We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buccanneers Night Practice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raymond James Stadium

Raymond James Stadium
4201 N. Dale Mabry Hwy., Tampa, FL 33607
813-350-6504
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 89 attractions in Tampa
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
Attraction Details
Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buccanneers Night Practice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers know how to give the public a great show. The night practice was filled with excitement, free food and drink, autographs etc.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    83
    39
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GO BUCS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

RAY Jay stadium is the nicest football stadium in all of the NFL. The grass field is immaculate, the club seats are amazing and the Pirate Ship is a blast!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“The best fan experience of any stadium in the NFL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm reviewing this stadium as a Tampa Bay Buccaneer season ticket holder. My views may be biased, but keep in mind that I've been to other NFL stadiums. Ray Jay is the best of all the stadiums that I've visited. My seats are in the club section on the west side. We pay a little extra so that we can have an air conditioned club area just to break away from the heat during those 1:00 games in the summer months. There is also a large section of seats under the upper level deck that provides shade and cover from the rain. With that said, do not purchase tickets on the east side if you're sun sensitive. You will be as red as a lobster by the end of the game if you're not wearing sunscreen. Do bring light towels as you may need them to wipe off your seats after a rain shower, or use them to wipe off the sweat from your brow. Yes, it's very humid in Florida and you'll need to be prepared. These inconveniences are all minor. The positives of this fan's experience totally outweighs the heat and humidity issues. The food is always good. The drinks are plentiful. The facilities are nice and clean. There's a great view of the field from every angle no matter where your seats are in the stadium. It's open air, so it's nice and breezy. Sometimes too breezy on days when the paratroopers are scheduled to jump out of a plane and land in the middle of the field.

Come early and watch the players stretch out and prepare for the game during their pregame practice. You definitely don't want to miss the pregame festivities with the player introductions, pyrotechnical displays, music, and flyover. The entertainment value of this alone is well worth a visit. You miss all of this when you watch the game at home. You also miss Captain Fear, Little Fear, and the cheerleaders live performances throughout the game. Besides that, what other stadium in the NFL has a pirate ship that fires cannons (actually it's just smoke)? Being at the stadium during a touchdown is electrifying and the pirate ship is a huge part of that. You can feel the energy all around as the fans unite when the Bucs reach the red zone. The cannon fire is much louder in person. I've actually seen people jump in their seats after hearing the cannon fire during the pregame introductions.

My recommendation is that you go to a 4:30 game or a night game if it's your fist time and you're not a fan of the heat. Night games are the best and particularly during a Monday Night Football or Thursday Night Football televised game. It's cooler in the evening and the firework display is spectacular. In my opinion, there is no better stadium in the NFL than Ray Jay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best stadium!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have attended events in numerous stadiums across the county & I'd say Raymond James Stadium is the best by far. From parking, seating, security, cleanliness, vendors and design, this stadium does Tampa proud.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of my better Stadium venue experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Came here for the 2013 Outback Bowl. This was a decent stadium. The traffic going there wasn't overly horrendous. Parking was pretty straight-forward. Had to go around the privileged places. So once we got there, it wasn't more than a half-mile. Security wasn't a bother. Concessions were expensive, didn't have a lot of choices. I think that was one of the only issues I had with the place.

Sat half-way up at the 35yd line. It was a nice view. Got a good glimpse of coach Hoke and Denard Robinson's last game. Too bad Vinnie Smith will always be remembered for that hit. Even worse that they lost in the last seconds of the game. I think Spurrier is shady. They had veteran paratroopers drop in on the field.

Decent stadium. Didn't bother checking out their pirate ship gig thing. Wonder what that's all about.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymond James Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Raymond James Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raymond James Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Raymond James Stadium to your Saves list