We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Oak Hill, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I regularly stay at the Westin Tampa Bay for business and it is an overall nice hotel. It is fairly new, and the Heavenly Beds are extremely comfortable. The fitness room is functional, and the machines have ipod connections which is great. Also has a small indoor swimming pool. The hotel is located close to the airport, at the start of the Courtney Campbell Causeway. As a result, the view from most rooms is good, especially from the odd numbered rooms. Has a Starbucks in the lobby along with the Aqua Bar & Grill restaurant. The staff is very friendly and remembers repeat guests.

The hotel charges $5/nt for parking regardless of whether you self park or valet, unless it's included in your rate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    108
    38
    19
    23
See reviews for
71
91
33
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel before proceeding to a condo stay on Redington Beach. It was about 10 minutes from the airport. The room was very pleasant with a floor to ceiling window which gave a great view of the bay. In fact, at night we kept the curtain open to fall asleep to such a great view and to be woken up by the sunlight.

The fitness room had more than enough equipment; the indoor pool although somewhat warm was relaxing after the plane ride to Tampa. Breakfast can be had at the Starbucks in the lobby. For dinner we were able to walk to the Bahama Breeze restaurant, almost like an Applebees but with a Caribbean theme. We planned to rent a car the next day for our drive to the Gulf Coast. Didn't see too many other restaurants nearby but down the street by the gated community there was a grocery store for sodas, water, and other things we wanted later on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Check your bill closely as that favorite scam, charging you for things you didn't get or use from the "refreshment center:" is alive and well at this hotel. Another favorite is "keeping the change" at the restaurant...they don't give you your change unless you specifically ask for it. Of course, alternatively, you can just let them have the change (for any bill more than $10 you'll come out ahead) and leave nothing else for tips.

Be prepared for flooding in the bathroom...the shower stall has an inch gap between the door and the stall, so you'll need all the towels you can get to mop up the flooding. And be careful, especially on night time visits to the toilet - slippery when wet!

Be sure to come up with a porter and have him try on all the in house appliances. I was out of luck as my TV and IHome did not work...no TV, no music, no radio. Complaints met with indifference so insist on the porter testing everything. My "engineer" never did show up.

Wrote all my complaints down, indifference reigned again at checkout. Lady took one look at my notes and you can see the mental shrug!!! I did insist the charges from the refreshment center be dropped. Hope she saw my mental "never again."

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Bad service at all points of contact. Surly phone operator, unhelpful front desk staff. The only good point was that it was a newer property. As a spy platinum, I would rate this as one of my most unpleasant stays ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This is a nice new property, near the airport and on one of the MANY causeways on the way to get to Clearwater. The hotel itself is a bit small (the lobby seems a bit cramped), there is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool. There is a "beach" area but it is man made and not really a beach. Parking is a bit of a disaster, we ended up valeting to avoid the search. The restaurant attached to the hotel was nicely decorated in the Westin Modern style. Food was good, not amazing. There is a patio area with outdoor seating for dining as well. The rooms are pretty standard size, the bathroom is HUGE and really quite above average for a hotel like this. Double sink vanity, Seperate tub and shower, lots of space for multiple people to be in there at the same time. The room has flat screen tvs with the fantastic Westin beds. Very comfortable as always. The staff seemed adequate, if not a bit cold. Overall this is one of the newer hotels in the area near the airport and mall and probably the best hotel in that immediate area, but I would find it hard to classify this as a resort due to the lack of amenities.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

It's a newer hotel with nice rooms and modern bathrooms. Close to freeway but quiet rooms. Definitely a favorite for business travel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here for business in April and loved it (again). This hotel gets top marks for service, accommodations, cleanliness, and room service. The view of the bay is a real plus, as is the proximity to TPA. Will always make this hotel my first choice when I travel to the Tampa/St. Pete area. Great job, Westin!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and we are very happy that our team was able to provide you with service that was personal and instinctive. I wish that we could take credit for for the great views of the bay, but you are correct in that the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff do also contribute to a memorable stay.
We look forward to your next visit with us and please do not hesitate to let us know how we can be of assistance.
Warm Regards,
Ron Alicandro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#29 Business Hotel in Tampa
#41 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#41 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.