We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below expectation !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Way below expectation !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We selected this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews, the lack of carpeting and close proximity to the Tampa Airport.

The room we were assigned was number 144. It had the potential of being really nice however, the floors were so filthy that the bottoms of our travel slippers were "black", the refrigerator in room gets "cool" not cold and the bed had to be very old. It was undoubtedly the most uncomfortable bed we have ever had. We actually ended up putting the comforter on the tile floor and attempting to sleep on it. Needless, to say it was a very long night. Upon check-out I notified the front office. I was informed that the manager would not be in until afternoon. I asked that my message be relayed. We never heard from management but when we arrived home we had a Thank you for staying with them ?

Room Tip: I would never book this hotel unless I actually talked with a hotel representative and knew the assi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    86
    47
    42
    35
See reviews for
62
82
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loves to travel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My family (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at the Tahitian April 2014 before a cruise. We chose this hotel because they offered the park and cruise package so we could leave our vehicle at the hotel for the week. It was less expensive than paying to park at the port.
Reservations were made easily by phone. We booked a non smoking queen cabana room.

The good: At check in we were upgraded to a cabana suite (due to overbooking). We also signed up for the shuttle to the port. The times left were 10am and 1pm. We did the 10am. Clerk was efficient but not that friendly/welcoming. Lobby was nice and outside entrance area was clean and looked like pics on their website. Pool area was clean and had a great bar area. Pool, we thought it was supposed to be heated, was cold and we didn't use it during our stay as a cold front had came through.

We loved our room. Bathroom was clean and had a large sink area separate from tub/toilet area and the small soaps and shampoos smelled great. The sleeping area was divided by a quaint divider. There was a sitting area with couches, a small table w/chairs and a tv on one side and the two beds and another tv on the other. My children used the WiFi. It worked fine. No problem at checkout the next am. Hotel seemed to be in an ok area and we weren't concerned about leaving our minivan in the parking lot for the week. Shuttle showed up on time and we were the only ones on it going to port. There is a trailer attached to the van for the luggage. Fast and efficient and driver was very friendly. 10am turned out to be perfect. (We arrived at port and gave our luggage to the porter and made way inside. We were on the ship by 11/11:30.)

The bad: We were told when we got off the cruise ship to meet in the pickup area and call the hotel and driver would come. As soon as our cruise was over and we arrived back into port I called the hotel and we were told it would be about 30min. No problem. BUT, 45min. later we are still in the parking deck. STANDING. There were no benches and nowhere to sit so if you are unable to stand for long periods of time you might want to rethink this hotel package. I called the hotel back and the lady assured me he was on his way. The shuttle arrived. It has been an hour wait at this time. 2 groups of folks head toward the shuttle and the driver tells my family we might have to wait for him to come back. I let him know we had been there for an hour. The group we were standing beside hadn't even called the hotel b/c we had talked to them while we were waiting. There were 2 seats left but the people on the bus said they'd make room (yea, nice of ya since we actually called the shuttle) and a child sat on my lap and we made it on. After we got going the walkie talkie goes off and we hear the front desk lady ask if he got "" (my family) yes, he says, I got them all. Barely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here because of shuttle going to cruise terminal.Had wonderful dinner at restaurant night before.Food and service was absolutely worth the price.Would definitely stay here again.Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I selected this hotel because they had free shuttle service from the air port and to the cruise port.

The shuttle showed up at the airport fairly promptly after I called the hotel and stated we had arrived, had our bags, and found the pick up location.

The hotel lobby is a little small and can become congested fairly easily. The desk staff was very helpful. Jean went out of her way to get us information we needed.

The hotel elevator is a little on the small side, so we decided to carry our bags up the stairs instead of trying to jam the elevator.

This hotel is pet friendly, which doesn't matter to us, but if somebody has allergies, just beware.

The room was good sized with two beds. The floors are tile, to help with pets, the floor could have been a little cleaner. Our white socks picked up a lot of dirt.

The bar is good sized and the dining room is part of the bar. Sybyl (sp?) was very good, she also served as our dining room server that evening and then again in the morning.

There is a bar buy the pool plus you can order meals there.

If you want to stay in, the menu is better than most hotel dining rooms and not too expensive.

We signed up for the shuttle to the cruise port when we arrived and the morning the van was there pulling a covered trailer to make sure they had room for bags without overcrowding the van.

Room Tip: There is a Chick-fil-a next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I was searching online for a nice hotel to relax over the weekend and it had to be pet friendly. So I decided to stay at the Tahitian Inn. On our arrival very friendly staff greated us. First thing I had to sign the pet agreement - $50 is too much. They should advertise that fee in their listing. The entrance hall, the restaurant as well the rooms were really nice. No complain. The bed (mattress) too soft. But I booked the room because of the nice pool area to relax. So we went to the pool and 2/3 of the pool area was closed for a private party. So we "relaxed" on one pool recliner. And it was pretty loud. Next day in the morning it was not too bad. We left at noon for some sight seeing and came back at 4pm to enjoy the pool area again. It was overcrowded with people and children Pool was full of toys. The were jumping, screaming, shouting and splashing and I was scared to go into the pool especially with my older mother. Nobody said a word - not the parents as well not the staff. There were signs: No jumping, but nobody did care. The staff only was busy selling drinks and food at the bar. For a kindergarten holiday a perfect spot but not for people over 35 years.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I found this hotel online because I was traveling with my dogs and it was listed as pet friendly. After reading somewhat mixed reviews, I booked this hotel for a two day business trip and proceeded with caution. When I arrived, the front desk staff was very friendly and the hotel was well appointed. I was given a room with both a balcony as well as a jacuzzi tub just upstairs from the lobby. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The noise from the street and the air conditioner in the room was pretty bad, but the biggest complaint that I have and the reason for only an average rating was that this was a business trip and the "Free Wi-FI" did not exist. According to staff, it's a Brightstar issue that is being "taken care of", according to the other reviews, this is an ongoing problem. Either way, I had to check out early and pay for another hotel just to get some work done. Not cool.

Room Tip: Don't stay in main building if you are a light sleeper. Lots of noise from the street and Chick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Tahitian Inn in February 2014 and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located relatively close to the Yankees training facility, so it was an easy drive for us to attend spring training games. There are bars and restaurants in the Hyde Park area which is a nice walk or very short cab ride from the Hotel. We needed to use our rental car to get to places like Ybor City and parks of downtown Tampa, but overall, we were happy with the location.
The food is alright. We ordered an appetizer at the bar one night, and it's nice that they have it right on site if you need a snack. The drinks were delicious and served poolside.
Everyone who worked at the hotel was kind and friendly. The rooms and pool were kept in very clean condition. Our room was spacious, and there was free parking onsite (definitely a value as most of the hotels we looked at charged an astronomical valet parking fee). We had the opportunity to talk to other guests when we were at the pool, and it never felt too crowded. Our room came with a free microwave and mini fridge. There's an A&P about a 3 minute drive down the road. We kept breakfast items and wine in our room to save us some money.
I wish the pool bar had been open on weekdays. We would've loved to hang out there and have a few drinks before heading off to dinner. We also disliked that guests were allowed to smoke at the pool and the pool bar. It seemed like there was always someone smoking.
Overall a great value. We stayed here for a few nights and the Marriott Harborside for a few nights. Two completely different experiences, but because of the value, we'd pick the "homey, family-owned" Tahitian Inn over a large corporate chain. It was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm, breezy small-town urban feel of Tampa is brought to life at Tahitian Inn Hotel and Spa. Its boutique design and resort-style amenities offer leisure and business travelers alike an ideal Florida getaway located just minutes from International Mall and Westshore Mall, Tampa International Airport, Port of Tampa cruise terminals, downtown, Raymond James Stadium, and beautiful Bayshore Boulevard. Each of our 79 recently renovated rooms and suites is designed with the discerning traveler in mind. Plush white bedding, plantation shutters, soothing color schemes and dark wood furnishings evoke island life, while enhanced amenities and technology offer guests the convenience and unparalleled comfort they expect from a upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.