We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Cat Rescue

Big Cat Rescue
12802 Easy Street, Tampa, FL 33625
813-920-4130
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Big Cat Rescue like an insider
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Big Cat Rescue Day Tour
Ranked #4 of 205 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Do you see yourself looking over the vast Serengeti plains, searching the horizon for a glimpse of a pride of Lions, or a Leopard lounging in the trees? Do you imagine yourself in India, riding an elephant through the high grass with your eyes peeled for the elusive Tiger? Have you ever thought how great it would be to hike through the rainforest, listening to the tropical birds, ever on the lookout for a Leopard or an Ocelot high in the canopy? Have you ever been to the zoo and wanted to be closer to the exotic cats; so close you could almost touch them? You don't have to spend tens of thousands of dollars to make these dreams come true. The world's largest accredited big cat rescue facility is right here in Tampa, Florida at Big Cat Rescue.
Derby
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found this an interesting and informative tour. The wild cats all have sad back stories well told by the staff but also in a positive manner to give an education about the animal and what efforts have been done to help it adopt to its new surroundings and to give it a better quality of life. The staff show a keen interest in each animal and its clear it is not a money making venture. Well worth the visit and the gift shop helps support the refuge, Wear suitable footwear as it can be muddy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    143
    61
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of Big Cats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

You get to see lots of big cats, and you may learn a life lesson to: Never buy a pet tiger. The tour was a lot about how the animals got to be there, sadly many were pets that out grew their owners.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Amazing and super educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My last trip here was about 5 years ago and this time I opted for the keeper's tour, which was phenomenal! I can't say enough good things about this place! They are obviously not out to make money (like many people who exploit these animals), but to give these discarded cats a refuge for the rest of there lives and educate people in hopes that the exploitation stops.

Our guide, who has been volunteering there for six years was a wealth of information and did a wonderful job of telling us about these awesome cats. I like their down to business approach of the realities of how these animals get to them, how dangerous these cats really are, and the truths behind circuses, road side "petting zoos," and exotic pets...there's no sugar coating here.

They have a great gift shop with lots of fun stuff and you can even "adopt" a cat of your choice. I can't wait to take all my new books, activities, and knowledge back to my 2nd graders and educate them about these magnificent animals! If we lived locally, I would definitely recommend this to my kids' parents and even do a field trip. They offer a special kids' tour and I'm sure it's just as amazing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and humbling to see these animals live”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Big Cat Rescue after having a private tour and it was amazing. This is the closest we have ever been to these kinds of animals and it gives you a new respect for them. In some ways they can seem just like house cats and then they roar or show you their teeth and you remember that these are wild animals that could care less who you are and could kill you just as easily. It's a shame what some people have done to these amazing creatures. I could not recommend this place any higher.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a one hour tour. Very informative and really educational for both adults and the younger set!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Cat Rescue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Cat Rescue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.