We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahitian Inn - Oasis in a large city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa to your Saves list
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tahitian Inn - Oasis in a large city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Since I have to make several trips to Tama General Hospital for an upcoming liver transplant, my fee was based on that fact. A good deduction, appreciated by my wife and I, who are both going through much stress, anxiety, etc. We stayed there in May and are going back end of July, so obviously we are locked in there! We tried both the Hyatt and Marriott downtown, and they were both absolutely horrible. The rooms at the Tahitian are hugh! We've had a king bed, nice t.v., dvd for slight extra fee, there is a desk and chair on one end of the room and a round glass coctail table with chairs on the other end, where I would sit in the comfortable chair watching t.v with my wife, who's more comfortable. Ice is nearby. Join the Insiders Club for free and all your breakfasts for free. And, they are excellent - no buffets here! The staff from Jorge to Evalena and all the rest are the most polite and wanting to serve people in America. You'll feel like a jet setter here, until you hit the main roads, then it's the same as everywhere. Stores are convenient (CVS, Walgreen, Publix) You cannot go wrong here, absolutly!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    91
    53
    46
    36
See reviews for
70
86
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at the Tahitian Inn for one night prior to a cruise leaving the port of tampa. Rooms were clean but sparse. I did notice they were moving furniture in and out of rooms. Looks like some remodeling going on. The cafe was great and close by although my travel companions said the drinks were a bit weak.
I picked this Inn for its location to the port and the affordability. I am happy with what we paid for. My one big complaint was the lack of hot water!! Noone had hot water in the morning to shower which really is unacceptable so for that reason alone I would so stay away or make sure their water heater is working if you stay there!

  • Liked — Cafe on the premises
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rduring, Manager at Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
We welcome the comments on your stay, it has assisted us on improving our hotel. Renovations to the hotel are now complete and the new furniture has been moved into the guestrooms. The hotel water issues since you have been here have been corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

The other reviewers are spot on - the pictures of this hotel are of the remodeled lobby - the room are in a skanky motel in the back... musty, retro in a bad way, patches in the walls, burns in the carpets... I would have expected this if I had paid $59 a night, but my room was well over $100. There are many better options in Tampa - keep on looking!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rduring, Manager at Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
We welcome the comments on your stay, it has assisted us on improving our hotel. Since you have stayed here the original part of the hotel has been renovated. The walls in the rooms are in great shape and the carpet has been replaced with tile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

We booked a room overnight because I had an interview in Tampa the following day and we thought it looked great on the internet. Don't let the internet pictures fool you like they did us! The front lobby is nice and the people were polite, but hardly friendly. The door to our room had a 1" opening at the bottom between the door and the floor - that should have been our first clue.

There was a musty, dirty odor in the room when we opened the door - like it had been shut up for a long time. We got rid of it only by turning on the air conditioning to high for an hour or so. The air conditioner, by the way, was an old window a/c unit put into the wall - very loud and did not work well.

They advertise that they have a heated pool - when my husband went for a swim, he couldn't stand being in the pool for more than a couple of minutes due to the fact that it was ice cold.

The bed was like sleeping on concrete - hard and lumpy. Neither me nor my husband slept well due to the hardness of the bed and the pillows that were flat and hard.

The bathroom was spacious, but there was very little water pressure for the showers and the towels were scratchy. I do have to say, though, that there were plenty of towels and an extra blanket.

Had breakfast in the cafe the next morning. The food was passable, but the waitress obviously hates her job because she could care less about refilling drinks or checking on any of her customers.

We will never return to the Tahitian Inn and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

I rate this place above average for the price. It's an older hotel but it's a taste of "old Florida". It's got a smal cafe and bar. I only ate breakfast there but it was good. There is a large pool with a tiki bar and plenty of space. The staff was friendly and helpful. Most importantly, the place could not have been cleaner. Nice stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We flew into tampa from the UK and thought it would be an interesting place to stay for a couple of nights before staying at the beach. The Inn is in a good location, within easy drive of Tampa central, shopping malls and Busch Gardens. The pool was a good bonus. The room was clean, spacious, well equipped and tastefully furnished, with 2 queen beds. A child's cot with bedding was provided immediately at no extra charge. The only slight downside was that it was a little dark as there was no natural light as we were on the ground floor behind the pool.
The hotel restaurant was fabulous with great staff. Go for the amazing breakfast if you can!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Honestly, I can't see how anyone could have rated this place as generously as TERRIBLE. This dump is nothing like what it describes on the website. After showing us four rooms, we settled for one of two "redecorated" rooms. HA! Formerly a smoking room, it reeked! If it weren't the night before an early flight we wouldn't have stayed, but they weren't about to refund our money since we couldn't give 24 hours notice of cancellation. At least a chain hotel would have ensured we were 100% satisfied, even if they had to send us down the road. I can't emphasize this enough. This place is a DUMP ~~ disgusting, filthy, stinky, gross, and tacky. Oh, and it's also a MOTEL ~~ the kind where you park the car right out front. Not an INN at all. Big fat embellishments and the photo on the website is of their executive room ... not a regular room. Don't waste your money. You can find a much nicer place to stay.

  • Liked — not one thing
  • Disliked — filthy
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm, breezy small-town urban feel of Tampa is brought to life at Tahitian Inn Hotel and Spa. Its boutique design and resort-style amenities offer leisure and business travelers alike an ideal Florida getaway located just minutes from International Mall and Westshore Mall, Tampa International Airport, Port of Tampa cruise terminals, downtown, Raymond James Stadium, and beautiful Bayshore Boulevard. Each of our 79 recently renovated rooms and suites is designed with the discerning traveler in mind. Plush white bedding, plantation shutters, soothing color schemes and dark wood furnishings evoke island life, while enhanced amenities and technology offer guests the convenience and unparalleled comfort they expect from a upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.