We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #39 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Great place, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

From the time we checked the staff has been very friendly. Our shuttle driver Robert is the bomb. He is an asset to your company, if everyone in the customer service industry was like him the world would be a better place. I would come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello! Thank you for your kind review! Robert is a hit with all our guests, and with us! My whole team strives to have a service personality like his. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    123
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
266
95
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Shout out to our shuttle driver Robert (AKA GEORGE) LOL....he is a wonderful asset to your company. Wonderful, funny.great attitude, make stay pleasant. The hotel was clean and the front deck was helpful to all my guestions. We will stay again. Thanks for a great weekend Cricket

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hi! Robert is a hit on Trip Advisor! We love he is one of our team members. He makes our guests stay one to remember. Thank you for taking time to leave your comments, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights and really liked this location. Very close to Busch Gardens. Hotel was very clean and the room we had was nice with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper, plus microwave and fridge. However, take your own hangers as our room only had 7. Clearly not enough for a family, which is what this room type would appeal to.

Also, every day we had to ask for an extra towel. We reserved our room stating there would be 4 people staying and every day the maid left 3 towels. Not a big deal, but kind of annoying.

The breakfast buffet was nice. Our daughter was disappointed that each morning the only breakfast meat they had was sausage, no bacon like other HIE that we have stayed at. She lived of course, but surprised they didn't mix it up a bit. The pancake maker was nice.

We took the shuttle to Busch Gardens 2 days. The first day was great! Robert was friendly and played and sang to Christmas songs! How fun!! He was was on time and things went very smoothly, we were quite impressed.

But, our last day, we decided to go back to Busch Gardens and it was NOT the same shuttle experience. Robert was late that morning, not much, but almost 10 minutes and he seemed rushed and distracted, not like the previous time, 2 days before. He assured us all he picks up at 5, 6 and 7 pm. If you need him before that, call the hotel.

Well, we showed up for the 6 pm shuttle a few minutes early to make sure we didn't miss it and we waited......and waited....finally at about 10 after 6, we called the hotel and they apologized and re-assured us that he'd be there in 10-15 minutes. So, we waited.....and waited....and waited.....called the hotel back at 6:30, 20 minutes after the last call we made and again were re-assured that he'd be there shortly. We waited another 5 minutes and said this is ridiculous, so we hopped in a taxi (which is $10 from Busch Gardens to the hotel) and when we got to the hotel, Robert was unloading suitcases from the back of the shuttle and clearly was NOT going to be back at Busch Gardens shortly. The front desk should have never kept saying he'd be there shortly when he clearly was not going to be. It was not a good way to end an otherwise pleasant stay. Yes, the shuttle is a free service provided by the hotel, but when they clearly state the times of their service, the shuttle should be there within a reasonable amount of time and the front desk should not keep telling people it will be shortly, when it clearly will not be shortly.

Hopefully, they find a better way of running their shuttle in the future, as it really was the only reason we would consider not returning again.

If you are not going to Busch Gardens or relying on the shuttle, it really is a great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello! Please let me first start off by apologizing for the issues you experienced surrounding our shuttle service. Robert is very popular, and it seems on the day you mentioned, he was in high demand. I take it very personally when a guest doesn’t enjoy their complete stay. Taking your comments to heart, we will have to look at how we can make our shuttle service even more user friendly to our guests. Please accept my sincere apology, and we hope you get a chance to come and visit us again soon, so you can see this is very uncharacteristic of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is convenient to Busch Gardens and is ok for families, but I wouldn't recommend it for business travelers.

It seems to attract people who aren't all that considerate of other guests. We were awoken at 1:30 am by a loud party in a room below us. There were children yelling and running in the hallways. Breakfast was overrun with lots of people elbowing to get to the food.

The housekeeping service seemed to be lacking. We didn't have service for two out of the five days we were here. Today the trash was not emptied, the carpet not vacuumed, the toilet paper replaced, and the coffee replenished. I am less than impressed with the housekeeping department.

The front desk is nice enough, though we haven't had much contact with them other than to complain about the loud party guests and get clean towels when our room wasn't done.

The hotel is clean enough and fine for a couple of days at Busch. Our mistake was making it our main hotel instead of driving to Busch Gardens which is easy enough to do. If Busch Gardens is your main stop, then this hotel is ok. If you're doing Tampa in general, I'd recommend staying in a nicer, more scenic part of town and driving to Busch Gardens.

Room Tip: I'd avoid staying on the main floor unless you hate upper floors as it is very busy since the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello. Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know where we missed the mark in exceeding your expectations during your stay. We here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF Busch Gardens work very hard to make sure each and every guest is happy when they leave, and can’t wait for a time when they can come back to visit us. From time to time miss the mark, and I know I welcome the constructive comments that allow us to learn and get better. So we truly appreciate the feedback. We use it as a road map on what to work on next. We recently made some major changes in our housekeeping department. We hope when you come to stay with us again in the future you notice a difference in the quality of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What a guy! Happy and merry and always ready to pick us up. Optimistic and loves people.
He had some good music like "Roller Coaster". It was an appropriate song for Busch Gardens.

Very clean rooms and great food. No the seats are not sticky any more.
The front desk people are nice and helpful. This is our second time coming hear and we will be back. We got a great deal for 4.

See you Robert......The Gines Family

Room Tip: Tell them to put you by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Gines Family – Thank you so much for your comments surrounding Robert. As you can see he is very popular around here. We are a big fan of him, and you can tell he loves what he does! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF Busch Gardens again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascoso, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I went with my family to the Busch Gardens park and choose this hotel because is a block away from the park, very convenient if you want to walk to busch gardens or park your car and take the shuttle at no charge.
The breakfast was a typical Holiday Inn breakfast which works for me. Good job. Nice lobby.
The room was fine. Not huge but perfectly fine with a flat screen TV. Bathroom was ok, there was no towels when I got inside the room. When I called down the front desk was very courteous and sent 3 towels. There was four of us, so I just went down and got an extra one.
The highlight of this trip was Jatnna at the front desk. Perhaps the most genuinely friendly welcome at a hotel in quite some time. Very nice girl. My kids didn’t know English that well and when they needed something they spoke to her in Italian and she could understand them.
I will return to the nicely located Holiday Inn Express by Busch Gardens.
Ciao!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Hello! I am so happy to see this review for Jatnna! It is the first time she has been mentioned on Trip Advisor! Thank you so much for recognizing her. Usually Robert is the one that outshines everyone else here that does such a great job of taking care of our guests. She is relatively new to our team, but definitely has a heart for hospitality, and we are happy she is here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were happy with our stay and had no complaints at all. I do have to say that Robert the shuttle driver was a breath of fresh air. He can put a smile on anyone's face. Professional, prompt, courteous, entertaining... Holiday Inn... don't lose him. Robert... thanks for the drives... and the smiles. Hope you liked the picture I left at the front desk.

Regards,

Silas
[--]

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for the picture of Robert! Now everyone will know who to look for when they get here! We have no intentions of letting Robert go anywhere (except the airport, seaport, Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, etc.) ;-) He is a tremendous asset here for us, and truly knows how to treat all our guests perfectly! We love him. Thank you for taking time to post his picture! We should have done that a long time ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#48 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.