We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
7530 North Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33604
813-935-8552
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #12 of 85 attractions in Tampa
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This popular zoo also has a facility to care for injured manatees, an endangered species.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

During our visit to Tampa, we were taken to the Tampa Zoo. This was an incredible journey with plenty to see, up close encounters with the Giraffes and other animals. The ride "over" the park was really neat and the area was clean and pleasant. Many zoos have odors from the animals, but even though this was a very hot day, you did not experience any offensive odors. We spent a few hours there and had a nice experience. It would be a great time for the kids.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    314
    109
    34
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A day at the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lowry Park Zoo was filled with bus loads of school kids the day we were there, which took away a bit of our satisfaction with the place. Although well-chaperoned, they traveled in clumps and often got ahead of the adults. They were younger children and tended to run you over, elbow their way in to be up close, and run. Aside from that, we did enjoy the zoo, though it was not as impressive as we'd been led to believe by a number of people. At least two areas were not open until a half hour to 3/4's of an hour after the zoo opened...no idea why. Food here was very expensive, so we opted to go without lunch and leave mid-afternoon. When we tried to purchase snacks to tide us over, we were told the things we wanted (from the sign) were not yet available. There is a baby monkey here we enjoyed, and loved the safari ride. Casey was the best guide ever! Triple A does give a discount. The zoo was clean and the employees were visible and helpful. Again, we enjoyed the talks given by employees, particularly the birds of prey demonstration. We also liked that they made a big deal about how they act as a refuge and recovery center for injured and or abandoned animals.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a blast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lowry Park Zoo does something for every season and is great for kids and adults alike. Christmas is a load of fun and Halloween is a time when they pull out all the stops, especially for the kids.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was by far the best zoo I have ever visited. Everything was in close proximity, which is great for young children. They had a few rides my son loved and lots of interaction with animals.
Lots of water play areas to cool off.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Zoo, Lots of Animals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good zoo with many cool animals. I liked the rhino the best :)
It is easy to find, and the parking is easy when you get there (and free). The layout is really nice, with many awesome photo opportunities.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.