We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Clean near Busch Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and Clean near Busch Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose hotel because of location near Busch Gardens. Shuttle to Busch Gardens was free & very convenient. We called driver and he showed up very promptly. Olive Garden was located next to hotel but were not able to find any non-chain restaurants near by - lotos of fast food chains are near. We found traffic heavy and would have liked more interesting sites in walking distance. But we could drive to several interesting places - U. of So.FL, Lettuce Leaf Garden, Science Museum & enjoyed downtown river front area attractions on the weekend.

Our room was well located and we were not bothered by hall noises. Breakfast offered quite a bit but we are healthy eaters and wound up buying our own whole grain breads & fruits & non-sweetened yoghurt to supplement what was offered. We appreciated refridge & microwave.

Price was good since we stayed several nights & received good discount.

Staff were friendly although sometimes not ver efficient or effective. Had to call about our TV 3 different times - it was new but not programmed properly. Changing channels would cause it to crash.

Good stay and choice for the money.

Room Tip: First floor at back was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    139
    61
    25
    15
See reviews for
279
111
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is neat, clean and quiet. It is located close to Busch Gardens and the University of South Florida. Many other recreational possibilities are close, (including Lettuce Leaf Park on USF campus..a must see!!). The staff is friendly and tries to be helpful. They appear overwhelmed by events and confused. We had a new, high tech TV but they couldn't get it to work. They forgot to clean our room one day. There is an Olive Garden 200 feet away. It is the only decent restaurant in the neighborhood unless you like fast food and then there are many possibilities. It is very good value for the money.

Room Tip: First floor is best for quick in/out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second time that we stayed at this hotel and we are so glad that we did. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was nice to be able to walk to restaurants by the hotel to dine.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
It is so heartwarming to hear that you had such a memorable experience at our hotel due to our staff as well as the comforts of your room. We are glad to have the chance to provide you with yet another enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We reserved 2 rooms and neither one were ready when we got there at 3:30pm... and we found this out after standing in line waiting for 15 minutes while 2 people checked in several people. There was never an apology for the wait or the fact that the rooms weren't ready. Just the excuse that we are at 100%. I don't care if you booked at 100%, check in time is 3pm. ok so, not that big of a deal... we went and ate and came back. Rooms were ready. I asked for a 1pm check out since we had gotten checked in so late. No, you can't have a late check out unless you call in the morning. Really, you can't give me a late check out even after you checked me in late? Two rooms.. you would think ONE of them could be ready. No. call the front desk in the morning if you want a late check out. ok.. That evening we wanted some recommendations for pizza delivery so we tried to call the front desk. No phone service. So we walked down to the front desk. No employees. We waited about 10 minutes and finally the front desk woman came off the elevator. She said the phones were out of order. She gave us some menus and sent us on our way. The next day we tried to call for a late check out.. but guess what, the phones still didn't work. So we had to walk to the desk again to ask for a late checkout. The would only allow us to check out late in one room. Really? They didn't have either of our rooms ready when we got here. This is POOR customer service. I would not have given such a negative review if the girl had apologized and given us the late check out. And where was the manager all this time? The rooms were nice but we booked them on Priceline and my rooms was a suite and my brothers rooms was not. I was happy but it didn't seem fair to my brother since I booked them together!! This place is just lacking in Customer Service. Big TIME!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am very sorry to hear the difficulties you experienced during your stay with us. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the service you did not receive. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address our staff, and I thank you for taking the time to share this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great new room for 5. Two queen size beds and one sofa bed.
Got this hotel as a package deal through the Busch Gardens site. It did not specify which holiday inn express we were booked at so we ended up going to the one next to the Busch Gardens entrance and got redirected to this one, which is about 15 minutes from Busch Gardens.
We got there late. The person at the front desk was super nice, he gave my 3 kids a giraffe stuffed animal and two bottles of water for the adults. Breakfast was really good. This is a new or remodeled hotel and I recommend it 100%, even if it is 15 minutes away from the park. The hotel,
the staff, rooms and breakfast are great. Two thumbs up!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I am glad you and your family enjoyed Tampa, and Busch Gardens. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 3 nights so we could visit Busch Gardens. From check-in with Mary to check-out time, we had nothing but positive experiences at this newer hotel. Our room was immaculate, the bed and bedding comfortable, and it was very quiet despite overlooking some big, noisy roller coasters at Busch Gardens (couldn't hear them at all from the room.) Although we could walk to Busch Gardens, in theory, I would estimate it to be about 3/4 to 1 mile away by the time you walk a block or so to the edge of the property, walk the length of it to get to the parking lot, then walk through the entire handicapped section of the parking lot to get to the entrance. Because of this, we used the free hotel shuttle with door to door service and saved the walking and $17 parking fee.

The free breakfast at the hotel was wonderful, with a variety of hot and cold foods, including warm cinnamon rolls, eggs, breakfast meat, pancakes, etc. Mary and Cathy kept everything clean and stocked while interacting pleasantly with the guests. Thank you, ladies!

I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again when in the area.

Room Tip: If you are going to this hotel for a visit to Busch Gardens or Seaworld, check the Seaworld/Busch Ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

All is what you would expect from Holiday Inn Express + free shuttle to/from The park. Ample Bfast. No one in the "heated" pool - maybe replace the heating element ? Overall a good value and a nice stay. Plenty of restaurants close by and some within a quick walk. I would stay again and recommend for value / location to BG.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate when our guests let us know how their stay was. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.