We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, a decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9202 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For the price, a decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel needs a face lift, bathrooms needs cosmetic work (paint, corking, and new shower heads). WI-Fi was not great, bad connection or could not connect at all. Employees very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. Beds are always awesome at La Quinta, great night sleep. Overall a good stay for the price. Those of you who like to visit Bush Gardens, could not get any closer.

Room Tip: If your a smoker, get a non smoking room, rooms cleaner. Can always step outside to have a smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    69
    57
    34
    48
See reviews for
137
53
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Clean Hotel, adequate food for breakfast, enough room for a roll away or baby crib in the room for a great price ( $ 30.00 less per night then the La Quinta Inn on the other side of Buschgardens, where we stayed last year, but does not have a Hot Tub. But this location is
closer to all kinds of restaurants and fast food places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, MA & Sebastian, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel was an older hotel that had some upgrades even though it claimed it had been refurbished. It was clean and convenient to Busch Gardens and lots of restaurants. It had new carpets, nice TV's, a microwave, and refrigerator with a small coffee maker. (We got refills for our coffee machine, our friends on another floor did not.) The breakfast was fine, and quickly refilled. The men missed some kind of meat choice that some hotels offer. We stayed at a "suite". It was really two hotel rooms with connecting door. We loved the second room with the "living room" atmosphere. This side had a pull out couch, another television, chairs, tables, and of course bathroom. When you update a hotel, you should replace everything but that was not the case here. One air conditioner was being replaced as we checked in. The old toilets were low to the floor which did not please the men of the group. One bathroom faucet was replaced, the other was not. It was extremely difficult for even an adult male to turn the water on. Even though we overlooked the pool, near the road, it was not too noisy except when emergency vehicles went by. We had to slam the door to shut it all the way. Everyone did and it was loud and irritating, especially at night. I could not 'security' lock the door. I asked the manager about the door problems and he said that the new weather seal made it hard to close the door and it would work itself out. The door automatically 'security 'locked" he stated. We were awakened one night at 1:30am to our "naked" neighbor banging on the door to let him in. His yelling, (I'm **** naked, let me in you ******!) the swearing and banging stopped when the police or security came to investigate. It was quiet after their intervention. It was ironic that our friends on another floor were awoken at 3:30am with a similar banging on the door by an irate gentleman. We mentioned it at checkout and we were all credited with one night stay. The manager couldn't have been nicer and apologized over and over. We noticed that a maintenance man was in the room shortly after we left, hopefully to replace the faucet. I would stay with them again. The price was right for the "suite" and I feel the management would correct any problems that might encounter.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs were noisier that ones on the ground floor when facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel was older but attractive. The room was clean. The pool was a nice place just to sit and enjoy the Florida weather. There were lots of eating places nearby. It's right across from the back side of Busch Gardens!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

LaQuinta has been one of my favorite chains for many years. I usually give them 4 or 5 stars. This one was a real disappointment. The quickest way to review it is to say that this was a Motel 6 for many years and looks it. LaQuinta took it over 6 years ago and made no changes except to put in new carpets and new beds and new TVs (the beds are comfortable and the TVs are nice). The toilet was old, rust-stained, and loose on its moorings. The cheapest, flimsiest furniture, a tiny cheap 1-cup coffee maker, no fridge, no microwave, not even a closet or wardrobe-- just a towel bar hung high enough for clothes but no hangers were provided (thankfully, I brought my own). They advertise that they have free WiFi but the signal was so weak and unstable in my room that checking my email was hit-or-miss. The exterior lighting is poor and the area feels unsafe.

To be fair, I chose this hotel because it was cheap ($69/night). There is another LaQuinta 2 miles away which is much nicer but also more expensive ($109/night). So I am not angry and do not feel cheated-- you get what you pay for in life-- but this hotel is NOT what I expected from a LaQuinta. Be warned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens

Address: 9202 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The La Quinta Inn Tampa Busch Gardens is only a mile from Adventure Islands Theme Parks and Busch Gardens theme park. Other family attractions include the Museum of Science and Industry, Lowry Park, and the Zoo. Ride the trolley at exciting Channelside or partake in the enchanting ni...See moreghtlife at Ybor City. Busch's Family Sports Bar & Grill is adjacent to the property and Yuengling Brewing Company is only a mile. Shopping destinations include University Square Mall and International Plaza. We are two miles from the University of South Florida. Walk from here to Johnson Battery Controls; it's just a mile to Pepsi-Cola, Quest Diagnostics, and Moffit Cancer Center. Find everything you need for an enjoyable stay at the La Quinta Inn Tampa Busch Gardens. We have a sparkling outdoor swimming pool and a game room. There is a guest laundry facility. All of our clean and comfortable rooms include free high-speed Internet access, a 25-inch TV with free cable, pay-per-view movies, Nintendo game system, and more. Enjoy a delicious Free Bright Side Breakfast every morning. Bus parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.