We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, however......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #47 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent location, however......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent location for Busch Gardens and MOSI Imax Dome and Science Museum, but there is an issue if you room is anywhere near the pool!

We have stayed at this hotel before, and have never had an issue, but our last visit was a nightmare. We were on the 4th floor, but above the pool, when 2 familys arrived with 12 teenagers. They were in the pool for hours, and the noise was so bad we had to phone reception as we couldn't sleep. At 10:00pm, we had had enough, as we had an early start the next day, so we checked out.

Starr, who was the night manager did her best to resolve the issue, and asked the teenagers to stop screaming, but to no avail. The reason for this was because the pool is open until 11:00pm, every night.

So in conclusion, if you want to go to bed early, to get up early, make sure that you are miles away from the pool. Apart from that, a lovely hotel, lovely staff, and excellent facilities; just a pity they are willing to loose business over keeping a pool open so late.

Access to Busch Gardens is within walking distance to save on parking fees, or the free shuttle will drop you off and pick you up. Not far from the University Mall situated on Fowler Avenue, just up 30th, a 5 minute drive. Also lots of eateries on Fowler, so well worth a look, especially Longhorn Steakhouse, best steak we have ever had, and fantastic value for money. Oh, also not far from Lowery Park Zoo which is a great day out, and again, value for money.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    168
    68
    30
    16
See reviews for
304
125
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We always stay here when we go to Busch Gardens. It is right across the street. In fact we were so excited to be able to see the roller coasters from our room this time! There is a shuttle to the park also.
The staff is wonderful and the breakfast is soooo yummy! Biscuits and gravy and everything! Not just a bagel and juice like some hotels.
Olive garden is right next door, you can walk there and not have to deal with traffic. Overall, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello! I am so sorry that you had problems with noise however, I am pleased to hear that Starr tried her best to resolve the issue. We hate to lose business and I will be looking into ways that I can solve this problem. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your trip to Tampa and I hope that you will give us another chance when you return! Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review and although some parts of the review were negative, I thank you for letting us know so that the problems can be fixed! Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The lady who greeted us at the reception desk was very friendly, their complementary breakfast included fresh made pancakes, the rooms are well maintained, and they have free shuttle service to Busch Gardens which saves a lot of money for parking. This is a terrific value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! We aim to please all of our guests and I feel that the Team has accomplished this! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
225 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Check in was quick and the room was in good condition. It had a microwave, small fridge, desk, window had a nice view of Busch garden coaster. The park is very close to the hotel. Chris was our driver and he did a great job. Breakfast was good, they had milk, hot chocolate, juice, pancakes, cereal, eggs, muffins, etc.


One thing that I did not like is the pillows. They were sinking. I could not sleep well the first night because of this. I am sensitive with pillows and I should have brought my own. For the second night, I called the front desk and asked for firm pillows which were delivered promptly but even thought the label read "Firm" they weren't.
I am usually the one with pillow issues but my husband was hads the same issue this time. He also found the pillows very uncomfortable.
The shower had a lot lot of hair in the drain that did not belong to me. It was preventing the water from passing through. Called front desk and they fixed it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I am so sorry that you had problems with your pillows and the drain in your shower! I am pleased to hear that the team was able to fix that for you though! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and Chris will be pleased to hear that he was mentioned on Trip Advisor again! We know that he really is a great shuttle driver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ft Myers Fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Room was nice. Service was great. transportation to busch gardens was very good. Only negative was the weather. cold by florida standards. overall a very pleasant trip. Only negative was that the hotel was very crowded and you had to use overflow rooms to eat. Solved the problem by getting a tray and eating in my room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello! I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay! I am sorry that we were not able to seat you in the breakfast area but we use overflow seating so that everyone can enjoy breakfast near the breakfast area. I am happy that you were able to find an alternative that accommodated you though! I wish I could fix the Florida weather but, even that is out of my hands! I do agree that it was unusually cold here lately! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here while at Busch Gardens for the Christmastown event.

Every staff member we dealt with was amazing. At check-in the desk clerk was friendly and full of information. She called up to our room a few minutes after check-in to ensure we were happy with the room. We used the shuttle to get over to Busch. We already knew Ronaldo was friendly as we had met him on our way to dinner. At breakfast, there was a very friendly woman stocking everything and helping kids with the pancake machine.

The breakfast was great - lots of selection and flavoured creamers available for the coffee. Everything tasted fresh, and the coffee was the best I've had so far on this trip.

The room was comfy and spotless. Nice beds, a selection of pillows and a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker.

Great stay overall. I am being converted from a Hampton Inn loyalist to the Holiday Inn line.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello! Thank you for choosing us to stay with during your visit to Busch Gardens here is Tampa! Rolando gets his name mentioned on here a lot, and we all know it is because he is such a great shuttle driver! We are thrilled to hear you are being converted from the Hampton over to us! We work really hard to show all our guests we are the best in Tampa. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We always stay at this hotel when visiting Busch Garden - this past weekend must have been our 12th time there. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are comfortable and so clean. The complimentary breakfast is great - the food is fresh, replenishing what is needed by the staff, one of whom is Carmen, area where you eat is kept clean - very comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi! Thank you so much for your review, and for mentioning Carmen! She will love seeing her name on Trip Advisor! Thank you for mentioning our clean rooms and our free complimentary breakfast. We are so happy you chose us as your hotel to stay so close to Busch Gardens Tampa. Our free shuttle service, convenience, and rooms make us the perfect stay choice! Please come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Tampa near Busch Gardens/USF
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Tampa
#57 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.