We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoo Pass Member” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
1101 W. Sligh Avenue, Tampa, FL 33604
+1 813-935-8552
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Tampa Trio Pass: Florida Aquarium, Tampa's Lowry...
Ranked #13 of 211 things to do in Tampa
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized as the #1 Zoo in the U.S. by Parents magazine (2009) and Child magazine (2004), Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo features more than 1,000 amazing animals on nearly 60 acres of natural habitats. Guests will find many interactive exhibits and opportunities to get closer to wildlife -- feed a giraffe, hold a lorikeet, touch a stingray and more. The Zoo's Manatee and Aquatic Center expands the traditional boundaries of a zoo, focusing efforts on critical care for injured, sick and orphaned wild manatees. Also at the zoo: splash ground water play areas, wild rides, educational shows and restaurants. Zoo daytime admission prices are: adults - $27.95; seniors (60+) - $25.95; children (ages 3-11) - $20.95; and children 2 and under are free. Daytime admission includes unlimited amusement rides. Parking is free.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Zoo Pass Member”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Zoo pass is a pretty good deal, the zoo is a nice way to spread your day, there is a lot to do and its good exercise doing it. We like to take photos of the animals, so we can go two days in a row and still not be bored.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    552
    192
    57
    38
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“GREAT family place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The park is immaculate and the animals are very well cared for. I highly recommend the bird sanctuary where you can hold and feed the birds (great for kids) as well as feeding the giraffes! The staff could be a bit more friendly (mainly the younger employees) but overall a fantastic place to visit and spend a day...GREAT ZOO!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Loved everything about the zoo. It was clean and well taken care if. Lots of animals. It is a fun place to visit. Great descriptions and information about each animal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

such a great zoo... we had a wonderful time, my kids loved it :D very clean, great animals, the baby elephants were so adorable, fun rides and the two water play areas were so much fun for the kids to cool off in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
murfreesoro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the manatee rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My youngest daughter wants to be a marine biologist when she grows up, so we are always looking for opportunities to be supportive of her in this direction. The zoo is a very good facility in itself but the marine hospital and manatee rehabilitation center are amazing! We sat through the demonstration and were pleasantly surprised with the amount of info that was presented, but done in such an entertaining way you didn't even realize you were being taught or learning. The underground manatee observatory was busy and many of the children pushy and unruly, but worth the fuss. The manatee seem to float gracefully by, which for a 1000 pound animal is a feat in itself. We spent a considerable amount of our time here. The rest of the zoo is well laid out as well. You never travel far on the shaded well maintained paths between exhibits. There are plenty of animals to see, and a fountain for the children to cool off in after, or even before if you wish, your trek around the paths of the zoo. Worth every cent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.