We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local small zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
1101 W. Sligh Avenue, Tampa, FL 33604
+1 813-935-8552
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$52*
and up
Tampa Trio Pass: Florida Aquarium, Tampa's...
Ranked #10 of 60 Attractions in Tampa
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized as the #1 Zoo in the U.S. by Parents magazine (2009) and Child magazine (2004), Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo features more than 1,000 amazing animals on nearly 60 acres of natural habitats. Guests will find many interactive exhibits and opportunities to get closer to wildlife -- feed a giraffe, hold a lorikeet, touch a stingray and more. The Zoo's Manatee and Aquatic Center expands the traditional boundaries of a zoo, focusing efforts on critical care for injured, sick and orphaned wild manatees. Also at the zoo: splash ground water play areas, wild rides, educational shows and restaurants. Zoo daytime admission prices are: adults - $24.95; seniors (60+) - $22.95; children (ages 3-11) - $19.95; and children 2 and under are free. Daytime admission includes unlimited amusement rides. Parking is free.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
tampa, fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local small zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Though not a major zoo, a great place to spend the day. Clean, friendly staff, well cared for animals and excellent exhibits. A must while in Tampa

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    400
    124
    40
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Family Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great zoo period. We are not huge museum people. We find living creatures more interesting. We go to the Clearwater Beach are yearly and we always make the (30min or less) trip to the Lowry Park Zoo. Great animal displays from Elephants (there were babies last time we went (Feb 13), Crocodiles, manatee, all sorts of Primate (the orangutan are our fav, always putting on an acrobatics show). You can even feed the Giraffes!(There were baby giraffe as well!) This isn't even the best part. There is a section with rides for the kids (extra charge, 3 kids and I've never spent over $20 on rides). I couldn't get my 6yo off of the Tiger Coaster. There are bumper boats, animal petting and a "banana plane". If you are vacationing in the are go early in your trip because you may want to go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“decent zoo but not for kids in strollers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a pass here when the kids were very little because the parking is free and it was inexpensive but... There are so many railings & bushes in front of the animals I had to take them out of the stroller for almost every exhibit. Plus there is 1 huge hill I can think of that is very hard to push a heavy stroller up & down (on the way to "Africa").

There are some small water park areas so bring swimsuits & towels for the kids.

There is a nice variety of animals though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family day in Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent family attraction while in Tampa. Rated as top zoo in USA for families. Great animals and things to do for kids 12 and under.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My son and I had a blast. There are a lot of animals to see and many fun rides. We enjoyed the safari ride in the Africa section. My son loved the log ride! We really enjoyed our day. We are from Ft. Launderdale and our Zoo Miami membership got us a 50% discount!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.