We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non- chain hotel is great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Non- chain hotel is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was nervous to book this hotel, since it was not a well known chain hotel. Sure, this is a hotel that has a certain back in time charm- but it still had a clean, well cared for quality that makes it a modern and comfy stay in Tampa.
The walls were thin, since it was an older establishment. However, it did not detract from our stay. My boyfriend got a massage in the Spa, and was quite happy with the experience. Overall, I would suggest this hotel to anyone staying in Tampa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    80
    40
    42
    34
See reviews for
55
75
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I were here for convention at Tampa Convention Center and all hotels around convention center were $250 +. Tahitian Inn was the closest to Convention Center at a reasonable price. Wish I had paid $50 but rate this time of year was $109. Still a great value! I had booked a Queen Suite at $139/night but upon arrival I was told that it was windowless. I have to say that the website is confusing when it comes to room descriptions.

Stayed on 2nd floor of main building (room 236) with large sliding glass door to itsy bitsy balcony. No room to go out on balcony but nice to be able to open doors. Palm tree directly in front of window for privacy. A little noisy from traffic on Dale Mabry which is one of the main drags in Tampa. I would not want either of the rooms facing Dale Mabry which also have the small balcony because you would hear the roar of Dale Mabry for sure with no buffer.

Rooms are nice -- good size, nice decor (English colonial), tile floors, comfortable bed, great kitchen complete with sink, microwave & refrig. Coffee maker too. No dishes or forks though so bring your own if you plan to dine in.

Did not see rooms at back of property inside but from outside looked fine. They would definitely be quieter but I have to defer to other reviewers for their layout and appeal. In traditional motel style with parking in front of rooms and 2 stories with doors open to parking lot.

Kon Tiki restaurant was closed while we were there. A little mysterious. In the bar they told us that they were on hiatus??? Bar has some food available but so many great choices around Tampa, Id go out for sure.

Hotel is small, nice and right in the thick of it all in Tampa. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

As i mention in the title, i payed $50 a night for my stay at the tahitian inn. My boy friend and i stayed in miami for his interview and he was supposed to fly to tampa for another interview and come back and enjoy the beaches at miami. He was looking for a hotel to literally sleep in and since its the height of the cruise season we got a stwo and a half star star hotel for fifty. We weren't excpecting much. Yet when we git there, we were pleasantly surprised! The kitchinette was terrific. There literally was a kitchen with a microwave, sink and a fridge. There was plenty of room to hang clothes, the bed was comfortable and most importantly, it was so clean. I am a very picky person when it comes to bathrooms and i cannot stand dirty bathrooms. Thats why whenever i plan on staying at a hotel more than a day, i get an above 4 star hotel. Also the reason why we stayed at hyatt regency (4*) in miami. The bathroom at tahitian inn was uncomparably clean and roomy compared to our four star hotel. They had standing showers and the the tiles and the crack in between tiles were impeccable. They even had a jacuzzi tub almost comparable to the one in mgm las vegas suite room. It also has an above average restaurant that is moderately priced, beautiful pool, small gym and a complimentary spa experience! I loved the say thoroughly.

The only downside was it was too close to a major street and it was a bit loud bc of the cars. But since its closeto the hotel, its acessible to many restaurants (i love chick fil a chicken biscuit and coffee and this place is literally 15 seconds walking distance from chick fil a!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed there 12-18 November with friends.
Positives:
- location is central on this main road, 10 min from airport, downtown
- restaurant food is good and not expensive, one of the best porrige breakfast i had, only 4$
- receptionists are super friendly and help with pretty much any question ( we looked for restaurants, poker clubs, gas station with vacuum cleaner, spa, specific shops, changed arrival - leave dates, who stays in which room - and they managed it all with a big smile. Unfortunately forgot their names, there was a lady from Georgia and a gentleman at the evening who came from Egypt orignally).
- it was very quite at the poolside in the evening when we sat there (i was expecting the crazy party-ing from reading the reviews, but it never happened)

Some things to note:
- parking space is tight, but i always found a spot at the front of the property when it was full
- the rooms are more like a motel type, not really resembled the pictures i saw on the website, but nevertheless it was large and bed comfortable
- tv is a bit outdated in room and the picture has an overwhelming red colour in it, good if you like watching everything in a pink fog;-)
- we did not get the rooms in the main building, most rooms are at the back in a modern building
- room next to laundry can be a bit loud, so check with reception where is yours
Overall i recommend it for a stay. Wifi worked perfectly in the room.

Room Tip: Try main building, though i am not sure if you can hear the music from the restaurant bar then so ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is the second time my daughter and I have stayed at this hotel, and again we had a great stay. We have stayed there both times before embarking on cruises from Tampa. They offer a shuttle service to pick you up at the airport and to take you to the cruise port the next day. The rooms are clean and nice and the staff is great. There is a nice restaurant and pool area with bar. It's also within walking distance to other eateries and drug stores for last minute items. We would stay there again when in Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family lives within 5 miles of the Tahitian and we have been staying here for many years. No more.

Cons: Our room was basicly "windowless". The floors turned our feet black after our shower. I took the towel down to the front desk that we had cleaned our feet. We were told that was "not acceptable". The toliet ran constantly unless you wiggeled the handle. The exposed pipes under the sink were filthey. The beds squeeked when you turn over. The coffee pot fell apart in your hand when trying to make coffee. Equipment ran all night. A/c was very noisey. Fluid leaked under the door in the room next to ours, you had to walk threw the fluid to exit the room. I was afraid of a fire and not being able to exit the windowless room. Did not get any sleep.

We talked with the other couple that also stayed there pre-cruise. They also had no sleep due to condition of the Inn.

Pros: The resturant was outstanding. We used the shuttle and they were efficiant and courtous. We did worry as the van was low on gas. The "low fuel" alarm sounded the whole distance to the port...but we got there!

The Tahitian use to be the Jewel of Tampa Bay. What a shame to see it deterioate so. Other family members will no longer be staying there. Bye Old Friend. To many newer Hotels that value our business are available in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We rented a Suite we were in town for a wedding, This is an older motel that the owners have done major renovations to and added new construction to as well, The suite was huge and only around $110.00 per night. Big clean pool with a tiki bar. The food at the restaurant was really very good. My wife had a massage at the spa and said she enjoyed that very much. This is not a resort, or 5 or even 4 star type of place,but if your going to Bush Gardens of Ybor City or just visiting for a day or two, I think it is a good value. The service was also fine,no problems.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the new rooms that have interior access only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa
Tahitian Hotel
Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm, breezy small-town urban feel of Tampa is brought to life at Tahitian Inn Hotel and Spa. Its boutique design and resort-style amenities offer leisure and business travelers alike an ideal Florida getaway located just minutes from International Mall and Westshore Mall, Tampa International Airport, Port of Tampa cruise terminals, downtown, Raymond James Stadium, and beautiful Bayshore Boulevard. Each of our 79 recently renovated rooms and suites is designed with the discerning traveler in mind. Plush white bedding, plantation shutters, soothing color schemes and dark wood furnishings evoke island life, while enhanced amenities and technology offer guests the convenience and unparalleled comfort they expect from a upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa to your Saves list