We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free shuttle adds to this great value hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Lyman, Wyoming
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Free shuttle adds to this great value hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel following a cruise and then spent two days at Busch Gardens with our children. The hotel itself was clean and nice. The complimentary breakfast had bacon, eggs, cinnamon rolls, pancakes as well as cereal, yogurt, fruit etc. It was a nice start to a day at the park. The reason I wanted to review our stay though, was how wonderful the shuttle service was. We have 8 people in our family, so transportation can be a big issue. Robert the driver will take you to or pick you up from the cruise pier, Busch Gardens, University Mall, and even the airport! This was huge for our family. I wanted to let other travelers know this, since I am always looking for a hotel that will shuttle to and from piers as well as the airport. There were also quite a few restaurants within walkin distance like Red Lobster, The Olive Garden, Burger King etc. For these reasons, I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: There are no amazing views, parking lots on both sides ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Hello! Please rest assured our whole team appreciates you taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review for us. We share each and every Trip Advisor review and celebrate when one of us is named specifically! Robert has been a fantastic addition, and brings a new level of customer service to our team. Our goal is to be a Top 10 Hotel in Tampa this year. Currently we are number 38. Each week as more and more reviews are added we see our hard work and dedication to our guests increase our scores. It is a driving factor in everything we do. Thank you again for letting us know we did a good job taking care of you, and we can’t wait to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    134
    59
    24
    14
See reviews for
273
105
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Hotel was very clean and tidy. Its located in a great spot if you are intersted in going to Busch Garden which is within walking distance. We really enjoyed and appreciated our shuttle driver, Robert. He took us where we wanted to go, waited on us and was always on time. He was a people person, very easy to talk to and knew the area well; recommended great restuarants and places to see.
The staff (including housekeeping) at the hotel was wonderful and very helpful. We would most definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Once again Robert has gone above and beyond in offering our guests great service. He is well and truly loved here. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here as a stop before going to Legoland in Winter Haven. We were going to go to Busch Gardens but, will save that for next time. Check was easy and even though the gentleman checking me in was interrupted by the phone, he apologized and that worked for me. The room was nice and clean with exception to the bathroom wall, but I can over look it. The wi-fi worked great and we were able to get what we needed from it. We had a 2 queen room and for the 4 of us that was fine. We did not notice any noises from other rooms and hopefully they didn't notice ours.

About 15 minutes after check in the front desk called to see if we needed anything. We did need extra towels and he brought them right up. Great service!

Breakfast was okay, standard fare for a continental. We did enjoy the pancake maker as that was the first we had ever seen. Made fresh pancakes which is nice, no more rubberized pancakes! Who ever invented it is a genius. The rest was well stocked and my youngest as always enjoyed the muffins.

Check out was a breeze as we prepaid online. No problems with things added to our bill. Good hotel for a close place to stay near Busch Gardens and quite for those that want sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

First I think something on this reviews might not be right, I read everywere about the beer at check in but my stay was the weekend of new Years eve, I actually checked in Saturday Dec 31st and I was really hoping for a beer at check in after a loing drive. When we checked and went to room the room was not ready, we checked in around 5:00 PM? There was no towels and we finally got them around 9 pm after we asked several times. The only reason I gave this poor was because the bathroom was clean.

Something I was extremely dissapointed was that there were no real comforter to cover at night, I froze to death both nights. The comforter they use it super thin like a blanket. Also I traveled with little kids and the TV did not have a kids channel on purpose so that you buy a show for a lot of $..... they should at least give us 1 channel to work with. Breakfast was mediocre, no waffle station, they have a pancake maker but they were ok. I read somewere that they have fresh fruit, the only real fruit was green bananas and apples. The eggs are an embarrasment to the hospitality industry, cereals they have 3 options. Pastries were blahh.....What to say I was dissapointed because the hot breakfast was one of the reason I choosed this hotel.
I am really sad to have to write this review because I am really against having to leave a review, this is my second hotel I write from the many I stay but thought I had to give my opinion. My advise to hotel, change the carpets in the rooms, when you work your feet gets stuck and is so sticky all over. So sorry but got one more thing, the reason we booked that suite for $20 more a night was to be able to have a little more space and the microwave so that I can pop pop corn for my kids, well the microwave is soo bad it doesnt pop the pop corn, only 1 kernel out of 30 so imagine what 1 bag disaster.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
525 helpful votes 525 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My family and I just spent a wonderful weekend here at the Holiday Inn. The hotel is decorated in an African theme and appears to be quite new. The pool is kidney shaped and a decent size to have fun in. Although we did not use it because it was too cold outside, it looked nice and clean.

The room is a bit small, but the bed and pillows are extremely comfortable and provides a good night sleep for your day in the park. I liked that you can pick firm or soft pillows. The bathroom is a nice size and it's great the rooms are equipped with microwave ovens and refrigerators.

My only complaint would be with housekeeping. When they cleaned our room, they took all our toiletries provided by the hotel and did not replace them, nor did they replace the empty box of tissues. We had to end up going to the front desk to get a new set of shampoo, conditioner, soap, and hand lotion.

The breakfast provided at the Holiday Inn was excellent as well. The eggs, whether their scrambled one day or in omelettes the next, were delicious! They are accompanied by biscuits and gravy as well as sausage. They offer three types of cereal, coffees, teas, yogurts, milk, chocolate milk, hard-boiled eggs, and of course, their DELICIOUS cinnamon rolls.

We did take the shuttle to the park and the driver was WONDERFUL! A very nice guy who works around the clock and is always a pleasure to talk to. It was nice not having to park and pay for our car and if need be, we could have always walked that long block back.

I would definitely stay here again on my next visit and would recommend to all who visit the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Hello! What a nice review of our property! Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to write out all you comments. Please let me first apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when you had to come down to Guest Services to get replacement toiletries. We certainly expect our guests to have what they need right when they need it, and taking a trip down to get supplies is something we want to avoid. I have printed your comments and shared them with our team, and assure you this opportunity to improve will not be missed. Thank you for sharing it with me.

My team in the breakfast area are great cooks! I am very happy you found their service and food as excellent as I do. They work very hard to make sure everyone starts the day full and ready to hit those attractions with a full head of steam. They are truly masters of what they do, and I couldn’t be more proud to have them on my team.

I have in the past few comments to reviews left for me here on Trip Advisor had to reply to the fact that Robert is a fantastic shuttle driver. I feel free to admit, he is the best person I could have possibly brought onto our team for this position. We love him here, and hope he doesn’t get so much publicity that other hotels in the area try to take him away from us!

Thank you again for the recommendation, and we can’t wait for you to come back and stay with us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The location is perfect for a visit to Busch Gardens. It's approximately 1 long block away and the hotel offers shuttle service to the park. Additionally, it's located right next to an Olive Garden. Upon arrival, greeted by pleasant/friendly staff. Our room was directly accross from the elevator (which I don't like), but the noise was minimal. Clean and comfortable room. No sheets for the sofa bed, but the staff brought some up immediately after a phone call. Temp control did not work perfectly on the air conditioning system, but room was nonetheless comfortable. Breakfast was very good...better then the majority of hotels. Would stay here again, although slightly overpriced at $120.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Hello! Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to fill out a review of our property! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. You are absolutely right about the L-O-N-G block to get to the park. A long time ago Busch Gardens had a gate closer so you wouldn’t have to walk as far. I was told they took it out because guests were leaving the park to go to the McDonalds across the street. ;-) I have no idea if it is true or not, but it made me smile none the less. Our shuttle service and our new fantastic driver, Robert, make the drive short and sweet. Next time you are ready to come stay with us, please feel free to contact us directly for a reservation. Additionally you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter. We sometimes run specials not available anywhere else on the internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We visited Tampa Bay for the first time in January of 2012, and we are so glad we chose this place to stay. The hotel staff, shuttle bus driver(s), and the breakfast ladies were absolutely AWESOME!!!! The rooms were fabulous, very clean, and it was great to have the little extra sitting area. If you are planning a visit to Busch Gardens I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Hi! Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review! We love getting comments like these, and my team loves it when we post them so they can see how their hard work pays off in making guests happy! We have been working very hard training and coaching so we can reach our goal of being in the top 10 properties in Tampa. If we keep up our pace and keep making our guests as happy as we made you, I am sure we will meet our goal this year! Thank you again, and please – feel free to come back and stay with us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.