We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family loves it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Island

Adventure Island
10001 N. McKinley Dr. Tampa, FL 33612, Main Entrance on McKinley Dr, Tampa, FL 33612
+1 813-987-5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 60 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Activities: Swimming, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located right across the street from Busch Gardens(R) Tampa, Adventure Island's(R) 30 acres of water-drenched fun in the sun feature the ultimate combination of high-speed thrills and tropical, tranquil surroundings for guests of all ages. Within a soothing Key West atmosphere awaits an unrivaled blend of slides, corkscrews, waterfalls, a wave pool, children's water playground and other family attractions. Adventure Island also features outdoor cafes, picnic and sunbathing areas, a gift shop and a championship sand volleyball complex for hours of fun in the sun.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Family loves it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This park has been open for many, many years (30?) and not everything has been updated but is always a fun time. Now the kids are pre-school age it is much better... There are 2 kid areas but the water is always extra-cold there. We have an annual pass but the entrance fee is pretty high and they charge for parking. You are allowed in bring in small coolers with lunch & drinks but no glass. Make sure you get there when it opens because it starts to get really crowded mid-day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    140
    68
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waterpark fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A bit busy and long lines in many of the rides, but this place is fun in the sun. Food could be improved

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's the only water park in Tampa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well, since this is the only water park in Tampa they don't have to try very hard. If you go during the week, it's OK; the weekends get overcrowded.

This park is really hot or cold with me as to how good of a visit I have. It usually comes down to how crowded it is & then the intelligence of the crowd. I expect a certain amount of screaming & laughing & people having fun, but when people are oblivious to the discomfort of other people around them, that can ruin an afternoon. Unfortunately, there's no "common sense" test that people have to take before entering the park. There haven't been many real changes to this park over the last 20 years, but it can still be a fun day.

Arrive early to claim your home base chairs with towels. Bring a small cooler with sandwiches & drinks to save some money. For the love of all that's holy, please dress appropriately - nobody should be wearing jeans or tennis shoes into a pool. Pack your patience & don't forget that common sense!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun and Swimming Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Never can go wrong with water and hot Tampa weather in the summer. Crowds were a bit much, but totally expected. Good way to spend a few hours with younger teenagers. Good variety of activities.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This park is fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I went to this park because Busch Gardens had a two day pass for the theme park as well as this water park. Overall we really enjoyed it! It wasn't overly crowded when we went (Over the summer) and it was clean. The only gripe I had is that the water was on the cooler side and the ground of the some of the attractions were very rough, this probably being a safety measure to eliminate slipping, oh well. I liked this park a lot better than Wet n Wild, that of which was dirty and waaaaay too crowded..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Island also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.