We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My girlfriend booked this king room for my birthday. We arrived early Tuesday March 27th around 12:30pm and was able to get are room fast even with check-in at 3pm. The king bed room was on the 4th floor and enjoyed the hot tub in the corner of the unit. Floor was very quiet. Hotel was very clean. They had a great free breakfest bar the next morning. Coffee, Oj, Sausage, scrambled eggs, bisquits and gravy, cereal, oatmeal and assortment of danishes and breads.

It's directly across from Busch Gardens and fast driving to Ybor City and the Zoo! I also read some reviews before coming and I noticed some people were concern about Location. There is bad in every city! Ybor City and the Zoo are close to Bad too. Doesn't mean the crime is bad!! People need to stop being so negative! For the money, this place was nice!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you bring cold bottle water cause the veding machine was emptied of water and some drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello! Thank you so much for your very kind, and accurate, opinion of our hotel. ;-) We are located in an area that is currently undergoing a much needed update to its appearance. Our hotel was the first in the area to reflect the new look of our community, and we are proud to maintain it for our neighbors. Other properties, shops, and restaurants in the area are updating their appearance as well, but with everything it takes time. I know our service is second to none in this area, and I am proud of my team for the dedication and hard work they put into their daily routines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    134
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
273
105
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laona, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Robert was a great shuttle driver. He was very nice and fun. He knew how to start a convo when needed. Robert made our trip a blast. Hope to see him again. From the Laona group!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello! Thank you for your comments! Robert is the most popular team member I have. From playing Christmas music in March, to Roller Coaster on the way to Busch Gardens, he certainly knows how to start everyone’s day off right! I am glad he made a memory with you all. After all, that is the business we are in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel was nice! The location was prime for visiting Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. We used the shuttle bus from the hotel. The shuttle bus driver was very courteous and always at the location at the stated times . I must say the attitudes of all the staff was commendable!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! My team and I all strive to have a Heart for Hospitality. I am very pleased it showed in our attitudes during your visit! We have all been working very hard, and focusing on increasing our customer service. We are in a perpetual state of learning and coaching, and learning some more. We all can’t wait to see you again soon, and thanks for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David City, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My family and I had a Great Stay at this Holiday Inn. The people were Great!!! Robert the shuttle driver made everyday special, with the smiles and where to go altitude! We will be back!

Tim Adamy, Nebraska

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hey! Thank you for your review! We really appreciate you taking time out to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

From the time we checked the staff has been very friendly. Our shuttle driver Robert is the bomb. He is an asset to your company, if everyone in the customer service industry was like him the world would be a better place. I would come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello! Thank you for your kind review! Robert is a hit with all our guests, and with us! My whole team strives to have a service personality like his. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Shout out to our shuttle driver Robert (AKA GEORGE) LOL....he is a wonderful asset to your company. Wonderful, funny.great attitude, make stay pleasant. The hotel was clean and the front deck was helpful to all my guestions. We will stay again. Thanks for a great weekend Cricket

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hi! Robert is a hit on Trip Advisor! We love he is one of our team members. He makes our guests stay one to remember. Thank you for taking time to leave your comments, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights and really liked this location. Very close to Busch Gardens. Hotel was very clean and the room we had was nice with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper, plus microwave and fridge. However, take your own hangers as our room only had 7. Clearly not enough for a family, which is what this room type would appeal to.

Also, every day we had to ask for an extra towel. We reserved our room stating there would be 4 people staying and every day the maid left 3 towels. Not a big deal, but kind of annoying.

The breakfast buffet was nice. Our daughter was disappointed that each morning the only breakfast meat they had was sausage, no bacon like other HIE that we have stayed at. She lived of course, but surprised they didn't mix it up a bit. The pancake maker was nice.

We took the shuttle to Busch Gardens 2 days. The first day was great! Robert was friendly and played and sang to Christmas songs! How fun!! He was was on time and things went very smoothly, we were quite impressed.

But, our last day, we decided to go back to Busch Gardens and it was NOT the same shuttle experience. Robert was late that morning, not much, but almost 10 minutes and he seemed rushed and distracted, not like the previous time, 2 days before. He assured us all he picks up at 5, 6 and 7 pm. If you need him before that, call the hotel.

Well, we showed up for the 6 pm shuttle a few minutes early to make sure we didn't miss it and we waited......and waited....finally at about 10 after 6, we called the hotel and they apologized and re-assured us that he'd be there in 10-15 minutes. So, we waited.....and waited....and waited.....called the hotel back at 6:30, 20 minutes after the last call we made and again were re-assured that he'd be there shortly. We waited another 5 minutes and said this is ridiculous, so we hopped in a taxi (which is $10 from Busch Gardens to the hotel) and when we got to the hotel, Robert was unloading suitcases from the back of the shuttle and clearly was NOT going to be back at Busch Gardens shortly. The front desk should have never kept saying he'd be there shortly when he clearly was not going to be. It was not a good way to end an otherwise pleasant stay. Yes, the shuttle is a free service provided by the hotel, but when they clearly state the times of their service, the shuttle should be there within a reasonable amount of time and the front desk should not keep telling people it will be shortly, when it clearly will not be shortly.

Hopefully, they find a better way of running their shuttle in the future, as it really was the only reason we would consider not returning again.

If you are not going to Busch Gardens or relying on the shuttle, it really is a great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello! Please let me first start off by apologizing for the issues you experienced surrounding our shuttle service. Robert is very popular, and it seems on the day you mentioned, he was in high demand. I take it very personally when a guest doesn’t enjoy their complete stay. Taking your comments to heart, we will have to look at how we can make our shuttle service even more user friendly to our guests. Please accept my sincere apology, and we hope you get a chance to come and visit us again soon, so you can see this is very uncharacteristic of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.