We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel & Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5312 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Golden, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Hotel & Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was so impressed with this hotel. Not only is it just a few short minutes to the airport, but the hotel itself is very nice. Beautiful hotel inside, nice rooms, restaurant, pool and hot tub area. The breakfast buffet was good, especially for the cost. They also have a a large store/pantry area where you can purchase items 24 hours such as pints of ice cream or microwavable sandwiches for a late night snack. What stood out to me the most was the staff at this hotel and how professional, attentive, and kind they were. After checking in and arriving at our room, they called to make sure that everything was ok in the room. They were very helpful in recommending good restaurants int the area and the wait staff in the restaurant were very kind and attentive as well. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear GoldenHIker,

Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with other travelers. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and our amenities. Our staff will be thrilled to read about how they impacted your stay. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future. Safe Travels!

Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    217
    64
    15
    11
See reviews for
204
191
41
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel right next to Tampa International Airport. Hotel looks new, aesthetically pleasing, great shape, interior and exterior. A really nice location, aside from the proximity to the airport, it's close to a major shopping mall.

You can hear airplanes fly over every now and then, but you should expect that when you are booking a hotel right next to a major airport. However, the soundproofing was very good, minimal noise.

I would definitely recommend this. the staff at the front desk and at hotel were extremely service oriented, and had the well being of the customer in mind!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Mike M & Family, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our hotel to other potential travelers. We hope you enjoyed your cruise as much as you enjoyed our hotel. You are correct about our soundproofing. When the hotel was built in 2008, they added double insulated windows to eliminate the sound from the airplanes. Works like a charm! We hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

we stayed here the night before a cruise. The hotel staff recommended a shuttle service to the port. We found out that the shuttle service charged $9 per person, we got a taxi for all 4 of us, for $20.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suntree, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to Tampa on a work trip and the company booked us into a hotel down the street. Within seconds of sitting in the parking lot, I knew I needed to change hotels. I called around and the Hilton Garden Inn gave me a great rate and I headed over there.

I was very impressed! The front desk person Cathy greeted me warmly and everyone was very friendly. We have an oversized dually and had no trouble finding parking. Which was free as was the WIFI.

Our room was very clean. Clean to the point that the bathroom tile was so white, your eyes had to adjust after coming in from the darker sitting room. I loved the sleep number beds and everything was crisp and clean.

The bathroom water pressure was strong and the settings allowed for many degrees of temperature changes without scalding or freezing. The shower head was set high to accommodate all heights.

My stay was over the top when I called from extra towels. Usually at a hotel you make the call and wait and wait and have to call again. Not at the Hilton. Within minutes a smiling person brought me a stack (see pictures it really was a stack) of still warm towels. She was also very friendly.

We stayed on a Tuesday night and the hotel was full of airline and business people but it was very quiet which is important to me. We only heard the airplanes a few times which was a nice surprise. I figured they would be very loud because the hotel is so close to the airport.

Some tips:

We "upgraded" to a suite. Calling it a suite is a bit of an exaggeration. It was a larger than normal room with a sitting area, hallway and bedroom. No door to separate the rooms. It was nice and I liked it, but it was not what I would call a suite.

The hotel is not walking distance to anything. There is a IHOP down the street but thats about it. You do need a car if you don't want to eat on site.

Free parking...need I say more?

Room Tip: Unless you really need a sitting area, save the money and get the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Ariesfire;
Thank you very much for your recent posting about your visit to our hotel. We really appreciate you recognizing the efforts made by our staff. Cathy will be excited to know that you appreciated her hospitality! I especially like the comments about the “warm” towels. That is a special touch. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tampa!

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My son and I stayed here when attending a spring training baseball game. We found it to be a very convenient location. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The room was clean and spacious. They had room service available, but not until 5:00pm. It has all the basics and is a good value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Kahala4;
On behalf of the entire staff here at the HGI Tampa Airport, we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your visit. I am glad you and your family had a nice visit while attending spring training baseball. Tampa is a great place to be during spring training. We hope you choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Tampa.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The stay here was great. Friendly, clean, and quiet. They offer a shuttle service to various local places which is nice after traveling all day to get here. Our room was fantastic and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Arrowhuntr;
Thank you for sharing your posting with other travelers. I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to Tampa.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the airport and down the street from the International Mall, with lots of restaurants and shopping choices. Patrons can park in the lot next to the hotel or in the parking garage across the street. Parking is free. The room was well-appointed, and the pool looked very inviting. The only 2 downsides: 1) no HGTV or Food Network! and 2) the water was relatively soft, which I do not like, but that may be something that some folks would want.

If you are flying out early and need to return your rental car, it's just a quick drive over to the airport facility. Of all of the places you might stay in Tampa near the airport, this one and the Homewood Suites across the street, are probably your best bets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear chatto;
Thank you for the recent posting about your visit to our hotel last month. I am hope you were able to take advantage of the many restaurants and shopping while in our area. We are sorry we do not have HGTV and the food Network. We will check with our cable provider and see what our options are to add those channels. The soft water is a norm in south Florida as we have very hard water. We use water softeners to “soften” the water. Takes a bit to get used to, especially if you don’t frequent our market. Again, thank you for the comments and we hope to see you again in the future!

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 5312 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#5 Family Hotel in Tampa
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.