We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Zoo around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
1101 W. Sligh Avenue, Tampa, FL 33604
+1 813-935-8552
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 92 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Recognized as the #1 Zoo in the U.S. by Parents magazine (2009) and Child magazine (2004), Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo features more than 1,000 amazing animals on nearly 60 acres of natural habitats. Guests will find many interactive exhibits and opportunities to get closer to wildlife -- feed a giraffe, hold a lorikeet, touch a stingray and more. The Zoo's Manatee and Aquatic Center expands the traditional boundaries of a zoo, focusing efforts on critical care for injured, sick and orphaned wild manatees. Also at the zoo: splash ground water play areas, wild rides, educational shows and restaurants. Zoo daytime admission prices are: adults - $24.95; seniors (60+) - $22.95; children (ages 3-11) - $19.95; and children 2 and under are free. Daytime admission includes unlimited amusement rides. Parking is free.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Zoo around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The animals are well cared for. My favorite is the manatee and fish tank. My husband loves the primate area It is set up so that the whole zoo can be seen in a day! There are rides but mostly animals.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    363
    118
    39
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

During our visit to Tampa, we were taken to the Tampa Zoo. This was an incredible journey with plenty to see, up close encounters with the Giraffes and other animals. The ride "over" the park was really neat and the area was clean and pleasant. Many zoos have odors from the animals, but even though this was a very hot day, you did not experience any offensive odors. We spent a few hours there and had a nice experience. It would be a great time for the kids.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A day at the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lowry Park Zoo was filled with bus loads of school kids the day we were there, which took away a bit of our satisfaction with the place. Although well-chaperoned, they traveled in clumps and often got ahead of the adults. They were younger children and tended to run you over, elbow their way in to be up close, and run. Aside from that, we did enjoy the zoo, though it was not as impressive as we'd been led to believe by a number of people. At least two areas were not open until a half hour to 3/4's of an hour after the zoo opened...no idea why. Food here was very expensive, so we opted to go without lunch and leave mid-afternoon. When we tried to purchase snacks to tide us over, we were told the things we wanted (from the sign) were not yet available. There is a baby monkey here we enjoyed, and loved the safari ride. Casey was the best guide ever! Triple A does give a discount. The zoo was clean and the employees were visible and helpful. Again, we enjoyed the talks given by employees, particularly the birds of prey demonstration. We also liked that they made a big deal about how they act as a refuge and recovery center for injured and or abandoned animals.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a blast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lowry Park Zoo does something for every season and is great for kids and adults alike. Christmas is a load of fun and Halloween is a time when they pull out all the stops, especially for the kids.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was by far the best zoo I have ever visited. Everything was in close proximity, which is great for young children. They had a few rides my son loved and lots of interaction with animals.
Lots of water play areas to cool off.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.