We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dispite worst snow storm in years, no refund policy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dispite worst snow storm in years, no refund policy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Was booked in the Holiday Inn Express Tampa Busch gardens on Busch Blvd.Feb. 7-10th 2013 Unforunately my flight cancelled. Next day blinding snow storm hit N.E. USA & eastern Canada many flights cancelled or airports shut down for sevral hours, had to go on stand-by status. After trying for several hours at airport was told back log would take several days, went home. Booked thru Hotels.com and they were helpful in calling hotel to explain delay. Hotel told us no refund would be given or even exchange for another time in low season June or July. Was with grandchildren and they were disappointed,. Can not fight Mother Nature, but felt Holiday Inn Busch Gardens might have been a bit more considerate or flexible considering one of the worst snow storm worst in many years. Watch out for refund policy as there seems to be none, not even in a blinding snow storm. Lost $422.- .....am truly disappointed in their ridged and inflexible policy cannot rate this hotel, as never got a chance to experience it, but am sure it is a nice hotel, only beef is their refund policy under unusualy and extreme circumstances
Disappointed in Toronto

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mayanexplorer1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    120
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
260
95
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived in the Busch Gardens area quite late on Friday evening with no reservations. After driving around Busch Blvd, we settled on the Holiday Inn & Suites having never stayed at one before. All I can say is that we made a fantastic choice, we have found our new favourite hotel chain.

Drew on the front desk checked us in. I have never come across a more friendly and personable check in experience. I had forgotten my Priority Club card, but this was no problem and Drew was able to find me on the system. He even dropped a hand written note under our door making sure that we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

Considering we arrived on a Friday night, the room rate seemed exceptionally good value for money, particularly as it included hot breakfast. The room itself was amazing, very spacious, spotlessly clean and the beds and linen were more comfortable than ours at home! The only criticism I can make about the room was the lack of a safe. The hotel offer deposit boxes at reception, but we would have preferred our own safe in our room.

Breakfast was also great, a good variety and it all seemed quite fresh. When we had to ask the breakfast assistant for more coffee as the thermos was empty this was no bother at all.

All in all, we had an exceptional stay and I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay within close proximity of Busch Gardens. We were so impressed that we seeked out a Holiday Inn & Suites at Kennedy Space Coast the following evening!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a detailed review! Drew will be pleased to see his name on Trip Advisor. It is a very big deal to be mentioned in a review! Thank you so much for taking time to post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We visit Busch gardens often. this hotels location and services are invaluable for a great trip. mary in the breakfast nook is amazing. the rooms are very well kept. the staff is amazing and will not hesitate to overextend themselves for you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
HI! Thank you for your kind review! We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

the lady at the front desk was amazing! she came all the way to the back of the building to open a door because i was hurt. The room was awesome the pool was great! amazing experience! the room was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your injury. I hope you have fully recovered and get to come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel mid January 2013, specifically to visit Busch Gardens, and also visit Wickee Wachee Springs to see the mermaids.

The hotel was terrific, with fantastic service. The young man on the front desk couldn't be more helpful (sorry, can't remember his name), and the room was great. We had 2 queen beds and sofa bed, which allowed us to spread out. We were also 1 month into travelling and shopping, so had plenty of room for storing luggage. The room also had a kitchen counter with extra sink, microwave and fridge. The only thing i will comment on, the room was a little dark, with lamps being the only lighting. Our room was on the front of the hotel, on the main road, so you could see Busch Gardens from the room, but was not too noisy for sleeping. The traffic seemed to really slow down at night.

The shuttle driver, Rolando, was great. Free of charge shuttle to Busch Gardens on the hour, and also very helpful, with tips of where to eat dinner. There are several places right outside the hotel, but mostly fast food with Olive Garden right next door.

Breakfast was included in the room charge, which was more than enough variety to please everybody (maybe could have done with a little more fruit). Travelling with 14 and 12 year olds, when you can make your own pancakes, you don't need anything else. The 2 ladies who looked after breakfast, Rebecca and Carmen, were lovely, and looked after everyone.

There was also washing facilities ($1 per wash, and $1 to dry, bargain compared to other hotels). There was only the 1 set of machines, so maybe when the hotel was busy, it may be harder to get time on these.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel. Very clean and great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Drew, Spencer, Rolando, Carmen and Rebecca are going to be happy to see they were mentioned in a review! We truly appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to write a review for us. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San German, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Since we arrive we were greated by Reina, she was very diligent with our check in. The room was spacious, very clean, with modern amenities and confi beds. Traveling with my father who is a very active 75 yrs young man, he was delighted with the hotel and staff. During the morning Carmen took great care of us at the exquisite complementary breakfast they serve. At check out time Valerie and the rest of the staff invited us to come back. We feelt very appreciated by all the staff that we had contact with. We will come back and recommend the Hotel and staff to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello! Please let me add to the chorus of my team members and invite you back any time you want. We love having you all here with us, and hope you get to come back soon! Thank you for mentioning Valerie, Carmen and Reyna in your review! We all get very excited when our team members get their names mentioned on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the last week of December, 2012 and found it to be a great place to stay. Unlike some of the other Holiday Inn Express hotels, the breakfast was much better and had wider choices. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a road-side view on upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took out of your busy day to do this for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#31 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#31 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.