We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #39 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Decent but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight here with our grand daughter prior to taking her to the Lowry Park zoo. The hotel is average. The front desk girl greeted us warmly but I found it odd she did not seem to know the general location of our room as I asked about its location trying to figure where I might want to park. There is a nice large breakfast area and you should be able to satisfy your morning hungry with either a hot or cold meal. There is an outdoor pool but we did not swim (the pool is supposed to be heated) but water temperature seem cold. This hotel is in a great location if you're on vacation as it is just down the street from Busch Gardens (the coasters are visible from the front of the hotel). It was just a few miles over to the zoo. And for dinner there is an Olive Garden right next door as well as many other restaurants nearby. The wireless internet worked well. We found the room to be clean. We had a hiccup with the microwave as it overheated when trying to cook a second bag of popcorn. The wife ended up running the popcorn to the desk to get it cooked. There is also a mini fridge for your needs. A small coffee pot also if you don't care to run down to the breakfast area. For the price point the hotel is average. I would stay here again but would not go out of my way to do so.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your review we thank you for choosing our hotel as a place to stay while you are at the park. We appreciate having you here at our hotel. We do strive for excellent service to each guest that walks through our doors and do wish for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    123
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
266
95
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I booked this hotel for my daughter's birthday weekend at Busch Gardens. Val checked us in and was extremely friendly and the other staff members were very nice also. I told her it was my daughter's birthday and when she walked in to head up to the room, Val told her happy birthday which made my daughter extremely happy and excited. Our room was great and comfortable. Looooved the shower!! For once a hotel with the shower head high enough that you aren't bending over backwards to wash your hair! Breakfast was good...nothing extremely fancy but enough selections to start your day at the park. My husband and sister liked the hotel so we will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Ms. Brorav we would first like to say thank you for your review, for we take great pride of the level of customers service that are given to each guest that walks through our doors. We are so excited that you and your family had a wonderful stay! We hope to see you again next year! Happy Birthday to your Daughter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I went to Tampa with a couple of friends on 11/16-11/17 and couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay at. The hotel was exceptionally clean and actually felt more high-end than I would have guessed a hotel with the word "Express" and "Inn" would be!

The staff was also fantastic. Shoutout to Nakira and Janice for being super friendly and extraordinarily helpful! Nakira made us feel so welcome when she checked us in and Janice made us feel welcomed back after we got in from a night downtown and even offered us a late checkout. Great representatives :)

Great stay and I'll be sure to be staying here again for my next Ybor/Busch Gardens trip! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We would like to say thank you for your awesome review about our hotel and staff. Here at Holiday Inn Express we strive for excellent service. We take great pride making sure our guest feels welcome. We appropriate your business and thank you for staying with us. We are happy that our staff members assist you with your stay. We do hope for a return visit , and again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days. Had a great transportation to the theme park. The rooms were very clean without any issues. The front desk service was great. The breakfast was not that great and was very basic. Could have been improved. The beds were toooooo hard and I ended up getting up early each morning with a sore back.

Overall an average hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Marcoboy1,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad you liked our great location as well as your accommodations. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced due to your experience at breakfast. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Arrived at around 8pm after a manatee swim nearby to be greeted by a lovely receptionist who due to our platinum status and being on honeymoon upgraded us and offered us free snacks from the shop.
Very nice touch.

Good stay, although brief, as we had breakfast and headed straight to Busch gardens. Breakfast was basic but nice. Hotel staff very friendly and congratulated us on our marriage again on departure. Clean room and a good sleep. Well done holiday inn express.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
First, I would like to congratulate you on your honeymoon, I know it must have been an exciting time of your lives. We would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor about our hotel. Our goal is to ensure that each guest feels welcome while staying at our hotel. We are happy to hear that our staff noticed the most important day of your lives and were willing to celebrate it with you. Thank you again for your review,, and we hope for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

So in brief if your planning to attend Howl-O-Scream at Busch Gardens Tampa this is probably the best hotel you can stay at . If your staying here during this event and not attending Howl-O-Scream this is probably the worst hotel you could stay at , I will explain below.
Why its good if attending - Very close , Ronaldo will pick you up on demand anytime until 1.30 am , staff very friendly, walking distance , free breakfast
Why its bad if your not attending - The inconsiderate people coming back from the event in the early hours of the morning . We stayed 3 nights and 2 out of 3 nights we were woken by families shouting and slamming doors between 2am and 4am , then it settles down . Also deprived of sleep I managed to get an early night but was woken by a firework show at the park at 11.45pm.
A couple of maintenance things at the hotel were a bit of a worry , when we checked in one bedside light did not work and the coffee maker was broken ( button off the front missing exposing the switch inside ) . Give maintenance their due when i reported it next morning they came straight up , changed the bulbs in the lamp and took the coffee maker . When we returned at 9pm still no coffee maker , not fresh towels , no replacement shower gel etc . Had to go to reception and the took a coffee maker from another room and get bathroom supplies. Next day they did a better job servicing the room.Also one elevator was out of action on the last day
Overall this is still a good hotel but for events you should treat it really as a Busch Gardens hotel and expect most of the residents to be attending these events . Would I come back again , yes I have already booked a couple of days here during Christmas and I hope I can give then 4 out of 5

Room Tip: did not seem to make a difference , it was more the luck of the draw depending on your neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, for it helps the hotel to know these thing so that we can work on areas that are lacking. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay while visiting the park . We do understand the inconvenience when the hotel gets crowded and people are coming back to the hotel all hours of the night. I hope that this event had not ruined your stay here at our hotel and we are anticipating your return trip. It has been a pleasure serving you and hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Aside from the area of town it is in, this hotel was one of the nicer I have stayed in. Very nice rooms and continental breakfast was better than most! We had the Busch Gardens Pass(2) grouped into our hotel cost and it ended up being a great deal! The shuttle to and from Busch Gardens was very helpful - as well as the shuttle drivers being genuinely nice guys. We took a special liking to our shuttle driver, Rolando. He offered great suggestions about beaches in the area, gave advice on which way to get to the airport, and was just a very pleasant guy to be around. Very personable and fun to talk to. The rest of the staff was great as well. We would bring some dinner back from restaurants in the area and the front desk staff were willing to give us a fork/plate, whatever we forgot that we needed! We will be returning here the next time we go to Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We thank you for staying with us while you were visiting the park. Our goal is to ensure that each guest has a pleasant stay. We are happy that we have meant that expectations. Each time a guest review is posted we work hard on how we can make things better for I future guest to come, and we do appreciate the feedback. Thank you again for stay with us , and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#48 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.