We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and management staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Priceline.com
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #24 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Hamilton, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and management staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed at this location over Thanksgiving week. We had a wonderful time and this hotel was a great choice for us. We visited Busch Gardens many times and although I wouldn't suggest walking you definitely could. The hotel also provides a shuttle to the park although I did not use it during my stay. I am a platinum Priority Club member and was treated as such by this hotel. Our room was upgraded to a beautiful suite. The breakfast was good and plentiful. Something for everyone. The addition of pancakes for me was an added benefit. There was a minor issue regarding my points that was handled promptly and efficiently by Ryan, the manager at this property. Also, I noticed that Ryan was on duty on Thanksgiving and found that he gave employees the day off and worked himself. That indicates that he treats his employees as well as he treats the guests. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the Tampa, FL area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Hello! Thank you for the very kind review. We truly appreciate the time you took out of your schedule to let us and our future guests know how we are doing. We also love that our Platinum Priority Club members love our hotel! My team and I love seeing such kind reviews when it comes to how hard we have been working to make our hotel one of the top hotels in Tampa. Thanksgiving week was something around here. Those of us that were here during that week were just able to enjoy time with our families during the recent holiday week. It was a nice even trade; were between Thanksgiving and Christmas almost everyone was able to take some time away to recharge. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we can’t wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    113
    53
    21
    11
See reviews for
250
88
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was extremely friendly & very helpful. The rooms were nicely decorated & we made use of the mini-fridge & microwave. We liked the granite countertops in the bathroom. The rooms were wonderfully clean & fresh-smelling. My husband really liked the free in-room wi-fi. The complimentary breakfast was great! The pancake machine was fun & the eggs & biscuits were delicious. We were glad there was a fitness center on site. Being located so close to Busch Gardens & pretty close to downtown Tampa make it an ideal location for a vacation. We especially appreciate Ryan being so hospitable. We'll definitely stay here again & tell all our friends to, too.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms face Busch Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hello! Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! My team and I work very hard to make each of our guests stay a memory maker. Going into 2012 we are working harder than ever to make sure we have a top 10 hotel. That is our goal, our focus, and our drive. We are excited about our team, and our new team members that have recently joined us, and are keeping this goal in mind at all times. We can't wait for you to come back for a long stay, or just for the weekend so you can see our commitment to excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

Angela the registration staffer was outstanding
I travel a lot
I am a platinum member at several hotel chains and so I know bad service - average service & outstanding service

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Hello! Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to fill out a Trip Advisor review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF Busch Gardens! Angela will be thrilled to see her name on a review. We always celebrate a team member who is lucky enough to be recognized on a review site such as this. It is hard to get your name mentioned on here, and I know she truly appreciates you! We brought Angela on board from California about 2 months ago, and she has been a major factor in the boost to our customer service and team spirit here! Kemelya Scott(AGM) and I are very happy to have her on our team! She is a fantastic team member and our guests just love her as much as we do! I hope everyone who comes to visit with us gets a chance to meet her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel is great for the price. It's within walking distance of Busch Gardens (about two blocks), and they offer a free shuttle back and forth at certain times. If you want to ride it, be sure to reserve a space for yourself ahead of time because it fills up. The breakfast was great and the eating area was very clean. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The next time I visit Busch Gardens, I will definitely be staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Only a few of the floors have ice machines, so make sure you ask which floors have them to save a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hello! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel! We truly appreciate when guests give us and our future guests their thoughts on how we have done. I am very happy to read of your experience with us. The breakfast hostesses and guest services team will be very happy to see they were mentioned in another review! We are looking forward to coming back soon to stay with us!

I love your room tip. You are correct, we only have ice machines on the second and fourth floors. The first floor has vending and the third floor is where guest laundry is located (so no room for an ice machine). I hadn’t thought about publishing that information before. Thank you for making me think to do that! Sincerely, Ryan Cornelius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed here couple of times before, found staff a bit disinterested this time eg asked five times for extra hangers but got none - "housekeeping go off at 3pm, room is locked!". Decent room, good breakfast if a bit busy and chaotic (Halloween Week), hotel very busy but not noisy at night. Nice little pool but goes into shade midafternoon. Very efficient Busch Gardens shuttle 3 times a day morning and afternoon, but otherwise not a bad walk(for Brits anyway!) about 1.5 miles. Definitely good choice for BG

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Hello! I know this sounds repetitive if you have read my previous replies to everyone who leaves reviews for us, but I sincerely want to thank you for your review, and offer a sincere apology to you for the seeming lack of interest in helping you with your request for more hangers during your stay. I find this response to your request completely unacceptable. We will be highlighting your review in our next team meeting so we can improve our service level. Identifying improvements in our commitment to our guests is integral to Striving for Excellence. I want my property to be known for going above and beyond for our guests. Thank you for assisting us in getting better and better every day in every way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is a close hotel to Busch Gardens, it took us about 2 minutes to get to the parking lot for the theme park. The Olive Garden and Red Lobster restaurants are just a few steps away so we took advantage of that for our dinner. The rate we paid was less than $100 so we were not expecting much. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and the check-in staff was efficient. The free breakfast was a nice surprise- They had the usual muffins, doughnuts, and toast but, they also offered scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy plus an assortment of cereals. So that was a plus- not top of the line quality but, enough to satisfy a family before heading off to a theme park.
The only negative thing about this hotel was that we found it to be noisy. Since it is next door to the Olive Garden they had delivery trucks first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
First, let me thank you for your review. We are happy you chose us for your stay here in Tampa. Second, let me thank you for letting me know about the deliveries next door. We have a very good relationship with our neighbors, and I am sure we will be able to come to some sort of resolution about the noise from the deliveries. I am sincerely sorry for this inconvenience, and truly appreciate you letting me know so I can address it right away! It really helps when we are able to get constructive feedback from our guests in this way. We can only take steps to get better and make things right for my future guests when we are notified of issues such as that we normally wouldn’t be able to identify ourselves. You have provided me with a valuable service. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I love this hotel!!! We have stayed twice and both times was wonderful. The staff is the best. They are extremely friendly and nice. The hotel is pretty new so the rooms are very clean and modern. Breakfast buffet saves you money and a tasty breakfast too. If you are going to busch gardens, you have to stay here since it is only within walking distance from the park and they even have a shuttle that takes you there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Hello! Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write your review of our hotel. We absolutely agree with you, that anytime you come to Busch Gardens you need to stay with us! My team and I are working hard every day to get better and better at meeting and exceeding your expecations. We look forward to having you come back soon and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.