We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Cat Rescue

Big Cat Rescue
12802 Easy Street, Tampa, FL 33625
813-920-4130
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Big Cat Rescue Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 60 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Reservations, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Do you see yourself looking over the vast Serengeti plains, searching the horizon for a glimpse of a pride of Lions, or a Leopard lounging in the trees? Do you imagine yourself in India, riding an elephant through the high grass with your eyes peeled for the elusive Tiger? Have you ever thought how great it would be to hike through the rainforest, listening to the tropical birds, ever on the lookout for a Leopard or an Ocelot high in the canopy? Have you ever been to the zoo and wanted to be closer to the exotic cats; so close you could almost touch them? You don't have to spend tens of thousands of dollars to make these dreams come true. The world's largest accredited big cat rescue facility is right here in Tampa, Florida at Big Cat Rescue.
Yorkton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ever wonder what happens to cats who retire from the circus, are not large enough for their breed etc.? This is a wonderful place that respects the cats as wild animals while helping them stay alive with respect and great care. So fun and interesting!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    116
    47
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Big Beautiful Cats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is located in the heart of Citrus Park. At times you can smell the cats when you are in the parking lot of the mall across the street. This is a haven for the large cats who would other wise be in cramped quarters. The fee paid to get into the sanctuary helps keep the cats fed and in their enclosures. It was wonderful to see these cats up close. This is run by volunteers and the vets volunteer their time. Highly recommended...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Keep up the good work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Thank goodness for places like this that respect and care for the animals we humans abuse. I was initially concerned that after rescuing the cats, confining them to cages would be counter productive, but I had no need to worry. They are all very well looked after and I am sure if they could tell us would be more than grateful for their new lease of life. Many thanks for an informative and eye opening afternoon. I wish you luck in your quest to amend the law in the US for the sake of so many innocent animals.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Fl
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A night on the prowl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place to take kids of any age and wonderfully kept. The animals are well treated and the interaction is not intrusive for them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Private Photo Tour not great for Professional Photographers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am a photographer and wanted to get some great photos of wild cats. In all fairness they did warn ahead of time that the 4x4 screen fence will be in view, but I was hopeful that I could work around this. That is not the case, the cats are close to the fence so no way to focus beyond the fence for really good photos. It was still an amazing experience, but I would not recommend it for photographers. That afternoon we went to Busch Gardens they have glass so photographers can get clear shots of the cats. It would be great if Big Cat Rescue could install one section of glass or Plexiglas which would draw more photographers and allow us to get closer to the cats without risk of direct contact with the cats. Check out my photos to see examples of where I was able to focus beyond the fence and when the cat was too close.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Cat Rescue also viewed

 

Been to Big Cat Rescue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Cat Rescue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.