We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Attractions for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
1101 W. Sligh Avenue, Tampa, FL 33604
+1 813-935-8552
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo like an insider
Special Offer
$55*
and up
Tampa Trio Pass: Florida Aquarium, Tampa's Lowry...
Ranked #11 of 205 things to do in Tampa
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized as the #1 Zoo in the U.S. by Parents magazine (2009) and Child magazine (2004), Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo features more than 1,000 amazing animals on nearly 60 acres of natural habitats. Guests will find many interactive exhibits and opportunities to get closer to wildlife -- feed a giraffe, hold a lorikeet, touch a stingray and more. The Zoo's Manatee and Aquatic Center expands the traditional boundaries of a zoo, focusing efforts on critical care for injured, sick and orphaned wild manatees. Also at the zoo: splash ground water play areas, wild rides, educational shows and restaurants. Zoo daytime admission prices are: adults - $27.95; seniors (60+) - $25.95; children (ages 3-11) - $20.95; and children 2 and under are free. Daytime admission includes unlimited amusement rides. Parking is free.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Attractions for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised. The lorakeet landing the birds are particularly friendly. There is water activities for the kids and rides for them. The admission price is a good value for what you get. I would recommend this zoo to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    498
    158
    50
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elma, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good, clean zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Enjoyed our day at the Tampa zoo. Parking was free. Price for admission was affordable. Zoo was very easy to navigate. Saw many animals for the first time, including manatees. The manatee exhibit is very cool. All the animals appeared healthy and their habitats looked clean. Having a smaller zoo in our hometown, we really appreciated the large habitats for the animals such as the Asian exhibit which featured elephants,and zebras among other animals. The grounds were very clean. Great place to spend some time with the family.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Zoo opportunites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

So many unusual animals at this zoo. The variety of birds (my favorite) is amazing. The zoo is clean, well maintained and the animals look healthy. The monkeys put on quite a show. Be sure to go early in these warmer months.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Please read before giving bad review ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I work at this zoo and before you go and give us a bad review please read this. A.) we are a non-profit company so thouse high food and entry fees you pay go toward charitys sometimes. B.) we are open 363 days a year which means we have no down time to really work on anything so yes our rides break but there usually fixed asap C.) animals are animals yes their water/enclosures are dirty they clean them every morning but there usually a mess again by noon and they can't clean them again or else guest complain that they can't see the animals it's a lose lose situation. D.) thouse undead/unhappy looking employies you see have been there sence 8am and are there till 6pm we never know when we are going to get our breaks and we have to stand our whole shift it the heat of the sun so ya we're a tad crabby. D.) it's a zoo people of course it's going to smell and yes there are bugs sorry that's just how it is. E.) we are under new management now so please give us time to fix all of our issues and try us again.

Again I'm sorry if you had a bad trip to the zoo we try the best we can and we make due with what we got but in order to make this zoo perfect we would need to be a for profit zoo and no one wants that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice zoo, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I took a daytrip to the zoo. We enjoyed the exhibits. We declined feeding the giraffes this time, but I look forward to doing it next time we go. On weekends, you can also feed the rhinoceros (for extra cost). The exhibits were very large and well put together.

I really enjoyed the manatee rescue center and manatee exhibit - very beautiful and informative, as well as great to see how they support local wildlife.

The 2 pm macaw flyover was a surprise (we hadn't seen the signs) but also a nice touch.

I would recommend this zoo to anyone contemplating a visit. They also are a member of AZA's reciprocal program if you belong to an AZA institution.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.