We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Busch Gardens and families, but not business travelers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #37 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good for Busch Gardens and families, but not business travelers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is convenient to Busch Gardens and is ok for families, but I wouldn't recommend it for business travelers.

It seems to attract people who aren't all that considerate of other guests. We were awoken at 1:30 am by a loud party in a room below us. There were children yelling and running in the hallways. Breakfast was overrun with lots of people elbowing to get to the food.

The housekeeping service seemed to be lacking. We didn't have service for two out of the five days we were here. Today the trash was not emptied, the carpet not vacuumed, the toilet paper replaced, and the coffee replenished. I am less than impressed with the housekeeping department.

The front desk is nice enough, though we haven't had much contact with them other than to complain about the loud party guests and get clean towels when our room wasn't done.

The hotel is clean enough and fine for a couple of days at Busch. Our mistake was making it our main hotel instead of driving to Busch Gardens which is easy enough to do. If Busch Gardens is your main stop, then this hotel is ok. If you're doing Tampa in general, I'd recommend staying in a nicer, more scenic part of town and driving to Busch Gardens.

Room Tip: I'd avoid staying on the main floor unless you hate upper floors as it is very busy since the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello. Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know where we missed the mark in exceeding your expectations during your stay. We here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF Busch Gardens work very hard to make sure each and every guest is happy when they leave, and can’t wait for a time when they can come back to visit us. From time to time miss the mark, and I know I welcome the constructive comments that allow us to learn and get better. So we truly appreciate the feedback. We use it as a road map on what to work on next. We recently made some major changes in our housekeeping department. We hope when you come to stay with us again in the future you notice a difference in the quality of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    123
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
266
95
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What a guy! Happy and merry and always ready to pick us up. Optimistic and loves people.
He had some good music like "Roller Coaster". It was an appropriate song for Busch Gardens.

Very clean rooms and great food. No the seats are not sticky any more.
The front desk people are nice and helpful. This is our second time coming hear and we will be back. We got a great deal for 4.

See you Robert......The Gines Family

Room Tip: Tell them to put you by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Gines Family – Thank you so much for your comments surrounding Robert. As you can see he is very popular around here. We are a big fan of him, and you can tell he loves what he does! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF Busch Gardens again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascoso, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I went with my family to the Busch Gardens park and choose this hotel because is a block away from the park, very convenient if you want to walk to busch gardens or park your car and take the shuttle at no charge.
The breakfast was a typical Holiday Inn breakfast which works for me. Good job. Nice lobby.
The room was fine. Not huge but perfectly fine with a flat screen TV. Bathroom was ok, there was no towels when I got inside the room. When I called down the front desk was very courteous and sent 3 towels. There was four of us, so I just went down and got an extra one.
The highlight of this trip was Jatnna at the front desk. Perhaps the most genuinely friendly welcome at a hotel in quite some time. Very nice girl. My kids didn’t know English that well and when they needed something they spoke to her in Italian and she could understand them.
I will return to the nicely located Holiday Inn Express by Busch Gardens.
Ciao!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Hello! I am so happy to see this review for Jatnna! It is the first time she has been mentioned on Trip Advisor! Thank you so much for recognizing her. Usually Robert is the one that outshines everyone else here that does such a great job of taking care of our guests. She is relatively new to our team, but definitely has a heart for hospitality, and we are happy she is here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were happy with our stay and had no complaints at all. I do have to say that Robert the shuttle driver was a breath of fresh air. He can put a smile on anyone's face. Professional, prompt, courteous, entertaining... Holiday Inn... don't lose him. Robert... thanks for the drives... and the smiles. Hope you liked the picture I left at the front desk.

Regards,

Silas
[--]

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for the picture of Robert! Now everyone will know who to look for when they get here! We have no intentions of letting Robert go anywhere (except the airport, seaport, Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, etc.) ;-) He is a tremendous asset here for us, and truly knows how to treat all our guests perfectly! We love him. Thank you for taking time to post his picture! We should have done that a long time ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was our 2nd stay. We stayed here 2 years ago and thought it was so convenient for Busch Gardens and good value that we’d stay again. This time we went for a King Suite, just so we had more room to relax.

Check in was quick and friendly and we were given the free wifi password and the wifi was quite fast. As requested, we were on a high floor though we would have been on the top floor if our allocated room had been ready; we were switched at check in (we arrived around 4:30pm) as our pre-assigned room was still not ready.

The king suite was roomy and comfortable, if a little dark away from the window. I liked the wet bar in the room, which made making coffee easier. The bed was extremely comfortable and the aircon efficient and quiet.

The breakfast offered is good, considering it’s complimentary, but the breakfast room really isn’t big enough to cope unless you get there early. On our second morning, after giving up on our first attempt and going back upstairs, we just had to gather as much as we could carry and eat in our room as there were so many people rushing about plus it was just too noisy for comfort. The pancake machine was a real novelty, however, and we used it both mornings. One comment - breakfast would be so much nicer with china mugs, bowls, plates and metal cutlery, even a very cheap range, instead of the polystyrene and plastic – and it would produce less waste / be greener.

The hotel is close enough to Busch Gardens that you can leave the car and walk; it takes about 15 mins. We were so tired at the end of the day that we managed to flag down the hotel shuttle just as we got to the park exit, which was a welcome relief and such a pleasant driver. Another good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the back are further from the busy road but it's well sound-proofed. The King Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy your check in went smoothly, and that the internet met your expectations. We have been working hard to get our internet running faster for our guests.

I am glad you mentioned the breakfast area. We recently sat down with our breakfast host’s to see what we could do to increase the efficiency of the service in that department. We have been getting a lot of feedback, especially since we have been so busy over the past month, and know it is a concern. The general consensus we came to was to extend the time the breakfast is served during high occupancy so our guests have more time to use this complimentary service. Hopefully this will alleviate some of the congestion we have in the area. Thank you for adding to the chorus of comments to help us improve our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel is ideally located for spending time at Busch Gardens in Tampa. Not very close to downtown or the beaches, so keep that in mind if you are looking for other things to do in the area and don't rent a car. The staff was friendly, the free breakfast area was not the cleanest (sticky seats) and was packed every morning. They refilled the food often and someone was in attendance they whole time. The room and pool was clean and the bed comfortable. The best part of the hotel is Robert, the shuttle driver - he makes this hotel worth the stay. The transportation to the park, airport, etc... is a great service and he makes it a true pleasure. It is always nice to be around someone who loves their job and wants to make customers happy. With him you don't need to rent a car if you are only visiting for the park. Travel tip: Robert can pick you up from the airport if you make arrangements ahead of time. I would do it again.

Room Tip: Search for Internet deals and it can get loud in the room on the side of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel! We really love it when our guests take the time out of their day to tell us how well we did. Our whole team has been working very hard, including the new team members who have recently joined our team, to make sure each and every guest is happy during their stay. Robert indeed does love his job, and it shows from all the comments we get about him here, and face to face with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very clean rooms, comfortable bedding and beds, large bathrooms, friendly staff. Close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Hi! Thank you for your review! We are happy we met your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#37 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#50 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.