We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay when you fly in for a cruise out of Tampa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa to your Saves list
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Mena, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best place to stay when you fly in for a cruise out of Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved this place!! They have shuttle service from the airport and also to the cruise terminals. That was a BIG ++ We stayed here both before and after our cruise. Both times we had a big room with a very comfortable King sized bed. One night our room was right by the pool and Tiki bar, but the noise was minimal, another BIG ++ The rooms were very clean with excellent wifi. They have a gym and spa which we didn't have time to try. The cafe on the premises is excellent....lots of locals eat there. Many other good places to eat within walking distance in a very safe area!! The front desk staff was super, especially the young man who checked us in the first night. Greg, the shuttle driver, is an absolute A++++ asset to this hotel. We travel a lot, and he was by far the most courteous, helpful, and entertaining driver we have EVER had. He told us it was a safe area to walk in if we didn't want to eat at the hotel cafe, and pointed out several good restaurants. He arrived at the cruise terminal within 10 minutes of our call when we got back from the cruise and drove us to the airport to pick up a rental car for a business trip we were making that day. We will definitely stay here every time we come to Tampa.

Room Tip: The rooms with King sized beds are very spacious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed there while attending a conference. The rooms were nice, nothing extravagant, but clean with a comfortable bed and good WiFi. They have breakfast in house, as well as a bar at the pool, so it is certainly up a step from a motel. There is not much in the area, so you will need a car or call a taxi/Uber to go somewhere. Good place for the price, and the employees were nice and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcirtapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I loved this little boutique hotel. Our room was clean and huge! It was near the pool, but we didn't hear a lot of noise from that. The front desk staff was amazing, but by far the highlight was Greg the shuttle driver. He was courteous and friendly. We were able to leave our car parked in a secure lot while we were on the cruise, and Greg dropped us off and picked us up. We didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant or try the spa, but everything I saw at this hotel was great. I'll definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have exterior entrances (like a motel), while others have an interior entry. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeAmyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just awful. We always stay at 'Chain' Hotels so we thought we would try a local/boutique one for a change. Well...when we got there, housekeeping had to come back and clean the room 3 times and dry the soaking wet floors. The bleach smell was unbearable! The maintenance had to come and deal with the broken TV and this was after a 4 hour drive and within the 1st hour of checking in. Oh, and did I mention you will be sharing the postage stamp size pool with the neighboring apartment complex? The pool is also rented out for private events and closed to guests as it was when we were there. The pictures are very deceiving. Very loud, punks wandering around the property in/out from said complex. Felt totally unsafe and seedy. Just gross. Went to the concert, checked out 1st thing and went to a Days Inn. Had a decent sleep finally. Just avoid this place..it is a misery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FRANCESCA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We selected this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews, the lack of carpeting and close proximity to the Tampa Airport.

The room we were assigned was number 144. It had the potential of being really nice however, the floors were so filthy that the bottoms of our travel slippers were "black", the refrigerator in room gets "cool" not cold and the bed had to be very old. It was undoubtedly the most uncomfortable bed we have ever had. We actually ended up putting the comforter on the tile floor and attempting to sleep on it. Needless, to say it was a very long night. Upon check-out I notified the front office. I was informed that the manager would not be in until afternoon. I asked that my message be relayed. We never heard from management but when we arrived home we had a Thank you for staying with them ?

Room Tip: I would never book this hotel unless I actually talked with a hotel representative and knew the assi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loves to travel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My family (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at the Tahitian April 2014 before a cruise. We chose this hotel because they offered the park and cruise package so we could leave our vehicle at the hotel for the week. It was less expensive than paying to park at the port.
Reservations were made easily by phone. We booked a non smoking queen cabana room.

The good: At check in we were upgraded to a cabana suite (due to overbooking). We also signed up for the shuttle to the port. The times left were 10am and 1pm. We did the 10am. Clerk was efficient but not that friendly/welcoming. Lobby was nice and outside entrance area was clean and looked like pics on their website. Pool area was clean and had a great bar area. Pool, we thought it was supposed to be heated, was cold and we didn't use it during our stay as a cold front had came through.

We loved our room. Bathroom was clean and had a large sink area separate from tub/toilet area and the small soaps and shampoos smelled great. The sleeping area was divided by a quaint divider. There was a sitting area with couches, a small table w/chairs and a tv on one side and the two beds and another tv on the other. My children used the WiFi. It worked fine. No problem at checkout the next am. Hotel seemed to be in an ok area and we weren't concerned about leaving our minivan in the parking lot for the week. Shuttle showed up on time and we were the only ones on it going to port. There is a trailer attached to the van for the luggage. Fast and efficient and driver was very friendly. 10am turned out to be perfect. (We arrived at port and gave our luggage to the porter and made way inside. We were on the ship by 11/11:30.)

The bad: We were told when we got off the cruise ship to meet in the pickup area and call the hotel and driver would come. As soon as our cruise was over and we arrived back into port I called the hotel and we were told it would be about 30min. No problem. BUT, 45min. later we are still in the parking deck. STANDING. There were no benches and nowhere to sit so if you are unable to stand for long periods of time you might want to rethink this hotel package. I called the hotel back and the lady assured me he was on his way. The shuttle arrived. It has been an hour wait at this time. 2 groups of folks head toward the shuttle and the driver tells my family we might have to wait for him to come back. I let him know we had been there for an hour. The group we were standing beside hadn't even called the hotel b/c we had talked to them while we were waiting. There were 2 seats left but the people on the bus said they'd make room (yea, nice of ya since we actually called the shuttle) and a child sat on my lap and we made it on. After we got going the walkie talkie goes off and we hear the front desk lady ask if he got "" (my family) yes, he says, I got them all. Barely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam_from_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here because of shuttle going to cruise terminal.Had wonderful dinner at restaurant night before.Food and service was absolutely worth the price.Would definitely stay here again.Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.7 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tampa
BEST WESTERN Tampa
#56 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#95 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#78 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahitian Inn and Spa is a boutique gem in the heart of South Tampa. Located just minutes from downtown, Raymond James, and Tampa International airport, the legendary Bern's Steakhouse, and SOHO area, University of Tampa, shopping and dining, Tahitian Inn is in the perfect location. With on-site dining and outdoor pool and poolside Tiki-bar, guests enjoy resort-style amenities and an all-inclusive experience. Rooms are interior Executive or exterior Cabana rooms, all have tile floors, microwave, mini-fridge, free wifi, free parking, and with executive Queen rooms add a wet bar, plus jetted tub and balcony upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing