We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Be Afraid To Stay Here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Be Afraid To Stay Here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

If you are having any doubts about staying at this hotel then I can tell you to not worry and enjoy your stay! We loved this place. If your goal is to do Busch Gardens you could not have picked a better hotel. Very convenient with the shuttle service but also close enough that you will not hesitate to grab a cab if you want home earlier. We rented a car and found numerous restaurants,( To my fellow Canadians, try Longhorns Restaurant!! ) malls, pharmacies, all within minutes of the hotel. If you do not have a car then walk next door to the Olive Garden and order from their take-out in the bar......we did and it was excellent. Or there is also other places to eat within walking distance too. Do not let other reviews tell you this area is BAD! It is not an upper class neighbourhood, but, it is not scumville either! ( ha, ha) It felt to me like a working class area of Tampa and I felt perfectly safe walking alone to the Olive Garden to get my family their dinner. This was around 8:30 pm. This hotel also has a fantastic breakfast although I would have liked to see the bananas replaced with fresh ones, or maybe even the odd orange being that we are in Florida and they are relatively inexpensive and accessible. Don't forget to tip the weekday breakfast attendant, she is such a hard worker and always happy and positive. The free internet access and the privacy of the room it is located in makes this amenity a great asset. One night we had the entire pool to ourselves...heaven! The exercise room was small but had the equipment needed to get an adequate workout, including a nice flat screen tv to pass the time. We even did a load of washing in the pay laundry room that was on our floor. Every evening we would walk into the hotel and a fresh, clean inviting scent would fill the lobby. It is these little touches that make this hotel stay enjoyable. The staff, especially Michael the night desk clerk, were friendly, helpful and a wealth of information. We would stay at this hotel again without any hesitation. Try it out, I am sure you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Thank you for the encouraging words! The area isn't a bad area as some would comment, but there are pre-existing establishments around us. We were built brand new, and some guests have mixed opinions. I completely agree (since the street in front of us is Busch Blvd, just a few blocks from Busch Gardens) that our location is very guest and family friendly. Thank you again for enforcing the positive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    134
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
273
105
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

Great location with free shuttle to Busch Gardens. Clean and comfortable beds. Room inside is not bad. Above average overall.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky76sarasota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

The stay at Holiday inn express was great.... Mike at the front desk was so nice... very very professional made me feel right at home.... when i got there he asked me did i want to see the room first and i did... as soon i as walked in i was like okay this is where i'm staying i had been to one other place and it was nasty but there rooms were so very clean and wasn't stuffy a place where i didn't mind my kids laying their heads if i was to go back this is the place i would stay the staff was wonderful and the breakfast was SO GOOD thank you for the great hospitality.... Sincerly Terrica

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Hello: Thank you so much for the great comments! We love to hear how wonderful the stay was. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

This is a great hotel. Personally, we have not stayed in a small hotel like this before. Normally, we are reviewing large hotels but next to Busch Gardens, there are only small Inn's and small Hotels. We booked this because of the free shuttle.

When we checked in, they had our room keys ready to go waiting for us. Everything was clean and we found out, this place is one year old. No wonder. Rooms are great. We booked a King with Jacuzzi tub. For the price, it was awesome. See our photos.

Breakfast was free and great. This is not a restaurant. So I'm not expecting a huge spread. But eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, ect. All very good! The service was great to. Despite traveling on Thanksgiving, she was so happy to be serving us. Free wireless internet in room which was great so we could do a little work. And free van shuttle to and from Busch Gardens and the driver was also wonderful and did not pressure us to tip like others do.

One and only thing we thought was missing was the cleanliness of the bed sheets. Our sheets had burns from Cigs on them. But that's and easy fix and remember, this is not a 5 star resort so we got over it quickly. Overall, awesome place when you combine value for what you get in the rate to the proximity of the theme park.

We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Check in was a breeze,After a long road trip we were tired. They let us check in super early. The park is less then 3min away,which was great. For dinner I stop by the desk and ask for advice and the desk Cleark was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We chose this hotel as it is close to Busch Gardens where we wanted to go. There is a shuttle which brings you there, very convenient. Already at the reception we had fun with the staff. The rooms are clean, very nice and well equipped. The breakfast was very good. The breakfast room could be larger as you are really crouded there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMPA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

It was a great hotel, but the location was the sketchy part for me. It sits on this lot with a run down Days Inn next door and also has a shady apartment complex behind it. I just felt as though I couldn't walk outside/down the sidewalk at night. Maybe I'm a little too conscious about safety, but when I travel on business, I want to know that I'm taking care of for any aspect of my stay. Many other safer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.