We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Valentines Day getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa to your Saves list
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Valentines Day getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We only stayed the one night but it was relaxing and the food was excellent. We had a half day spa day including lunch with the best hamburgers we have ever had and one of the best couples massages we have ever had. The spa is just too precious and cozy. The pool area is very nice. Has a Tiki Bar and cozy cabana areas. You would never have known our room was right on a main thoroughfare because it was on the side of the building over the koi poind and beautiful palm trees were just outside the balacony. The room is furnished by Tommy Bahama and is in what they call the "Tower". I have read there were noise problems through connecting doors but we had no such problem. Maybe that's in another section. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here and all were delicous. In the evenings, Kon Tiki restaurant has live music on certain nights. On the night we were there it was classical Spanish guitar and was very romantic. This is a lovely little place for a quick getaway. There is nothing really around to walk and see other than the hotel and spa but we never left the place and it was great!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    89
    50
    44
    36
See reviews for
67
85
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

The website looks so fabulous! Even the brochures in the room make the place look like paradise, but truth be told it is very old and somewhat dirty looking. Bathroom was rather disgusting with water stained everything. The only thing that really looked like the photos on website is the pool - unfortunately, in February it to was too cold for us to take advantage of. Staff was pleasant, but this hotel needs a severe overhaul. For the money, I would of had the same accomendations at a Motel 6 for about $50 cheaper a night! And I would hope the mattresses would be a little bit more comfy elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

I will not stay there again. I will not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rduring, Manager at Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
We certainly appreciate that you stayed with us and we take our reviews seriously. Reviews assist us in improving our hotel. The hotel can be contacted directly with any deficiencies during your stay so we resolve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Made a weary traveler feel right at home. Cool folks, good rate, sweet room, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I am all for staying at a hotel that is not a big chain. Unfortunately, we checked out early and stayed in a big chain. The value was far better and the stay far more pleasant.
I will give credit where it is due, the pool was very nice. Although it was in the 30s when we were there. We asked for 3 blankets, got 2 and they had holes and tears...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

I had to change reservations from Intercontinental Tampa to Tahitian in at last minute. We stayed for 4 days to celebrate our anniversary and the internet price was great. While the room was clean, the walls were very thin. We could hear our neighbor talking very clearly, his dog barking all night, and him showering. And was was worst was he had the nerve to call the front desk and say we were playing our music loud at night, and you could barely hear it. We were like, "obviously the walls are thin buddy, we are not complaining about you, why would you complain about us".

On the plus side, the location was optimal, and we could access the interstate, downtown, and the beach easily. The housekeeping staff was very nice as well.

I probably would not recommend this place, because it is a motel, and if you want the luxury experience, this is not the place. Sleep is very important to me and because the walls were thin, I did not get much of it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

This hotel came well priced as a package on Expedia.ca. So I took it!

Some things to consider:
1. Not my first choice for romance or honeymoon.
2. Maybe as a single overnight stay for a cruise. Maybe.
3. This is a motel. Renovated, yes. But the shell is a motel.
4. There is no noise insulation from other suites. You can almost hear other conversations, Tvs, etc.
5. Linens were clean
6. No carpet, my king bed room was tiled.
6. Washroom was clean and no mold, granite countertops new.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm, breezy small-town urban feel of Tampa is brought to life at Tahitian Inn Hotel and Spa. Its boutique design and resort-style amenities offer leisure and business travelers alike an ideal Florida getaway located just minutes from International Mall and Westshore Mall, Tampa International Airport, Port of Tampa cruise terminals, downtown, Raymond James Stadium, and beautiful Bayshore Boulevard. Each of our 79 recently renovated rooms and suites is designed with the discerning traveler in mind. Plush white bedding, plantation shutters, soothing color schemes and dark wood furnishings evoke island life, while enhanced amenities and technology offer guests the convenience and unparalleled comfort they expect from a upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.