We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Cat Rescue

Big Cat Rescue
12802 Easy Street, Tampa, FL 33625
813-920-4130
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Big Cat Rescue Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 59 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Reservations, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Do you see yourself looking over the vast Serengeti plains, searching the horizon for a glimpse of a pride of Lions, or a Leopard lounging in the trees? Do you imagine yourself in India, riding an elephant through the high grass with your eyes peeled for the elusive Tiger? Have you ever thought how great it would be to hike through the rainforest, listening to the tropical birds, ever on the lookout for a Leopard or an Ocelot high in the canopy? Have you ever been to the zoo and wanted to be closer to the exotic cats; so close you could almost touch them? You don't have to spend tens of thousands of dollars to make these dreams come true. The world's largest accredited big cat rescue facility is right here in Tampa, Florida at Big Cat Rescue.
Defiance, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were disappointed with our visit. Especially after all of the high ratings and remarks that were listed. We only saw 5 different species of cat and our quide told us the same speech at least four times in the 1 1/2 hour tour. It was not worth the 3 1/2 hour round trip drive we made. The facility and enclosures were very clean and they did give out good information and history of the cats that we did see. I did not get any good pictures. I wonder if the private tour would of been better and worth the price??

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    112
    47
    10
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plaistow, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“awesome, highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went on Monday afternoon tour and it was excellent. Got some great photos and really were impressed with how close we were to the cats and the overall experience. I would even go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Should not be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited Big Cat Rescue in early March as a break from spring training baseball games. What a wonderful destination! All the cats are well-cared for and the guides provide an animated and interesting discussion of each cat's particular circumstances. The small visitor center is worth a few minutes as well to watch the various videos on the center's background, inhabitants, and large army of dedicated volunteers. You can't help but want to purchase something or sponsor an animal after experiencing a visit. There is a reason Big Cat Rescue is a top-rated attraction in Tampa. Go see for yourself.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went for the day tour which is about 90 minutes. I really loved it, The staff is knowledgeable and you get to learn a lot about all the big cats. Ive always been interested in all cats but never realized how much the mix breeding people do can be a bad thing. Of course sometime they hide and you don't get to see them all but we were able to see a couple up close and get some great pictures. I really enjoyed seeing all of them. These people care about the cats and all ticket money goes to help support them! I would love to go back again and maybe get to see some of the ones that were sleeping I think it would be cool to go again. They also have feeding tours that sound neat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The cats meow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wow... what a great place. Cats are so well taken care of! So much to learn here! I have been many times in the past 8 years. Great way to spend a day! See you again in 6 months!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Cat Rescue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Cat Rescue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.