We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay when you fly in for a cruise out of Tampa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #89 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Mena, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best place to stay when you fly in for a cruise out of Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved this place!! They have shuttle service from the airport and also to the cruise terminals. That was a BIG ++ We stayed here both before and after our cruise. Both times we had a big room with a very comfortable King sized bed. One night our room was right by the pool and Tiki bar, but the noise was minimal, another BIG ++ The rooms were very clean with excellent wifi. They have a gym and spa which we didn't have time to try. The cafe on the premises is excellent....lots of locals eat there. Many other good places to eat within walking distance in a very safe area!! The front desk staff was super, especially the young man who checked us in the first night. Greg, the shuttle driver, is an absolute A++++ asset to this hotel. We travel a lot, and he was by far the most courteous, helpful, and entertaining driver we have EVER had. He told us it was a safe area to walk in if we didn't want to eat at the hotel cafe, and pointed out several good restaurants. He arrived at the cruise terminal within 10 minutes of our call when we got back from the cruise and drove us to the airport to pick up a rental car for a business trip we were making that day. We will definitely stay here every time we come to Tampa.

Room Tip: The rooms with King sized beds are very spacious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    87
    49
    42
    35
See reviews for
64
83
19
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed there while attending a conference. The rooms were nice, nothing extravagant, but clean with a comfortable bed and good WiFi. They have breakfast in house, as well as a bar at the pool, so it is certainly up a step from a motel. There is not much in the area, so you will need a car or call a taxi/Uber to go somewhere. Good place for the price, and the employees were nice and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I loved this little boutique hotel. Our room was clean and huge! It was near the pool, but we didn't hear a lot of noise from that. The front desk staff was amazing, but by far the highlight was Greg the shuttle driver. He was courteous and friendly. We were able to leave our car parked in a secure lot while we were on the cruise, and Greg dropped us off and picked us up. We didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant or try the spa, but everything I saw at this hotel was great. I'll definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have exterior entrances (like a motel), while others have an interior entry. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just awful. We always stay at 'Chain' Hotels so we thought we would try a local/boutique one for a change. Well...when we got there, housekeeping had to come back and clean the room 3 times and dry the soaking wet floors. The bleach smell was unbearable! The maintenance had to come and deal with the broken TV and this was after a 4 hour drive and within the 1st hour of checking in. Oh, and did I mention you will be sharing the postage stamp size pool with the neighboring apartment complex? The pool is also rented out for private events and closed to guests as it was when we were there. The pictures are very deceiving. Very loud, punks wandering around the property in/out from said complex. Felt totally unsafe and seedy. Just gross. Went to the concert, checked out 1st thing and went to a Days Inn. Had a decent sleep finally. Just avoid this place..it is a misery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We selected this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews, the lack of carpeting and close proximity to the Tampa Airport.

The room we were assigned was number 144. It had the potential of being really nice however, the floors were so filthy that the bottoms of our travel slippers were "black", the refrigerator in room gets "cool" not cold and the bed had to be very old. It was undoubtedly the most uncomfortable bed we have ever had. We actually ended up putting the comforter on the tile floor and attempting to sleep on it. Needless, to say it was a very long night. Upon check-out I notified the front office. I was informed that the manager would not be in until afternoon. I asked that my message be relayed. We never heard from management but when we arrived home we had a Thank you for staying with them ?

Room Tip: I would never book this hotel unless I actually talked with a hotel representative and knew the assi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loves to travel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My family (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at the Tahitian April 2014 before a cruise. We chose this hotel because they offered the park and cruise package so we could leave our vehicle at the hotel for the week. It was less expensive than paying to park at the port.
Reservations were made easily by phone. We booked a non smoking queen cabana room.

The good: At check in we were upgraded to a cabana suite (due to overbooking). We also signed up for the shuttle to the port. The times left were 10am and 1pm. We did the 10am. Clerk was efficient but not that friendly/welcoming. Lobby was nice and outside entrance area was clean and looked like pics on their website. Pool area was clean and had a great bar area. Pool, we thought it was supposed to be heated, was cold and we didn't use it during our stay as a cold front had came through.

We loved our room. Bathroom was clean and had a large sink area separate from tub/toilet area and the small soaps and shampoos smelled great. The sleeping area was divided by a quaint divider. There was a sitting area with couches, a small table w/chairs and a tv on one side and the two beds and another tv on the other. My children used the WiFi. It worked fine. No problem at checkout the next am. Hotel seemed to be in an ok area and we weren't concerned about leaving our minivan in the parking lot for the week. Shuttle showed up on time and we were the only ones on it going to port. There is a trailer attached to the van for the luggage. Fast and efficient and driver was very friendly. 10am turned out to be perfect. (We arrived at port and gave our luggage to the porter and made way inside. We were on the ship by 11/11:30.)

The bad: We were told when we got off the cruise ship to meet in the pickup area and call the hotel and driver would come. As soon as our cruise was over and we arrived back into port I called the hotel and we were told it would be about 30min. No problem. BUT, 45min. later we are still in the parking deck. STANDING. There were no benches and nowhere to sit so if you are unable to stand for long periods of time you might want to rethink this hotel package. I called the hotel back and the lady assured me he was on his way. The shuttle arrived. It has been an hour wait at this time. 2 groups of folks head toward the shuttle and the driver tells my family we might have to wait for him to come back. I let him know we had been there for an hour. The group we were standing beside hadn't even called the hotel b/c we had talked to them while we were waiting. There were 2 seats left but the people on the bus said they'd make room (yea, nice of ya since we actually called the shuttle) and a child sat on my lap and we made it on. After we got going the walkie talkie goes off and we hear the front desk lady ask if he got "" (my family) yes, he says, I got them all. Barely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here because of shuttle going to cruise terminal.Had wonderful dinner at restaurant night before.Food and service was absolutely worth the price.Would definitely stay here again.Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm, breezy small-town urban feel of Tampa is brought to life at Tahitian Inn Hotel and Spa. Its boutique design and resort-style amenities offer leisure and business travelers alike an ideal Florida getaway located just minutes from International Mall and Westshore Mall, Tampa International Airport, Port of Tampa cruise terminals, downtown, Raymond James Stadium, and beautiful Bayshore Boulevard. Each of our 79 recently renovated rooms and suites is designed with the discerning traveler in mind. Plush white bedding, plantation shutters, soothing color schemes and dark wood furnishings evoke island life, while enhanced amenities and technology offer guests the convenience and unparalleled comfort they expect from a upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;