my husband's fave) and a clean, crisp modern decor. Front desk agent was very friendly and the process went quickly. The room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was large and bright. I love both the Heavenly bed and shower. The Westin workout room was clean and the machines were brand new (or close to it). The entire property itself is impeccably maintained and all members of the staff we encountered were friendly and cheerful. The only slight downside to our stay was that we did dine at the hotel restaurant and as one reviewer mentioned, the service was incredibly slow. Our server could not have been nicer and when we did get our food, it was delicious. We spoke with the restaurant manager on duty who also could not have been nicer and he remedied the situation by apologizing profusely as well as taking a couple items off of our bill. Overall, a great stay at the Westin Tampa Bay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Family mini-vacation , kids loved the indoor heated pool, the beds very comfortable and the view as awesome.Only draw back to staying here nothing was in walking distance. Hotel staff very warm and friendly. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms facing the airport have a great view and the higher floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#29 Business Hotel in Tampa
#41 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#41 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.