We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #36 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We have friends in Tampa and selected this hotel off the internet. It is impressive outside with a well maintained facade. The reception staff were very helpful but some were from outside the area and had limited knowledge. Breakfast was basic and not very good but it filled a corner and prevented extra expense. The hotel is very busy and can be rather noisy. The rooms are of a good size and are clean, our bed was very comfortable! There are many restaurants close by and they cover a range of prices. The area around the hotel is not very safe and we were advised not to walk around after dark.
This is a good, basic hotel in close proximity to Busch Gardens

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    127
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
267
98
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Check in was disappointing, clerks were focused on telling me why I should never use 3rd party websites to book. Location was great for Busch Gardens and we walked to the park which was great. But beware the area is very run down and looks sketchy. Our room was ok, the kitchette was very useful. The hotel is new but weak on cleaning which doesn't bode well for the up keep. When we arrived we spilled water on the tile floor and my husband wiped it up and the cloth was BLACK after 4 wipes-gross! The breakfast was ok - they had signage for fresh fruit but not a piece to be seen. I opened a little carton of milk for my coffee and it was sour - so details are being overlooked here as well. Overall ok for a short stay buy wouldn't stay beyond a day or two.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear BensMommy2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked the rooms and location of the hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and superior accommodations. I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected due to your check in experience, quality of breakfast and unsatisfactory housekeeping. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a two night stay at this hotel mid April. Family party of 4 adults + 2 teenagers.

I had booked for two x 2queen bedded suite rooms back in June 2013 to secure the rate but only had my credit card registered to hold rooms, which was good because of the increased $ rate!

We arrived at midday and was allowed access to one of the rooms and was given the key to the other at 2pm.

This is a perfect hotel if going to Busch Gardens, some of our party went over there all three days. It is walking distance to the entrance (10-15minutes max) but the hotel also provides a shuttle which we used each time (a nice gesture is to tip the driver a few $s).

The hotel is very comfortable. Our rooms were as described and we was given 'adjoining rooms' as I had requested. They overlooked the theme park in the distance. The rooms were clean and tidy, with a small fridge, microwave and sink. The beds were very comfortable and a welcome relief from the squeaky hard beds of our Orlando rental villa.

The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. There is a small swimming pool and seating area to go back to when BG is done for the day. The buffet breakfast is adequate with plenty of choices. There is the Olive Garden restaurant next door - where we ate super steaks and Italian food, both nights. Also reasonably priced.

This is our second visit to this hotel and in my opinion, the best in the area for BG. We will return without a doubt.

Room Tip: All suite rooms are on the top (4th floor) and are worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Came here after lousy experience at nearby hotel that we had previously booked. Great service at registration desk and we immediately felt better. Enjoyed visiting Busch Gardens and Adventure Island, especially because of terrific shuttle service from Hotel by our driver, Rolando. Unfortunately, the better picture we took of him did not turn out. This hotel room was very clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here recently for just a night, in order to be close to Busch Gardens. The place wasn't terrible, but it was definitely below the quality/cleanliness of similar hotels that I've stayed in. The proximity to the theme park was key for us, and so the hotel met our goal there. The clerk who checked me in was perfectly friendly. The room itself was fine, but definitely hadn't had the world's most thorough cleaning job between guests. The carpet didn't seem the cleanest. The beds were very comfortable, which is always a plus. I was annoyed in that I had to go down several floors to find a vending machine that had bottled water in stock, and then it came at kind of a hefty price tag. I thought the breakfast offerings were decent. Honestly, it's a free breakfast, I wouldn't be expecting anything too fancy. There was plenty of cereal, yogurt, pastries, coffee, juice and some hot items. It was enough to keep everyone happy before heading for a day in Busch Gardens. The one lady working the breakfast was very nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear JessNY,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family vacation. Needless to say we were very disappointed. With 4 people staying in our room and only 2 towels provided, the hotel would not give us additional towels even after repeated calls to housekeeping and the front desk. The rooms were very dirty and the sheets had what looked like blood stains on it. I would suspect that the floors have not been vacuumed in weeks. The breakfast was also subpar. No fruit or eggs were provided, only pastries, toast, and bagel (all high carbohydrates). I even saw staff taking items off of the breakfast bar before 9 am. The air conditioner was terrible in our room. It was either too cold or too hot. There was no way to set the thermostat to a consistent temperature or even keep the fan running. The tv reception was also intermittent and the internet access and speed was terrible. To top it off, the road noise from the street outside of this hotel was terrible all night. I think this hotel was between a war zone and a hospital. This was probably my worst experience staying in a Holiday Inn Express. It was so bad that we checked out 2 days early. As we were leaving our room with our luggage we were questions by the housekeeping staff about our early departure. I've stayed in enough hotels to realize this hotel is managed poorly. Everything was done to maximize profits at the expense of the customer. This includes low staffing levels, using old linens, subpar cleanliness and poorly stocked breakfasts. I usually stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels when traveling because of the consistency and overall value it provides. I hope I never have to experience this again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

After two weeks of quite dodgy florida hotels in tourist areas it was a relief to stay in a clean , non mouldy smelling hotel with very helpful receptionists and breakfast - would be a great location if visiting Busch Gardens we weren't but could see the rides from the hotel !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
#51 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.