We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, easy access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
1101 W. Sligh Avenue, Tampa, FL 33604
+1 813-935-8552
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo like an insider
Special Offer
$55*
and up
Tampa Trio Pass: Florida Aquarium, Tampa's Lowry...
Ranked #11 of 205 things to do in Tampa
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized as the #1 Zoo in the U.S. by Parents magazine (2009) and Child magazine (2004), Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo features more than 1,000 amazing animals on nearly 60 acres of natural habitats. Guests will find many interactive exhibits and opportunities to get closer to wildlife -- feed a giraffe, hold a lorikeet, touch a stingray and more. The Zoo's Manatee and Aquatic Center expands the traditional boundaries of a zoo, focusing efforts on critical care for injured, sick and orphaned wild manatees. Also at the zoo: splash ground water play areas, wild rides, educational shows and restaurants. Zoo daytime admission prices are: adults - $27.95; seniors (60+) - $25.95; children (ages 3-11) - $20.95; and children 2 and under are free. Daytime admission includes unlimited amusement rides. Parking is free.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Atlantic, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, easy access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Liked the fact that you don't have to walk very far to see the animals and they are close by. Also like all the feedings available and the bird fly over.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    498
    158
    50
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Britain, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I loved everything! I especially loved the rare bird exhibit. So colorful and beautiful! It felt like we were in a forest with the waterfalls. The safari, the monkeys, manatees, giraffes, and other rare beautiful animals. The food was great. Bonus, I got an autograph from former Yankees player Travis Haffner! I want to take my grandson there! Great experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've been to this zoo for several events and it's a pleasure every time. I would recommend going when it's cooler in FL (i.e., October through March) because it's not fully shaded and the sun will make for a long hot day in the summer months.

This visit was to see the sea lion show which was super cute. I loved that the trainers discussed how they train the lions and demonstrated areas of expertise from each lion. Made me realize that every lion was not a 'machine' that could do every trick perfectly and it was nice that the trainers highlighted their strengths.

The monkeys that look like skunks were straight up adorable because there were 2-3 little babies clumsily hopping around and trying to jump on ropes and getting scolded by their mamma's - so cute.

Side note - Zoo Boo is another great time to go with kids - cute and not at all scary.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful day in Tampa Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Took my wife and daughter to Lowry Park Zoo today, I haven't been there since I was a child myself. The zoo is very well maintained and the animals look happy and well taken care of. Easy to navigate and maneuver the zoo and it's split up nicely into different areas. If you're hungry avoid the Garden Grill restaurant at the front entrance, the food quality is terrible. There are much better food selections towards the back of the zoo I believe in the African section.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great outdoor activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Fun zoo, clean, animals are easily seen. We bought the Tampa Trio online and appreciated the discounted ticket prices.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.