We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Island

Adventure Island
10001 N. McKinley Dr. Tampa, FL 33612, Main Entrance on McKinley Dr, Tampa, FL 33612
+1 813-987-5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 91 attractions in Tampa
Type: Water Parks
Activities: Swimming, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located right across the street from Busch Gardens(R) Tampa, Adventure Island's(R) 30 acres of water-drenched fun in the sun feature the ultimate combination of high-speed thrills and tropical, tranquil surroundings for guests of all ages. Within a soothing Key West atmosphere awaits an unrivaled blend of slides, corkscrews, waterfalls, a wave pool, children's water playground and other family attractions. Adventure Island also features outdoor cafes, picnic and sunbathing areas, a gift shop and a championship sand volleyball complex for hours of fun in the sun.
Tarpon Springs
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Always a fun place to visit. It is crowded on the weekends so go during the week not during summer or spring break if you do not like crowds. The wave pool and lazy river are much fun. Dont forget to wear water shoes it helps a lot as the cement gets warm and sometimes your feet get sore

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    132
    64
    20
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ho-Hum and Some Fun at this Busch Garden Water park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Okay, I have been to many water parks. This park tries to please all age groups and because it does, it is so-so. Most teens like thrill rides, I mean, really thrilling rides and the ones I were with were no different. None of the rides came to their nor mine level of what I called thrilling. They were just so-so or slow. The slides were the closest thing to thrilling. Even their tallest tube ride which took 30 minutes to finally "ride" took a mere 20 seconds to do and it was fun but not scary. Nearly all of the rides are fun just not freaky thrilling. Parking was $12, food was decent for $12 or so. The one thing I did like was the volleyball area as if it was on a beach. I would say for teens, there are only three decent rides. The landscaping was cool. You can do all the rides within 3 hrs. I would advise to print out your tickets and arrive at 10 am during a weekday-avoid weekends.If you want REALLY scary rides, go across the street to Busch Gardens. This has them and a few great water rides also like Congo Rapids. We did that six times because there was no line on the Monday we went. This park requires a good 5-6 hrs time to do because it has wild African animals also,

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tampa native first time visitor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Bought the annual pass for this park and the garden. Rained us out after a couple hrs. I'll offer what I can. You can use at home printed tickets for free parking on 1st trip.Must take the printed tickets to customer service desk for issuance of annual passes--so bypass the regular ticket line. Locker rental must be obtained at front of park for ALL lockers in park. They give you a $3.00 voucher good at concession or gift shop w/expiration at end of 2013 season upon return of the key. Locker rental is $12.00 up front. Lockers are regular size--they do not hold much. Beer offered at 6.50 per can. Refillable cups $8.00 per w/refills at 1.00. Bathrooms big & clean. Showers offered. No covers for out in sun lines. Keep you posted.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A water park worth seeing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had never been to Adventure Island before. It was a nice waterpark with many attractions and slides for everyone to do. Parking cost $12. The park opens at 9:00 and I would recommend getting there early if at all possible. We were able to try out many of the slides before it got too crowded. By 11 o'clock, the park was definitely filled. There were a lot of summer camps going on there as well. I would also recommend to find a nice shady place to put your things. You are allowed to bring in a small personal cooler with drinks and food. A lot of families were having picnics and lunch there. My family and I left at 2:00 because things were just getting too crowded. All in all, I am glad we had the chance to visit. It was a good day to cool off from the summer heat!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great water park! It has 2 kids water playgrounds, one for the little ones and one with slides for the older kids. Lots of cool slides too for tween and teens, and those who love to slide. The river is awesome too. Clean, friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.