We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busch Gardens Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #39 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Busch Gardens Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Nice, clean, modern hotel. Traveled with my husband, 14 yr old daughter, and 13 yr old son. We spent two nights there when we stopped in Tampa to spend a day at Busch Gardens on the way to Marco Island. We had two rooms on the first floor near the lobby. It was quiet, very comfortable, and we felt safe. Free in-room wi-fi was a plus. First night we walked to Olive Garden next door for a late supper. There are plenty of fast food and chain restaurants in the vicinity. Arnie checked us in and was great. Robert, the shuttle driver to Busch Gardens, deserves all the credit he gets! He set the tone for a great day and a great end to the day! Don't forget to tip him! The only reason we don't rate the hotel as "excellent" is that the breakfast buffet is too small for the number of people that come down, and the lines are very long even just for coffee. Despite that, we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Hello! We are very glad you chose to stay with us on your short stay over to visit Busch Gardens. I believe this is the first time Arnie has been mentioned on Trip Advisor! He is going to be thrilled when we post this for the team to see! He works very hard, as does my whole team, to exceed expectations with all our guests. I am happy you mentioned him.

We have been working diligently to resolve the rush of guests we get between 9:00 and 9:30 for breakfast. We have even started using out meeting room as an overflow area for seating and additional food displays. We continue to work with the feedback our guests give us surrounding this area, and are making improvements each week with the flow and speed of the service. Thank you for your comments. It helps us to continue to get better and better every day in every way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    125
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
267
96
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel has the best chauffeur ever! My son is still singing his fun "Roller Coaster" song. He also remembers Robert loves his toothpicks. More importantly he provides safe and courteous transportation. Robert should be driving someone like Obama around and sharing his positivity with him. He made our day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Hello! Thank you for leaving your comment on Robert! We really appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to let us know how we are doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our family celebrated our son's 10th birthday at Busch Gardens the first weekend in March. There were 5 of us in our party. When we booked we requested two queen size beds and a sofa sleeper. When we checked in we were told that was not available so they gave us two seperate rooms across the hall from each other (no ajoining rooms available either) until they could accomodate us the next night with the correct room type. They did not charge us for the mistake. We were happy with that. We were also pleasantly surprised this hotel offers QUEEN size bed as mos H.I. offer only doubles. A nice touch!

We took the free hotel shuttle daily into Busch Gardens that helped to eliminate the parking fee ($14.00) and loved the experience with Robert our bus driver. He played the best music! "Roller Coaster...you know you wanna sing along and get ready for a good time"!!! he shouted to all his passengers...We had a blast with him!

A litle disappointed with the breakfast. All three mornings it was the same food. No variety. Yet, still plentiful and included in the room rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello! Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a review for us. We appreciate it. Robert loves interacting with all our guests! He has even been known to play Christmas Music in March, just to get a laugh. We love him here, and glad you had a great time when you stayed with us! We look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We arrived on friday about 1230 check in time wasnt until 3pm we let our luggage in our suv until our family came back from bush gardens there was a shuttle bus waiting for us at the front of the hotel it comes every 30 mins the driver robert was very very nice and outgoing he made everyone feel welcome and comfy on the bus ride. The hotel also has discounted tickets for adventure island & bush gardens for 78 dollars for adults and 69 dollars for a child for both parks the parks was 5 mins away from the hotel. On friday nite we check in a non smoking room the room was extra clean the pictures on-line match the room. The room has a mircowave and refrig the breakfast was ok called for extra towels came up within 5mins the staff was very friendly i would stay there again.............

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello! Thank you for mentioning our discounted tickets! Busch Gardens just had a price increase a few weeks ago, and we kept our prices right where they were so we could offer our guests an added value of staying with us! We also can now sell several options with those tickets, like the Elmo Show, and the All Day Dine ticket (which is a huge savings if you are on a budget!), Adventure Island (which is now included FREE in with your regular ticket purchase, or even a one park half day (valid for date of purchase only) ticket. The choices are yours to make. Just know they are cheaper at my Guest Services desk than they are at the gate! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My girlfriend booked this king room for my birthday. We arrived early Tuesday March 27th around 12:30pm and was able to get are room fast even with check-in at 3pm. The king bed room was on the 4th floor and enjoyed the hot tub in the corner of the unit. Floor was very quiet. Hotel was very clean. They had a great free breakfest bar the next morning. Coffee, Oj, Sausage, scrambled eggs, bisquits and gravy, cereal, oatmeal and assortment of danishes and breads.

It's directly across from Busch Gardens and fast driving to Ybor City and the Zoo! I also read some reviews before coming and I noticed some people were concern about Location. There is bad in every city! Ybor City and the Zoo are close to Bad too. Doesn't mean the crime is bad!! People need to stop being so negative! For the money, this place was nice!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you bring cold bottle water cause the veding machine was emptied of water and some drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello! Thank you so much for your very kind, and accurate, opinion of our hotel. ;-) We are located in an area that is currently undergoing a much needed update to its appearance. Our hotel was the first in the area to reflect the new look of our community, and we are proud to maintain it for our neighbors. Other properties, shops, and restaurants in the area are updating their appearance as well, but with everything it takes time. I know our service is second to none in this area, and I am proud of my team for the dedication and hard work they put into their daily routines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laona, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Robert was a great shuttle driver. He was very nice and fun. He knew how to start a convo when needed. Robert made our trip a blast. Hope to see him again. From the Laona group!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello! Thank you for your comments! Robert is the most popular team member I have. From playing Christmas music in March, to Roller Coaster on the way to Busch Gardens, he certainly knows how to start everyone’s day off right! I am glad he made a memory with you all. After all, that is the business we are in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel was nice! The location was prime for visiting Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. We used the shuttle bus from the hotel. The shuttle bus driver was very courteous and always at the location at the stated times . I must say the attitudes of all the staff was commendable!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! My team and I all strive to have a Heart for Hospitality. I am very pleased it showed in our attitudes during your visit! We have all been working very hard, and focusing on increasing our customer service. We are in a perpetual state of learning and coaching, and learning some more. We all can’t wait to see you again soon, and thanks for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
#39 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#50 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.