We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay for your Busch Gardens vacation get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must stay for your Busch Gardens vacation get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in 2011 with my husband to go to Busch Gardens and didn't hesitate to book it again for my trip yesterday with my nieces. We returned today and, again, had a wonderful experience with this hotel. Excellent service and extremely friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast with plenty of options for a satisfying meal to start off the day. Complimentary shuttle to Busch Gardens with Rolando and Sam just a phone call away. A very nice, updated, and clean room with fridge, microwave, and a comfortable bed. Overall, every comfort and convenience you would need AND at a great rate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for coming back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    123
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
266
95
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauconda, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Good - the staff, especially Valerie and Ashley were extremely polite and helpful with our needs. The women making breakfast on 6/24 were so kind and helpful to my 6 year old grandson.Breakfast choices were plentiful. Proximity to the park is fantastic.
The Bad - the shuttle does not run between 1 and 4 in the afternoons - I wish that had been posted on the website. Neighborhood leaves much to be desired. Bathroom needs to be repainted. The lumpiest pillows I have ever slept on. Elevators need to be cleaned - both floors and walls.
The Ugly - had reserved adjoining rooms and after our return from the Park - one room had a dirty sock (belonging to no one that was in our party) sitting in the middle of the room and no towels in that bathroom. The other room had no drinking cups or coffee cups and the toilet paper in the bathroom was on the floor with the "spring loader" under the sink against the wall.
The windows were not very clean - very streaky.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room and you can see the Busch Gardens fireworks at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello. Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. And thank you for mentioning Ashley and Valerie in your review! They both work very hard to keep our guests happy.

As for the shuttle, we all do our best to get the word out on the websites, and when you check in about the times the shuttle runs. It is the best use of our resources to be able to service our guests during the highest volume of requests to go to and from the park. After about a year of measuring and tracking, we were able to see the least amount of requests for trips back and forth to the park was between the hours of 1-4pm.

I would very much like to speak to you in person regarding your other comments. Please reach out to me at the hotel at your convenience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom with a pull out bed. The size was perfect and a great value for the price. Room was really clean. The shuttle to Busch Gardens was great leaving and all you had to do was call to be picked up. Our driver Rolando was a safe driver and very respectful. The breakfast in the morning was very well organized and the GM Ryan Cornelius was greeting everyone ensuring the stay was on par with expectations. Our expectations were exceeded based on value and customer service. If your looking for a clean affordable hotel for Busch Gardens look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your review! My whole team and I take customer service very seriously around here, and that includes me being in the lobby each morning I am here talking to everyone. If you have an issue that needs to be resolved, directions, questions answered, or anything else, that is what we are all here for, and I want to be leading the charge to make sure it gets done for you.

We hope you get a chance to come back and see us real soon! Busch Gardens has a new ride opening next year, and this October they have Howl-O-Scream again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The beds were old and walls are very thin. We could hear every move of the people next to us. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were fairly clean. The area was horrible, but close to Bush Gardens. Overall it was decent, but we would never go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sarah R,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am more than happy that you have mentioned our friendly and helpful staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel June 11-12, 2013. Room was clean, staff helpful (thank you, Ashley for changing our room.) Shuttle service is great -thank you, Sam. Our driver was Sam- he gave us his cell # and picked us a few minutes after we called him. The front desk clerk printed us out directions to our next stop. It was a good choice for a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review, and especially singling out Ashley and Sam for their exceptional service! It is a big deal around here when team members get mentioned on Trip Advisor. Sam has been getting a lot of great comments recently. Ashley is new to our team and has already proven herself when it comes to taking care of our guests. We hope you get a chance to come back soon! Maybe in October when Busch Gardens puts on Howl-O-Scream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I travel every week all over north and South America for work and typically stay at Holiday Inn and Courtyard Marriott hotels. The dining area was very spacious and beautiful with 20' high ceilings which is not typical and a step up. The rooms were very up to date with granit countertops, microwave, couch, king bed, bar sink, quiet thermostatically controlled AC nice HD TV. The pool was clear and fun! Almost walking distance from the Busch Gardens, the fireworks were felt and seen out of the windows every night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy we were able to please such a well traveled guest! We hope you get a chance to come back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We did the Busch Garden/Hotel combo deal and man are we glad we did. The room was very clean and inviting as was the lobby and breakfast area. The breakfast was fresh and very good. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable and the shuttle drivers were great, especially Sam. The shuttle to Busch and the water park was convenient and available with just a phone call. If there was one thing that I deducted a star on was the pool. The pool area was very clean but the water was cloudy and a little dirty. It was the end of the day though. All in all we were very pleased and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to write a review for us! I appreciate your comments, and will take a look at the pool cleaning log book to make sure our service is working as hard as my team does to keep the place running and looking great. From the sound of it, I hope we get a chance to see you again soon! Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#48 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.