We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Sooke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Came here after lousy experience at nearby hotel that we had previously booked. Great service at registration desk and we immediately felt better. Enjoyed visiting Busch Gardens and Adventure Island, especially because of terrific shuttle service from Hotel by our driver, Rolando. Unfortunately, the better picture we took of him did not turn out. This hotel room was very clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    120
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
259
95
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here recently for just a night, in order to be close to Busch Gardens. The place wasn't terrible, but it was definitely below the quality/cleanliness of similar hotels that I've stayed in. The proximity to the theme park was key for us, and so the hotel met our goal there. The clerk who checked me in was perfectly friendly. The room itself was fine, but definitely hadn't had the world's most thorough cleaning job between guests. The carpet didn't seem the cleanest. The beds were very comfortable, which is always a plus. I was annoyed in that I had to go down several floors to find a vending machine that had bottled water in stock, and then it came at kind of a hefty price tag. I thought the breakfast offerings were decent. Honestly, it's a free breakfast, I wouldn't be expecting anything too fancy. There was plenty of cereal, yogurt, pastries, coffee, juice and some hot items. It was enough to keep everyone happy before heading for a day in Busch Gardens. The one lady working the breakfast was very nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear JessNY,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family vacation. Needless to say we were very disappointed. With 4 people staying in our room and only 2 towels provided, the hotel would not give us additional towels even after repeated calls to housekeeping and the front desk. The rooms were very dirty and the sheets had what looked like blood stains on it. I would suspect that the floors have not been vacuumed in weeks. The breakfast was also subpar. No fruit or eggs were provided, only pastries, toast, and bagel (all high carbohydrates). I even saw staff taking items off of the breakfast bar before 9 am. The air conditioner was terrible in our room. It was either too cold or too hot. There was no way to set the thermostat to a consistent temperature or even keep the fan running. The tv reception was also intermittent and the internet access and speed was terrible. To top it off, the road noise from the street outside of this hotel was terrible all night. I think this hotel was between a war zone and a hospital. This was probably my worst experience staying in a Holiday Inn Express. It was so bad that we checked out 2 days early. As we were leaving our room with our luggage we were questions by the housekeeping staff about our early departure. I've stayed in enough hotels to realize this hotel is managed poorly. Everything was done to maximize profits at the expense of the customer. This includes low staffing levels, using old linens, subpar cleanliness and poorly stocked breakfasts. I usually stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels when traveling because of the consistency and overall value it provides. I hope I never have to experience this again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

After two weeks of quite dodgy florida hotels in tourist areas it was a relief to stay in a clean , non mouldy smelling hotel with very helpful receptionists and breakfast - would be a great location if visiting Busch Gardens we weren't but could see the rides from the hotel !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I had an extra day in Tampa, we had enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn so much , we decided to stay there one more night before we return home,, we were on our way to the pool area, we see a gentleman in a suit yelling , at first we thought it might be unhappy guess, the bald man in the suit yelling who will vacuum my hallways was really making a scene, we later found out the loud man was the new manager ,my husband and I saw several staff members crying, we came back to this hotel because the staff was so nice, we were horrified to see the staff we had enjoyed so much crying and being yelled at over hallways that were clean. my husband and I wished we had skipped the hotel and just went home that night. If this is the way Holiday Inn treats they're wonderful staff in front of guests what do they do when guest are not around.. the staff is still awesome, seems to me the new manager could learn from the staff about customer service .. my husband and I will not be recommending or returning to this hotel anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you want to feel at home this hotel is the place for you.. the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay unforgettable , yes towels were in high demand, it is a hotel ,in reality things like this happen ,it did not ruin our stay by any means. Maintenance staff was making improvments to the hallways, i imagine it is a bit challenging keeping hallways freshly painted with so many guests lol. My hat is off to all of you at the holiday inn keep up the hard work. Thank you see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have recommended it in the past; that has now changed. We checked in on a Saturday and our room was not clean; no face or hand towels for two days. We had to go to walgreens and by lysol spray for the bed, wipes for the bathroom and cleaner for the floors. We never received hand towels after 4 nights. My family checked in the following day and the room was not ready two hours after check in time. We were very disappointed in the room. The walls needed painting, doors need to be scrubbed and mattress's replaced; major holes in center of both beds. The planters outside were empty of plants but had trash in them. However, the staff were very pleasant and everyone said hello. Front desk person "Brandon" was great, big smile and just an amazing presence at the desk. He went out of his way to ask everyone that entered if they had a good day and stopped to listen to the response.

Room Tip: Completely check out the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you found our staff highly commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.