We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the proximity of Busch Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel in the proximity of Busch Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Express was similar to any other Holiday Express. However, the majority of the staff were super friendly which is probably why so many people were staying there. Also it is just across the road from Busch Gardens which was the purpose of our visit to the area. Rates which include breakfast were very reasonable. Liked the coffee. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There are restaurants in walking distance. Would recommend it to those looking for a budget hotel room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
HI! Thank you so much for taking time out to fill our a Trip Advisor for your stay. We appreciate the recognition all our hard work gets us! We hope you get a chance to come stay with us again real soon, maybe for the opening of Falcons Fury next year at Busch Gardens, or Howl-O-Scream in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    120
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
260
95
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit I was nervous when we took the exit to come to the hotel. Even during the day the area/neighborhood seems suspect. I was pleasantly surprised to see the hotel lobby was clean along with our room. The thing I liked most about the room was it was spacious and bigger than we expected with a little kitchenette area (in the double room). The beds were comfortable and we had no problems in the room. We really appreciated the shuttle to Busch Gardens because it meant we didn't pay for parking. The shuttle driver was very friendly and made runs pretty much when you needed except between 1-4pm. He gave us his business card and told us to call him when we were ready to go.
Breakfast selections were fine and always kept stocked. If the main area is full there is another area to sit right next door to it. Most people didn't know that so it's just something to keep in mind as both days the breakfast room was packed. Each morning the manager was always in the lobby greeting guests and answering questions or addressing complaints. Our most favorite part about our stay was seeing the fireworks at Busch Garden from our window. Our kids LOVED it and felt like they had their own little private show haha. Get the 4th floor on the back side if you want to see the fireworks:). (you should see Taco Bell when you look out your window)

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello, and thank you so much for taking time out to review your stay with us. We all work really hard around here to make sure everyone has a great stay. I am so happy you gave us a shot. So many people find when they stay with us their original impression of the area is not as bad as originally thought. Many of the restaurants around here have gone through or are in the middle of remodeling. In fact the McDonald's down the street completely tore their building down and built a brand new one! So the area is sprucing up. It will just take some time. Either way, I am glad you stayed with us and had a great time! Come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved it...great food, service, and next door to Busch gardens was a plus! There is so much to be said about this hotel but I don't feel like typing it lol.

Go to the Busch gardens website and get the package with this hotel and you won't go wrong!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your comments! We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in 2011 with my husband to go to Busch Gardens and didn't hesitate to book it again for my trip yesterday with my nieces. We returned today and, again, had a wonderful experience with this hotel. Excellent service and extremely friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast with plenty of options for a satisfying meal to start off the day. Complimentary shuttle to Busch Gardens with Rolando and Sam just a phone call away. A very nice, updated, and clean room with fridge, microwave, and a comfortable bed. Overall, every comfort and convenience you would need AND at a great rate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for coming back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Good - the staff, especially Valerie and Ashley were extremely polite and helpful with our needs. The women making breakfast on 6/24 were so kind and helpful to my 6 year old grandson.Breakfast choices were plentiful. Proximity to the park is fantastic.
The Bad - the shuttle does not run between 1 and 4 in the afternoons - I wish that had been posted on the website. Neighborhood leaves much to be desired. Bathroom needs to be repainted. The lumpiest pillows I have ever slept on. Elevators need to be cleaned - both floors and walls.
The Ugly - had reserved adjoining rooms and after our return from the Park - one room had a dirty sock (belonging to no one that was in our party) sitting in the middle of the room and no towels in that bathroom. The other room had no drinking cups or coffee cups and the toilet paper in the bathroom was on the floor with the "spring loader" under the sink against the wall.
The windows were not very clean - very streaky.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room and you can see the Busch Gardens fireworks at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello. Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. And thank you for mentioning Ashley and Valerie in your review! They both work very hard to keep our guests happy.

As for the shuttle, we all do our best to get the word out on the websites, and when you check in about the times the shuttle runs. It is the best use of our resources to be able to service our guests during the highest volume of requests to go to and from the park. After about a year of measuring and tracking, we were able to see the least amount of requests for trips back and forth to the park was between the hours of 1-4pm.

I would very much like to speak to you in person regarding your other comments. Please reach out to me at the hotel at your convenience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom with a pull out bed. The size was perfect and a great value for the price. Room was really clean. The shuttle to Busch Gardens was great leaving and all you had to do was call to be picked up. Our driver Rolando was a safe driver and very respectful. The breakfast in the morning was very well organized and the GM Ryan Cornelius was greeting everyone ensuring the stay was on par with expectations. Our expectations were exceeded based on value and customer service. If your looking for a clean affordable hotel for Busch Gardens look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your review! My whole team and I take customer service very seriously around here, and that includes me being in the lobby each morning I am here talking to everyone. If you have an issue that needs to be resolved, directions, questions answered, or anything else, that is what we are all here for, and I want to be leading the charge to make sure it gets done for you.

We hope you get a chance to come back and see us real soon! Busch Gardens has a new ride opening next year, and this October they have Howl-O-Scream again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The beds were old and walls are very thin. We could hear every move of the people next to us. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were fairly clean. The area was horrible, but close to Bush Gardens. Overall it was decent, but we would never go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sarah R,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am more than happy that you have mentioned our friendly and helpful staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.