We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF to your Saves list
Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11310 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Dade City, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“GOOD deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a excellent choice if you are looking for a nice, well priced, convienient location for a trip to Busch Gardens, or are looking for a good location for proximity to the Haley VA Hospital/Moffitt Cancer Center. I've stayed here multiple times, and, unfailingly, the staff has been pleasant, helpful, and genuinely welcoming. They offer a dfiscounted rate for patients/family of both Moffitt and the VA Hospital, which in my case, is so appreciated! This property has a very nice, well maintained pool area, rooms with micro/fridges, a nice breakfast with coffee teas,, juices, yogurt, bagels, toast, cereals, fresh fruit included. You are within easy walking distance of restaurants and a Wawa station that is open 24/7. Definitely a good choice for this area, I've always been pleased!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnTampa, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad that we have met your expectations each and every time you have visited with us. As you could see, we are going through some awesome changes and we are so excited. We hope you will stay with us again in the very near future so you can see all the wonderful improvements we have made. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
18
14
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is disgusting. Looks nice on the outside. Smells like old people a day the lady at the front desk had some bowel disorder and was making me sick. I guess it used to be a holiday inn. It was probably really nice in the late 80s and 90s. Woke up in the morning with either a huge bed bug or a roach in bed with me and when I got in room there was a dead spider on the bed. Hotwire.com is horrible. Tell you your going to get a hyatt or holiday Inn and I get this disgusting place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnTampa, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for the delightful comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you don't know the difference between a roach and a bed bug. We are equally pleased to hear your wonderful comment about our staff. It seems that you aren't well travelled and lack experience in dealing with people and booking channels. I am sorry for that. However, I appreciate your candor and taking time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great rate, nice hotel and. GREAT STAFF!!!

It used to be a Holiday Inn and is in the process of a multimillion dollar renovation.

Hotel is across the street from Busch Gardens and The University of South Florida's Tampa campus.

Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnTampa, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed staying with us. We are in the midst of a huge renovation and a so glad to know our improvement efforts did not interfere with your stay. Please stay tuned for progress updates on our renovation. Again, thank you for posting comments about your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The rooms were clean. The staff was nice. We stayed two nights. The housekeeping turns off the ac when she cleans. It was awful coming back to a hot room. Breakfast was continental but decent,and gotta pay extra for eggs, pancakes and bacon. We stayed on a Thursday and Friday. Thursday night was super quiet. On Friday night it was the opposite. The pool area had a lot of noise, not from people in the pool. The people at the tiki bar were loud. The tiki bar is located approx 5-8 feet from the poolside where you get in at(3 ft area) The people therewere loud and cursing. My kids wanted to go swimming. There was no way that I would allow for them to go and be around such drunks and profanity. They cried there selves to sleep that night because I wouldn't let them go swim. I would HIGHLY recommend relocating the tiki bar from the pool area where kids come to swim. Overall it was a good stay. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnTampa, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share comments about your recent stay. We are pleased to know your stay was overall enjoyable. However, your concerns have been noted and will be addressed, and we apologize for your kids not being able to swim on Friday night. We are going through some major changes and your comments are very important. We appreciate your suggestion to relocate the tiki bar because of its proximity to the pool area. Please stay tuned for updates on the exciting changes ahead. We hope you will consider our hotel again on your next visit to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Clean room - very spacious! Great staff. Centrally located near Busch Gardens and the interstate. They have a shuttle bus available for the amusement park. I'd definitely stay there again if in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnTampa, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback as we progress through our renovation. We want to ensure we continue to deliver the very best possible experience. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have stayed here four different times, everytime I come here the young lady up front is very friendly very outgoing and polite. I always come around 5 o'clock in the afternoon I wish I knew her name young lady is very friendly.. The rooms are very spacious.. 1 room looks like two, the beds are very comfortable the living room is very thoughtful.. I enjoy everytime I come here.. You always going to have critics everywhere you go good or bad but this hotel here I will most definitely recommend to family members and friends who were coming to Busch Gardens or the Tampa area..
I can't thank you enough for your kindness and hospitality here during my stay here in Tampa thank you thank you
My most sincerely thanks ..
Mr..Therise Hawkins.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnTampa, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share comments about your previous stays at our hotel. We are delighted to know each time has been an enjoyable experience. Our staff goes above and beyond to deliver an excellent experience to each of our guests. However, we always appreciate when this is recognized. Again, we thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our room looked like it had been renovated recently. Watch Hotel Impossible so the finger test pasted. Furniture was painted over to look updated. Bedding and towels were clean. Bed looked new. No stains on carpet. Sofa and chair were soso for comfort. Great hot water. I use ear plugs but my husband said there was a crying baby next store, so walls thin. There continental breakfast was horrible. No working toasters. No sweet rolls. Just toast and bagels. Coffee good. They serve breakfast so I think they want you to buy. Pool area nice. For an overnight stay is ok, but long term not so much. Looks like it was just taken over from some other place. Plastic sign over the last place. So maybe they are in the process of improving.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnTampa, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking time share comments about your recent stay with us. You are correct in your observations. We are just beginning a total renovation where every area of the hotel will recieve attention. Please stay tuned as great things are yet to come. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF

Address: 11310 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently under renovation at the Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens-USF is the perfect hotel with a prime location when traveling to Tampa! Conveniently located within 1 mile of Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Moffitt Cancer Center, University of South Florida, MOSI, University Community Hospital and James A. Haley Veterans Hospital. Offering two-room suites, a beautifully landscaped courtyard area, outdoor pool, on-site restaurant and Tiki Bar, we've got what you are looking for all in one place. Our two room suites have lifestyle amenities including FREE WIFI, separate living room area, microwave, fridge, sleeper sofa, activity table with chairs and your choice of one King Bed or Two Double Beds. The Holiday Inn & Suites near Busch Gardens-USF is only 15 miles from Tampa International Airport and 8 miles from beautiful, historic downtown Tampa! Relax and let us drive you to your destination - offering complimentary shuttle transportation to area attractions within a two mile radius. Additionally we also offer a complimentary business center, complimentary fitness center and 2,250 square feet of banquet and meeting space. Our complimentary WIFI is offered throughout the property to help keep you connected when away from home! Enjoy breakfast in our Courtyard Cafe. Relax in pool-side or in our beautifully landscaped courtyard area. The Grand Suites near Busch Gardens-USF is not just another hotel - we are your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Near Busch Gardens - Usf
Holiday Inn & Suites Near Busch Gardens - Usf Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.