We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Spring break 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

we stayed here the week of April 9th for Spring break. We choose this hotel due to its proximity to Busch gardens. We used the shuttle service during our stay, both drivers Rolando and Sam were great. Free breakfast was good and hotel was clean and updated. Olive Garden and Red Lobster are adjacent to hotel. Although the neighborhood surrounding the hotel is not great, As a single woman traveling with 2 children I would stay here again, I felt safe at the hotel, I just would not not recommend walking. We also visited the Museum of Science, it was only a 5 min drive from hotel. The pool was small and just off the parking lot. We did not use. Only caveat was that The A/C unit was extremely loud ,had to shut off because it made such a racket.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor away from elevator. Pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We all work very hard to make sure you have a great time.

Rolando and Sam are our official representatives and the face of our hotel. They provide such great service to our guests, and we are happy they are on our team.

The holidays are just around the corner, and Tampa has great weather in the winter months, so please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    119
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
257
95
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Two adults and two kids. We stayed here due to the good reviews and the free shuttle to Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Sam, our shuttle driver, gave us his phone number, and was extremely helpful and kind. When we were there there was no shuttle service between 1-4pm. On hot days, we went to Busch Gardens for 3 hours, Sam brought us to Adventure Island for a few hours and then he picked us up and brought us back to Busch Gardens until the park closed. We used a locker (50 cents) outside of the Busch Gardens entrance to store our cooler - not allowed in BG, but small ones are allowed in Adventure Island. Many others did this also to save some money (picnic tables outside BG and AI). We got the unlimited park visits to BG & AI for up to 2 weeks for $85 (a great deal).

This hotel had spacious and clean rooms. Our room had two queens, a sofa, sitting chair w/ottoman, great tv, sink/bar area, and a refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable (and I am used to sleeping on a Temper Pedic).

This had the best free breakfast buffet that I have experienced in my hotel stays - pancakes, eggs, biscuits, cinnamon rolls, cereal, muffins, juice, coffee, etc.

The hotel is very nice. The neighborhoods to the east, south and west are a bit rough. Though I didn't go there, the area to the north (near USF) seems nicer. It is possible to take the city bus to/from the airport ($2 to downtown and $2 from the Marion Transit Center to the airport), but it will take you at least an hour and a half (depending upon the time of day that you travel). A cab ride (ours was with United Cab) will be about $38 one way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side allow you to see your car in the parking lot and enjoy the sunrise with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello! I love to see you had a great stay with us! Sam is the newest shuttle driver to join our team, and he has had a large impact already. We look forward to seeing his name here on Trip Advisor more and more.

Although the area may seem rough, our guests rarely experience any issues with the area. Recently, the new Taco Bell went in, McDonald's completely remodeled, Olive Garden (next door) is almost finished with their remodel, and Red Lobster has completed their remodel. The area is renewing, and we look forward to future projects in the area to increase the curb appeal.

We hope you get to come back soon to see all the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there for two nights without any complaint. The suite was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very attentive, especially the staff from the restaurant during breakfast. The hotel was very centric, it was close to Bush Gardens, USF and Moffit Cancer Center. If I need to stay in the area, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hey! Thank you for such a great review of our hotel! We look forward to seeing you again when you get a chance to come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We checked in on Friday April 5, 2013 and stayed till Sunday, April 7, 2013. As always the room was clean, king size bed was very comfortable, bathroom area is a good size - two people can be in it without colliding with one another. We enjoyed watching the TV - great picture - and enjoyed watching HBO, which we don't have at home. Breakfast runs till 9:30 am - plenty of food - staff maintains the food coming as guests eat it up. Staff is friendly. This is our 7th time here - we enjoy Busch Garden and stay here when we visit since the hotel is only a few blocks away. We don't use their shuttle service since we bring our car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hey! Thank you for giving us a review! Wow! Seven times! We love that you keep coming back to see us! Until next time, take care!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent front desk customer service. Printer was not working, but they were more than accomodating. Excellent breakfast buffet! Nice pool too! A distance from Spring Training ballparks, but very nice! Good selection of restaurants within walking distance too.

Room Tip: Top floor, end of hallway....very quiet, but a distance from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi, and thank you for your review! The front office will be thrilled to see they were mentioned as a whole! Valerie has become an expert at printing boarding passes, tickets, and directions for all our guests.

We had to get a new Business Center computer. The other one finally gave out from all the use it was getting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We checked in on a Sunday afternoon, the kids were raring to go to Busch Gardens. The shuttle service doesn't run between 1 and 4 PM. The driver, Rolando, overheard us talking and was gracious enough to take us to the park. We appreciated that very much. I would like to add that Rolando was very jovial, informative and prompt. Besides our satisfaction with the hotel/staff he also made it a pleasant experience. Our room was very clean as well as all the other areas of the establishment. It was very quiet, the breakfast was a plus and there were many good restaurants in the area and some were within walking distance. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write a review for us! And especially Rolando! He gets mentioned so much here on Trip Advisor, so he must be doing something good!

We all hope you get to come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Overall, I was pretty impressed with the hotel. There were some minor things that were a bit bothersome, but we were here for a short stay so it was nothing to make a big deal about. I can't speak for all of the rooms, but our blankets had a couple of dark stains resembling blood near the head of the bed, the carpeting also had a few dark spots as well. In the bathroom, on the floor and in the shower there was quite a bit of hair left behind from the previous guest/cleaning. If I can notice it after 10 hours of driving and right after pulling back the curtain, then it was something that probably shouldn't have been missed.

In other words, you can see roller coasters of Busch gardens from the entrance. With that being said, the hotel the slightly busy when we checked in, but the staff that we encountered was very friendly with check-in, and as we were coming and going. If being around families and kids aren't really you're thing, this seems to be a family friendly hotel, but it does seem to be fairly quiet once inside of the room. Breakfast was decent, didn't check out the pool since it rained for the duration of our stay. If we have to come down here again we will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for your review. While we pride ourselves on exceeding guest expectations, sometimes constructive comments are needed - and welcomed - to help us improve our service and product! Please feel free to reach out to me directly at the hotel so I can further investigate the room you stayed in and give it a good once over to make sure we get any discrepancies corrected.

Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.