We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #34 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Crestview, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The convenience to Busch Gardens is wonderful! They have a great morning buffet for their guests too and the place was spotless. And we loved being able to walk to Olive Garden after a long day at the park. Our only grump would be that we got a suite, and according to the photos and description online, we were getting 2 beds, plus a nice sitting area with a couch. Perfect for a family, right? Instead we had a large room with a huge Jacuzzi in it! Like we would use that for a family? We heard the gal at the front desk tell the folks ahead of us at check-in that they were completely booked. If not for that, we would have called and asked to switch room. But all in all, the cleanliness of this hotel, and convenience of location will guarantee that we'll stay there when we head back to Tampa and Busch Gardens again.

Room Tip: The suites are reasonably priced. Just make sure to ask "with" or "without" Jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello Mamasonn and thank you so much for your review of hotel. We are very fortunate to being an area with so much to offer. It really helps make our guests’ stays convenient and enjoyable. I am also very sorry that you were not provided the room you thought you were booking, and truly appreciate your understanding that we were full. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    122
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
264
95
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and two girls stayed a couple nights. Breakfast was fantastic, the two ladies kept up with the amount of people enjoying the breakfast. We chose this place because of the close proximity of Busch Gardens and shuttle service. Rolando, you were fabulous. My family and I want to say a special thank you to Rolando the shuttle service driver. We would call and Rolando would be there within a couple minutes. Rolando, enjoy the jet ski with your sons.

Room Tip: As with any hotel, try to stay away from rooms near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello. Thank you for taking time out of our day to fill out a Trip Advisor review for us. Rolando will love seeing your comments, and I am happy he made your stay so memorable! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

An average hotel for the money. Beds were Comfortable, bathroom was clean but towels were stained. Stayed 2 nights and the used towels were not replaced on the second day. The room was kind of cramped and one of the beds was right next to the air conditioner so we had to use 1 bed when we wanted 2. A lot of debris around the back and under the furniture. We even found a sneaker from someone who stayed there before us, so that says alot for the way the rooms are cleaned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello. Please let me start by apologizing for the issues you describe in your review of our hotel. It is not typical for our rooms not to be spotless for each and every one of our guests, and I am deeply sorry we missed the mark in your case. Please rest assured I will be addressing this personally with the whole housekeeping department.

We take great pride, and work very hard to make sure each time a guest checks in they have a great stay.

Please come back and see us again soon so you can see the improvements we are going to make!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel and give it the very highest rating! One member of our party uses a wheelchair and, when our travel agent booked the room, they asked for a handicapped accessible room. When we arrived at the hotel, we received a room that was organized for the hearing impaired, not someone in a wheelchair and, it just wouldn't work. When we told the front desk, they were very understanding and moved us into a wheel chair accessible room as soon as one was available the next morning. The rooms were clean and bright, the beds were comfortable and we enjoyed the shuttle and breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel. Everyone on staff was smiling and very helpful. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Busch Gardens so you can see the fireworks in the summer. Rooms near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of our hotel. I am always thrilled to hear that our staff was able to take care of the needs of our guests. If you are ever back in the Tampa are, please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is literally right across the street from Busch Gardens and just down the road from Adventure Island. If you're here for that, this is the best hotel for you

Check-in was cold from the front desk staff and she seemed to rush me through, I was thinking 'this is Priority Club, huh?'. I had to come back and ask how to get to my room, she rushed through some bizarre explanation that had me parking at the back of the hotel walking back up to the front for the only elevators then to the back of the hotel. Also, the shoe of choice is flip flop, which I suppose is what you wear when in Tampa but not what I'd expect from the Front desk staff... anyways....

I don't know the beds they called Queen are what I call Queen, felt more Full-size. The AC in the room would 'get stuck' even though there was a thermostat to regulate it. When we got there it was 68 and freezing, we put it and 75 and went for ice cream. Came back and it was easily 85. Long story short: we were up and down all night trying to find a comfortable spot.

Breakfast was more than I was expecting. Definitely not continental. They had something for everyone and a lot of it. Breakfast staff was pretty attentive. Coffee was only slightly bitter.

Room Tip: close to the elevator and park up front if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry that we failed to meet the standard that we have set for ourselves. A front desk agent should be warm and welcoming. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. Our breakfast staff works very hard to provide our guests a good start to the day. If you are ever back in Tampa, please come and see us. I would love for our staff to be able to show you the improvements we will make from your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island New york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Always there to help! Shuttle service was great as we had grand kids and hubby has back problems so if needed I just picked up the phone & the shuttle came and picked him up and we stayed at busch Gardens or Adventure Island very easy no worries no parking fees went from one park to the other. Great morning meal all included. Ryan the Manager was wonderful as was the whole team at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa! They run a tight ship but everyone seems to love their job, everyone greets you, asks if you need anything they always have a smile, the rooms are immaculate, and the prices are reasonable, I have been to many hotels, condos, etc. This place has them all beat! and I have to give a special shout out to Valerie and Ashley who I asked many question and favors and they ans. them all. and always with a smile and always getting it done. Thanks again Guys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Oh My! Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us! Valerie and Ashley will be so happy to see their names on Trip Advisor. We all get very excited when guests remember our names. Thank you again for taking time out of your day to comment about us. We hope you get a chance to come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter/Tequesta, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked a vacation package that included 3 nights hotel and Busch Gardens tickets for a very reasonable price. Our standard room was very nice, with two queen beds, lots of pillows, and a BIG bathroom. The staff was outgoing, friendly and very helpful. The free shuttle service to Busch Gardens was convenient and driver Rolando was great. The free breakfast provided was really good, with lots of choices. The hotel is walking distance to a few restaurants, with Olive Garden next door and Red Lobster very close, as well as fast food, like Popeye's chicken, Taco Bell, and such. We loved this Holiday Inn Express and even stayed an extra night. Definitely will stay there again !!

Room Tip: I preferred our ground floor room for easy access to the car, to the pool, and outside for smoking..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us! Rolando has done it again, and gotten another mention here on Trip Advisor. It is a competition between him and Sam on who gets mentioned the most on here (although I am giving them a run for their money this month!)

We are so happy all our hard work paid off when you were here. We love getting visitors from all over, and making sure they leave with smiles on their faces. Most of the time we do a great job, and other times we learn so we can get better. I am thrilled that this time all our learning has done the job! Come again and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Tampa
#34 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.