We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed in rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
North Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissappointed in rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have recommended it in the past; that has now changed. We checked in on a Saturday and our room was not clean; no face or hand towels for two days. We had to go to walgreens and by lysol spray for the bed, wipes for the bathroom and cleaner for the floors. We never received hand towels after 4 nights. My family checked in the following day and the room was not ready two hours after check in time. We were very disappointed in the room. The walls needed painting, doors need to be scrubbed and mattress's replaced; major holes in center of both beds. The planters outside were empty of plants but had trash in them. However, the staff were very pleasant and everyone said hello. Front desk person "Brandon" was great, big smile and just an amazing presence at the desk. He went out of his way to ask everyone that entered if they had a good day and stopped to listen to the response.

Room Tip: Completely check out the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you found our staff highly commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    134
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
273
105
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice new hotel. The property is well-maintained and clean. The staff is the best I have encountered at this type of hotel. They go the extra mile to keep the guests happy. When I arrived for my first stay they only had a king room available for my family of four, but they went to great lengths to make us comfortable in the room they had available. They offered a rollaway extra pillows, towels and blankets. Most importantly they had it in the room in thirty minutes. The second time I came back to stay at this hotel they upgraded me to a suite. Hi Exp also offers a convenient free breakfast and free shuttle service to the park. Busch Gardens is exhausting so convenience is paramount. Just down the street is a greek restaurant with great takeout. It is the perfect ending to a very tiring day.

Room Tip: If you book early you may get the suite which is great for a big family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We picked this hotel based on the location near Busch Gardens and that they had a shuttle to it. The shuttle driver was superb and the front desk was always accommodating with any request we had. Breakfast was what you come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express but they were very organized for the influx of guests coming down at similar times. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms very clean.
My biggest complaint was the sofa that was in our room, it was sagging in the middle and incredibly uncomfortable with the front edge digging into the back of our legs. The parking lot is small with most of the parking behind the building, make sure to park by the lobby when you check in so you don't have to drag your bags across the parking lot. The outdoor pool area was great for us to hang our together and nicely maintained.
The entrance to the hotel is a bit challenging to find, we drove past it and had to circle back. It is actually easier to spot Popeye's Chicken which is right by it, it is how we had to give directions to our friends who were arriving after us.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the hotel so it is closer to where you will be parking and you...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear bluefpink,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our location and the service you received. Please accept our apologies that we fell short of your expectations with the sofa and parking lot. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I also work for a Holiday Inn Express but in Southern Florida and had a guest recently stay with me that had stayed a few nights before with The HIE in Tampa. They unfortunately left behind a VERY expensive item that they were hoping could be returned to them in time to catch a plane back home out of the country. I contacted the hotel which all of the staff I spoke with was very accommodating and helpful. The general manager in particular Drew was exceptionally awesome. He went out of his way to go to FedEx and make sure it got sent out the day I called their hotel to overnight it to my guest. Just want to thank Drew and his staff again for all their help in assisting me with taking care of one of our mutual guest!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The proximity of this hotel to the park is very close (only a 1/2 mile), it made traveling there so convenient. The hotel's driver, Rolando, was excellent. Normally they dont pick you up between 1-4pm from the park, but the day we went it was raining very hard and he still came and got us within 5 minutes of calling (which was around 3pm). The hotel was clean, and seemed fairly new and the staff was nice and professional. I highly recommend this hotel if you plan on visiting Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

........but not much else.

We had reserved a 2 night stay for our visit to Busch Gardens, and at the last minute, added a 3'rd night on the front of our stay as we ended up arriving earlier than we originally planned.

Upon checking in, we mentioned our 2 reservations, and were told that we would have to check out after the first night (as in pack our bags, leave by 11:00 am, and then return at 4:00 pm to go through the process again); a pain, with a family of 4. After giving up trying to stay in the same room without having to leave, we went to our room.

The hotel is quite standard; decent appearance, parking, etc. The swimming pool in the parking lot is a bit of a turn off though. The room was clean and everything worked.

However, we did cut our stay after one night after experiencing a very loud air conditioner, and quite possible the worst beds we have ever experienced!

Next Tampa visit will not include this property!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear ToSquareBob1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with your room accommodations and if we were not able to honor your request for the same room during your stay. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trimont, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My son and I stayed here prior to a day at Busch Gardens. First impression in lobby was a nice clean hotel. Unfortunately when we got to our room, one of the beds had obviously been slept in and the bed was not made. A beer can was in the garbage. We alerted the front desk staff. She found a handicap room for us to go to instead. We then went to this room only to find that although the beds were made, all 4 pillows from one bed were at the foot without pillow cases. There was also an almond on the middle of the floor so likely had not been vacuumed. We again contacted the front desk. I explained this was a bit ridiculous and since the hotel was full we would accept a room at another hotel. She called a manager who gave us a different handicapped room which they had personally viewed earlier in the day and knew was clean (unsure why this was personally viewed but I didn't question it). This room was indeed clean and nice. The front desk gal (her name was Tara) called to check on us in the room. She was very polite and apologetic with each poor room and this was certainly out of her control. I advised her that given that we now had to change to a third room, I felt a room rate decrease was in order. She contacted the manager who lowered our room rate from $139 for our night down to $119. I did not feel this was adequate but I will leave that up to you to decide. In the end, the room and hotel were nice. As expected from this chain. Breakfast ok. Workout room is horrible with 3 old machines in a very small room. Otherwise decent. Hope the review helps.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear chadmn01,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret the issues yo had with the rooms you received. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review and make necessary improvements accordingly.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.