We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun- brings back memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Island

Adventure Island
10001 N. McKinley Drive, Tampa, FL 33612
+1 888-800-5447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 142 things to do in Tampa
Activities: Swimming, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located right across the street from Busch Gardens Tampa, Adventure Island's 30 acres of water-drenched fun in the sun feature the ultimate combination of high-speed thrills and tropical, tranquil surroundings for guests of all ages. Within a soothing Key West atmosphere awaits an unrivaled blend of slides, corkscrews, waterfalls, a wave pool, children's water playground and other family attractions. Adventure Island also features outdoor cafes, picnic and sunbathing areas, a gift shop and a championship sand volleyball complex for hours of fun in the sun.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lots of fun- brings back memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lots of water attractions- flumes weren't as fast as I remember but still fun. Wave pool is fun to body surf. The family tube for 4 people was fun! They completely nerfed the speed slide. It USED to be from about 20-30ft higher and go straight down! In today's sue happy world they had to tone it down. All in all still a good time that will wear you out. WE rode everything at least once and some several times. We were exhausted! I was surprised and the amount of low class people there. We just people watched and stayed away.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    178
    91
    25
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“"Free" visit to water park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My family and I had a great time at Adventure Island. We bought the tickets as part of a package deal with Busch Gardens. We found the rides to be a lot of fun and we were able to ride them multiple times without much wait (maybe 5-minutes - we went on a weekday in April) all day long. The rides were all suitable for my 8 and 10-year old sons and they had a great time. The park was clean and the staff was very helpful. My only criticisms were they didn't have all the rides open (not a big deal for us, but I could see where some people would be disappointed to pay full price and not be able to go on all of the slides) and they don't rent beach towels (I ended up buying five pricey beach towels).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Free ticket + Good weather = Happy children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We bought tickets to Busch Gardens and got free tickets to nearby Adventure Island (which we visited on another day).

I don't like water parks, but this one was really fun. It was clean and well kept and, because it was mid-week in April, not at all crowded. For the first two hours we were there, we could walk up to any ride we wanted and just go.

Tips:

1. Wear sunblock and don't forget to re-apply it.

2. Bring towels. It'll cost you to buy them on property.

3. Rent a locker. There are some in the middle of the park that may be more convenient.

4. Restaurants close two hours before the park does. Don't be surprised.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a very clean beautiful water park in Tampa Florida. The best thing I found is the height requirement for all but three rides is 42" as it should be and makes it enjoyable for the smaller kids who know how to swim like my son. Most places or rides where we go are 48": and that is ridiculous considering he has been swimming since he turned 2. The locker rental fee of 12.00 is a little high.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very family oriented park for all ages. It is small but very nice. My boys (7&9) had a blast!! they have water slides and are perfect for their age group. The have a big wave pool that we all enjoys and sandy areas to relax in. Food os pricey but they allow u to bring your own cooler with food and drinks. We went on a sunday and it was not too crowded so little to no wait for rides. Day well spent. Would definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.