We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Heaven, Not Hell, more like.... Purgatory” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9202 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not Heaven, Not Hell, more like.... Purgatory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We were here one night for the Gasparilla races. We arrived about 8:00pm, by 5:00am we were out the door. And that was a rather long 9 hours. We were greeted by the smell of mold and mildew. Then we discovered the extra tenant in our room...a dead roach in the bathroom. And to really make us feel cozy, we discovered tiny black flecks on the mattress and linens upon inspecting them....apparently we weren't sleeping alone. Well, come to think about it, we never slept at all....could never get comfortable. Never showered either....we just didn't feel....clean there. The area is also not so stellar. So do youself a favor, repent for your travel sins, and find a more heavenly place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQGS, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We've read your review of our La Quinta Inn Tampa - Busch Gardens. We're sorry for the multiple issues you had during your stay. Cleanliness is important to us, and we dropped the ball here. We'd like to talk to you directly about your situation, and would ask you contact us at tripadvisor@laquinta.com. We appreciate all your feedback; rest assured it will be shared with our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams. Thanks again, and we're looking forward to hearing from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    69
    58
    34
    47
See reviews for
121
51
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very comfortable, clean, nice complete breakfast. Great for after-Busch gardens!!! The reservation was easy, people very very nice. The room was really beautiful and free internet is a plus. We liked a lot.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, ME
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Upon arrival we of course go into the lobby...backed up out the door! One girl working. Okay...we had reservations, I am a La Quinta Inn member, but the line and wait was unacceptable. Finally get our room, it is way out around the back on the building and was told we could park there. She should have added if we could find a parking space. There were office chairs and people sitting out around making us feel very uncomfortable. The room is okay, but the bathroom is a horror show. Very very small, there was pubic hair in the tub and the shower floor is very slippery, I would hate to ask why. The water is either scalding you or freezing you...and the option is not your, it goes back and forth. No, I would not recommend this place nor would I stay again! Oh, no coffee and very few towels.

Room Tip: Continue further down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQGS, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your time with us at the La Quinta Inn Tampa - Busch Gardens. WOW - your comments are very concerning to us. We've definitely got some training opportunities with our entire team here! From how we schedule our team to how we clean our rooms we'll be sharing your feedback with our team to ensure these issues are addressed and corrected. We appreciate your feedback as it is through comments such as yours that we can make improvements! We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations and hope you'll consider coming back to La Quinta Inns & Suites in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We reserved a room for a weekend get away several weeks in advance only to be told upon our arrival that they were completely booked up. We then had to find another hotel to stay at the last minute. Beware if you actually need a room to stay.

Room Tip: Do not count on the hotel to actually reserve your room for you. Choose a different hotel that actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQGS, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Lauren, Thanks for taking the time to write of your experience at the La Quinta Inn Tampa - Busch Garden. We're sorry about what happened with your reservation, and we're quite concerned about what you've written as our hotels have procedures in place to relocate guests with confirmed reservations that we are unable to accommodate. We'd like to talk to you directly about what happened to you. Would you mind reaching out to us at tripadvisor@laquinta.com so we can chat further? Thank you again, and we're hoping to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great service, and the room was above what they rating for the hotel says. We enjoyed the pool as well, although we did not take advantage of it due to the cold-ish weather it was nice to have the option. The breakfast was excellent and a great way to start our first day of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great value. Inexpensive. Big room, updated, renovated, flat screen tv, newer carpet. All looked & smelled good. Few things needed attention, bath area mostly. Cleaners missed a few minor things. Staff is very friendly, breakfast was decent, the usual wafffles, yogurt, fruit, cereal etc. Good location, but is behind Busch Gardens. You have to walk all the way to the front, then back thru parking lot. Its 10 blocks, about a mile and then some once you backtrack thru parking lot. Nice walk on a warm day. It was 56 when we were there, so we RAN! lol. Would stay there again, no problem....but Busch Gardens is a rip off. Way too $$$$ but coasters are good if you dont have to wait all day.

Room Tip: we were near the breakfast bar, ice machine, arcade. but it was noisy! fyi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens

Address: 9202 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The La Quinta Inn Tampa Busch Gardens is only a mile from Adventure Islands Theme Parks and Busch Gardens theme park. Other family attractions include the Museum of Science and Industry, Lowry Park, and the Zoo. Ride the trolley at exciting Channelside or partake in the enchanting ni...See moreghtlife at Ybor City. Busch's Family Sports Bar & Grill is adjacent to the property and Yuengling Brewing Company is only a mile. Shopping destinations include University Square Mall and International Plaza. We are two miles from the University of South Florida. Walk from here to Johnson Battery Controls; it's just a mile to Pepsi-Cola, Quest Diagnostics, and Moffit Cancer Center. Find everything you need for an enjoyable stay at the La Quinta Inn Tampa Busch Gardens. We have a sparkling outdoor swimming pool and a game room. There is a guest laundry facility. All of our clean and comfortable rooms include free high-speed Internet access, a 25-inch TV with free cable, pay-per-view movies, Nintendo game system, and more. Enjoy a delicious Free Bright Side Breakfast every morning. Bus parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.