We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't stay again; doubt they would have me back!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium to your Saves list
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5421 W Waters Ave, Tampa, FL 33634   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Orange City, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I won't stay again; doubt they would have me back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Positives

The room was spacious.
Beds were fairly comfortable.
There were a microwave and a fridge in room.


Negatives

There was no bedding for the sofabed except for a nasty blanket that had either chocolate or something else on it, if you get my drift. We turned that in to the front desk and got another blanket with a red stain; finally got a decent blanket on the third try. Icky.

The laundry room had two washers and two dryers, but one dryer was out of order; with several soccer teams onsite, doing laundry was slow going!

The elevator broke down and was beeping loudly and constantly for quite a while; you could hear it throughout the hotel, even in our room at the end of the hall.

Last but not least, my pet peeve: the "hot tub" was barely lukewarm. After a long day of travel I was so looking forward to a soak; desk clerk "reset" it and told me to come back later. I did; no change. Tried again the next day, same thing. The desk clerk told me it was working. I told her the reason I had booked this hotel over another was to relax in the hot tub. I am an experienced traveler and I think I know what a hotel hot tub should feel like, and this was not it. I went down later, and there were several kids in the hot tub with the bubbles on. I put my hand in and the temperature was the same, still lukewarm. But the kids didn't seem to mind! The front desk clerk insisted it was working; I disagreed and asked to have a manager call me. The manager later called me in our room, and I told her it most certainly was not working. She was very kind and respectful and said she'd look into it. Too late for me, as we had an early game and would be checking out.

Overall, it was an average property with some glitches, but the thing that bothered me most was the way I was treated. Don't get me wrong; while obviously exasperated with me and my unreasonable thoughts on hot tubbing, the staff was not overtly disrespectful. But to be treated as if I truly must be unaware of what temperature a hotel hot tub should feel like really annoyed me. I solved the problem; I went down the road to the Country Inn and Suites where the rest of the team was staying. They had a hot tub that was heated, imagine that. So I got to have my R&R in their hot tub! And next time I will pay the extra 14 dollars and stay there.

Several days after I arrived home, I received a letter signed by both the owner and the manager of the hotel. It told me that I was mistaken; the hot tub was working. No one else had ever complained, and there were people in it that evening (yeah, kids who enjoy lukewarm water and bubbles!) so obviously it was working. The staff had checked the gauges and it was set to the proper temperature. They were sorry I didn't have a good stay.

Oh dear, I thought. I have to call and let them know that the letter did NOT help. It would've been better if they hadn't sent it at all, since it just emphasized the fact that I am the lone idiot who doesn't understand hot tubs. I called and spoke with the manager. I said "I'm the one who complained about the hot tub." She said, "Room 300?" I laughed. Apparenty Room Three Hundred was a problem child! I told her that I had received the letter she sent, but she had no knowledge of it. Apparently the owner signed her name to it without telling her. So I just politely read the letter to her, told her that the letter made me feel worse about my experience, and she needed to know that. We politely wrapped it up and said our goodbyes.

Goodbye, Comfort Suites Near Raymond James Stadium.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    42
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
34
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Closer to Raymond James Stadium but nothing else. Girl at front desk was more concerned about her nails than our check-in. Room was OK but tired looking with several cigarette burns in the rug (Smoke free hotel?). Complementary breakfast was very limited and finishes at 09:00 which I feel is too early, especially for those on vacation. I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us recently, we value your opinions and appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. I have addressed the issues you have brought up regarding your stay and they have been addressed.

Best Regards,

Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener-Waterloo, ON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Comfort Suites is a little out of the way but the facilities are well kept and the place is pristine. Large, comfortably furnished suites suites with a sitting room, bedroom and big bathroom. Lots of storage space. Good free breakfast buffet. An easy, stress-free, friendly hotel.

The neighbourhood is light industrial but good restaurants are nearby - try the Copa, about 2 km up Waters Ave, excellent Spanish style cuisine in a neighbourhood institution.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Been staying here since it opened. Drove in on Monday night and first site was of a group of what looked like homeless people hovering around a truck in the hotel parking lot. They did not look friendly and perhaps the hotel should have known and asked them to leave. The girl at front desk had a bad cold and kept sniffing and was not clear when she spoke..then handed me a pen to sign paperwork after she wiped her nose..yeech. My room was fine but the carpet looked as though it had not been cleaned in a while. Towel in bathroom was unraveling. The next night there was a huge bug that scurried from under the mini fridge. I know it was not a bed bug but I am guessing if some people would have seen it they would have checked out. This used to be a clean and friendly place. Unfortunately it must have changed owners or managers...just not what it was and I doubt I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't check in after 8pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We liked this hotel and the convience of locations to get food. The hotel was also very close the the Veterans expressway which takes you to I-275 in order to get downtown. From our room you could see Raymond James Stadium as well as the Skyline of Tampa. The staff was nice, the hotel was clean,our room was clean, our beds were comfortable and me and my family overall was comfortable. We also liked the City of Tampa. We enjoy ourselves everytime we visit Tampa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Its not a big or Leisure hotel, but still very nice, room very clean, just loved it, i will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We arrived late to hotel after 8pm after driving over 4 hours in traffic from Captiva Island. After experiencing great hospitality throughout our trip in Florida from Ft. Lauderdale to Naples to Sanibel. We were excited to end our trip in Tampa. But sadly there was no friendly smile here. The receptionist took her time and never even looked up to acknowledge us. No name tag. No hello. It was an awkward moment. At least the room was clean, free breakfast, and less than 10 minutes to airport... but nothing memorable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium

Address: 5421 W Waters Ave, Tampa, FL 33634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium is located near Tampa International Airport TPA and Raymond James Stadium. Rates always include a free hot breakfast, outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room 24 hour Business Center and Free Aiport Shuttle from 5:15am to Midnight. Located minutes away from Veterans Expressway, Dale Mabry Hwy and I-275. Area Businesses include Home Depot, Fed-Ex, CAE, Kesier University, Cemex, Barry University, Alessi Bakery, Jacobs, and McDean. Area attractions such as Busch Gardens, The Florida Aquarium, Big Cat Rescue, Lowry Park Zoo, Tampa Convention Center, Straz Center, Mosi, Tampa Times Forum, Ybor City and Channelside are all a short drive away. Come and enjoy the Suite life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Near Raymond James Stadium Hotel Tampa
Comfort Suites Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.