We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Garden Inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5312 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #4 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Orlando, FL and Oberaudorf, DE
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great New Garden Inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The newness of the Hilton Garden Inn was only evident in one way:the daily iced water, filled also with fruit, oranges in this case. Never did get any! Saw the ready and waiting glass container, filled with the fresh oranges, but it never was filled while I was a guest there last weekend! Funny, but this is the one touch I have always loved about the Garden Inns, a small touch but so pleasurable. (Perhaps they were promoting their small pantry sales.) The breakfast was fantastic, with a concerned chef who loved the fact that I wanted everything in my omelet. The children in our party loved the pancakes and breakfast pizza! And, the rooms, always so very clean, restful, with little or no noise between rooms! Loved it! With all the new hotels/motels around there, this Hilton Garden Inn could not be a better choice. Now, fill that water jug!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear RhythmA5678,

Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport. Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry about the water not being refilled regularly. We will share this feedback with our Food & Beverage team. I am glad your family enjoyed the breakfast buffet, breakfast pizza, and quality of our guest rooms. Hopefully, you will be able to join us again should your travels bring you back to Tampa. Again, thank you for your feedback and safe travels.

Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    159
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
157
130
36
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was a great value - clean, quiet, easy access to the interstate system, close to a very nice mall and restaurants, airport! I am from the area but had a function to attend in Tampa and opted to get a room nearby. This was my first stay in a Hilton Garden Inn but I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Sherry, Thank you for choosing the HGi Tampa Airport! I am glad you chose to stay in our hotel while attending your function. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the HGI Brand. Since you are from the area, dont be a stranger and come back to visit us again.

Thank you,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Which is a good thing when your flight is at 5am. The Hilton Garden Inn is clean and convenient. The car rental return took about 3 minutes to drive to. The hotel room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. If you need to be near the airport, this place is great.

Room Tip: Elevators were slow, so if you need quick access request a room on a lower floor so you can use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers about our hotel. We appreciate you choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport on your recent trip to Tampa. I am glad that you found our close proximity to the airport to be convenient for you. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were great, clean and what you'd expect in a mid-range hotel. No porn peeking out from under the bed, which is a plus for an airport hotel. Taking the elevator is an exercise in patience. Irritatingly slow. A hotel maid with her laundry cart and I taught each other our native languages during the ride between the first and fifth floors. Breakfast was odd. It's not entirely intuitive how you go about getting your breakfast. You see a host/hostess podium, but nobody is at it. For future reference, the way you proceed is to just grab a table, then stand around the buffet area looking confused until someone helps you. The breakfast meal and evening cookies rocked, so that kind of offsets the confusion. I still recommend this hotel; just know the quirks in advance.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
FrequentFlier1973,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa. I appreciate your feedback. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the breakfast meal and our freshly baked cookies! I am disappointed that our F&B team was not able to provide you with the level of service that we train them on. We have added some new servers and we are working with them daily. I can assure you that we will communicate your feedback immediately. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you can visit us again in the future.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
(813)289-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel near Tampa Airport. I was driving around the area and came across this Hilton Gardens. I was pleasantly surpised at how beautiful, clean and friendly this hotel was. I would stay there again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport. I am glad that you found our hotel to meet your needs. On behalf of the entire staff, we hope to see you back here again in the future. Safe travels.

Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Cockroaches!
Before I go on to the negative part(s) of my stay I want to say there were definitely some positive things worth mentioning. First, most of the staff was nice (and apologetic..keep reading). The food was good. The hotel is located nearby two malls and has a handy shuttle to take you to either (and to/from airport). The pool and gym were nice--albeit a bit small. These were all the things that made me choose the Hilton Garden Inn.
That being said, if I return to Tampa, I will not be returning to this hotel. The second night of my stay my travel buddy and I were watching tv and VERY surprisingly interrupted by the presence of a cockroach on the nightstand. A nice woman from housekeeping kindly came up and killed it and we were moved to a different room...right next door. She told us she had never seen a cockroach in the three years she worked there (and it was late) so we did not argue.
We checked for bugs, didn't find anything and went to bed. Woke up with another cockroach on the bathroom floor. (We both scoured our luggage before moving so it didn't hitch a ride..) This time we demanded a room far away (note: this occurred on the second floor) and were given a junior suite on the fourth floor. No issues there, our last night. We received a free breakfast and were comp-ed for one night..
There were a couple of other things we were disappointed with (e.g. weird smell in rooms, they didn't serve lunch on Saturdays?..) but the cockroach issue definitely worsened our trip big time. We were only in Tampa for three nights and had to unpack, inspect, pack and move all of our stuff twice.
We were told they would be contacting pest control so hopefully they will get rid of the problem..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. I apologize you were not completely satisfied with your visit and assure you that we take your comments very seriously. When you informed us of your incident, we contacted our pest elimination company, who came on site immediately and confirmed that this was an isolated case. All rooms in the entire hotel are treated on routine basis by a nationally recognized company. In fact we have not had one incident such as yours in the four years that we have been open. Again, Thank you for your feedback and if you have any specific comments, feel free to contact me directly at(813)289-2700.

Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed one night: 5 April 2013. When we arrived, I said to the lady at the front desk that we were in Room 724 in January, and she had this look of amazement on her face because she said she had assigned us to that room about an hour prior without knowing that we had stayed once before! She offered us water unlike the last time when we had key problems and were offered water only after the first return to the lobby and then 2 drink coupons on the second return. I mentioned that we had also received drink coupons last time, but she didn’t react so no drinks. The keys worked on the first attempt, and the outlet in the lamps by the bed also worked flawlessly this time so that was an improvement. The only issue not involving staff was the parking this time. The spaces next to the hotel (and to the Homewood Suites) filled up quickly. I even noticed people had parked on the grass the next morning, but we parked in the garage on the 2nd floor by the stairs. The car had no damage, and all was fine so no problems. Friday’s day of no negatives turned into “Ignore mode” staff on Saturday. We awoke Saturday morning and headed down for our free breakfast. We had to wait several minutes to be seated because all 3 servers were no where to be seen, and the young man who sat us finally emerged from the back. He seemed to be attending his tables but not ours, and the two women were doing very little besides wiping tables and hiding in the back. I had to get my own coffee and place my egg orders with the chef and then pick them up as well. After 10 minutes to finally get a glass of ice water, which is not available self service as far as I could tell, I had to stare down one of the women and still, she didn’t bring it so I had to get up and go remind her 5 minutes later before I finally got water. She didn’t acknowledge my friend so he got no water or any other service from her. No check was brought so we just left the coupon on the table with $1, which really was for the chef and not the wait staff who did very little. There weren’t that many people eating so they were just not doing their job! When it was time to check out, the woman at the front desk was preoccupied even as I stood in “Hilton Honors” line since I’m Gold so I just put the two key cards on the desk. She said nothing and made no gesture so I hope she eventually checked us out correctly. The “on-line” receipt looks ok. After my comment in my last review about the “friendliest front desk teams”, I have to say that I was very disappointed in the person there on Saturday morning. Even when we walked by after breakfast and no one else was at the desk, she had her head down and didn’t smile, say hello, or kiss my grits. I am probably going to cancel my November reservation and stay closer to downtown even if it costs a few $ more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear DisneyParis, Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments about your return visit to our hotel. I am glad you had a pleasant stay overall, however we are sorry to hear that you did not receive the level of service that you have in the past in our restaurant. We will be sure to share with our Food & Beverage team. Your comments will allow us to role play with our new servers and ensure that they are being more attentive to our guest.

Should your travels bring you back to Tampa, feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure your experience is exceptional. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
(813)289-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 5312 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.