We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 159 hotels in Tampa
quito
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My familiy and I stayed here for 3 nights, the accommodations, service, attention, were excellent...........the best!!. I highly recommend this hotel, everybody working there were extremely kind. Our stay was very pleasant. Thanks to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Wow. Thank you so much for you kind words. The Team and I here have been working extra hard for the past few weeks. Improving service skills and getting feedback from our guests is a very high priority for us all right now. We truly appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know we did something right! Thank you, and we look forward to having you be our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    120
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
260
95
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel had very large rooms, making it very suitable for families. I wasn't pleased with the level of cleanliness, especially after finding a section from someone's hair weave in one of our rooms. The restaurant has very limited hours. Their service is excellent, especially considering they are woefully understaffed. Was disappointed in the wait time for the shuttle service. Once, we had to call multiple times to get shuttle service; we were forgotten about. They need additional shuttles. Once again, this hotel is woefully understaffed. On our next trip, we will NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Book a package from the Busch Gardens website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Hello. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding our hotel. Today is my third day here, and I truly appreciate the comments and feedback our guests are giving me. While it is true we are a very busy property, and I can see the roller coasters at Busch Gardens from my office window, I take it very personally when we miss meeting the expectations our guests set for us. Please be assured, I take all of your comments to heart, and make a commitment to you, we will make it better. If you find yourself in the area again, please contact me personally so I can arrange your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Va
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great location for Busch Gardens and Hard Rock Casino.....which we enjoyed greatly! Otherwise, sort of a pain to get to other locations without somewhat of a hassle, do to distances to and from other attractions.

Room Tip: Robert, at front desk, is a really great front desk person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our family - myself, wife, and five year old - stayed at this hotel for three days in late July while visiting Busch Gardens, Adventure Island water park and MOSI museum. The hotel is located very close to all of these; we could clearly see riders on the Busch Gardens rollercoasters from our room. This is a newer hotel than most in this area and has nice amenities- interior hallway entry into room, granite counters, microwave/minifridge in room, LCD TV, free wireless internet. The room price reflected the above - somewhat higher than others nearby but not exorbitant. Good variety of nearby restaurants. Very little road noise though the hotel is close to Busch Blvd, and very little noticeable noise from inside the hotel either - rooms seem well insulated.

Staff was friendly and helpful though they seemed a little overwhelmed given the heavy use the hotel gets from families with teenagers and children - front desk didn't always have someone there and the elevator floors got pretty scuzzy at times. It was also hard, virtually impossible at peak times, to find baggage carts to haul stuff to/from car. We finally just hauled it up ourselves in a few trips. The free breakfast was also nice though far from extravagant. Breakfast food is pretty limited and the staff struggled to keep up with the heavy demand - there was often a wait for some items if not the tables/chairs themselves. The only issue I had with our room was a rattle in the A/C which was annoying. I could have called it in but just stuffed some thick paper between the grill and main unit that helped reduce the rattle.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return here in the future. Some problems but relatively minor and mostly related to the high use this hotel gets. At least we didn't have to wait 30+ minutes in a line as we got used to doing at the parks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetnTampa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for your feedback as we have taken steps to improve the areas mentioned. We have added another team member in the breakfast area to ensure the food is replenished as needed and also added to the team at the front desk to ensure there is always someone there to take care of our guests. Also, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were going to Busch Gardens for a couple of days and wanted to be "onsite" with easy access to the entrance to avoid early morning traffic in the Tampa area. This hotel was perfect. A typical Holiday Inn Express, with great beds and a friendly staff, the only complaint would be about the breakfast....normally very good at most locations this was a bit subpar, the staff was slow to replenish empty containers and at times people were waiting for milk, bread for toast and warm eggs....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetnTampa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback on our property as it is feedback that helps us improve. We have taken steps to improve the breakfast experience by adding more staff and ensuring items are available as needed by you, our guest. We hope you will visit us again to give us a chance to show you that we are working daily to care for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here July 9-10 11, 2011 What a great location but disappointing hotel because of management. Let me be very honest this could be a great review but because of lack of management I have to write this. We had reservations 6 weeks in advance and were flying into Tampa for two nights before going on a cruise on Carnival out of Tampa. We flew into Tampa from New Orleans on Saturday morning and were also meeting friends at the hotel that were flying from another city. We all arrived at hotel about 11:30 and were told rooms were not ready. I'm also a priority rewards member for over 10 years and stay at Holiday inns about 35 nights a year. When our rooms were not ready we walked next door to Red Lobster for lunch no problem a lot of restaurants close by you can walk to. Now we came back and had to wait until 3:45 for our room to be ready. It gets better we went upstairs and our friends we were waiting with were told their room would be ready in about 15 minutes so we went to our room. Over a hour and half later they got their room around 5:30 and they also had reservations about 6 weeks in advance. Saturday was shot so we chilled and thought we will get up Sunday and eat then head over to Busch Gardens for the day. The breakfast at the hotel was crazy. It is set up wrong period and its design so unorganized. People tripping over each other attempting to get to different parts of the breakfast bar because it's so mixed up and eating tables so tight you cannot walk through them when people are sitting at them. It may seem trivial but they were out of everything and very slow and had to be asked for everything. No orange juice, no plates, no milk, out of yogurt etc. you get the picture. One lady over seeing everything in kitchen and eating area at peak time by her self and she was so slow most people could have worked circles around her. The girl at the front desk who manages in the morning/day should be fired she has no people skills or training and no help at all. Rules are 3:00 check in period whether a room is ready earlier or not. The hotel is not clean like a new Holiday Inn Express should be and it starts with the over flowing garbage cans at the entrance and dirty smoking area at the entrance. Now the hotel has a shuttle that runs about three hours a day and sits idle in parking lot for 21 hours a day. Does this make since? They will carry you to Busch Gardens gate 9-10:30 and pick you up 4-5:30. No airport or cruise ship shuttle. I even offered to pay like a taxi fee but it was refused. Why you are a resort entrance hotel that has a van that does nothing 21 hours a day. We did use shuttle to BG on Sunday morning but returned in a taxi after 6 because the shuttle doesn't work after 5:30. It was only a 4.00 fee for 7 people. We checked out on Monday and went on a cruise. This could be a wonderful hotel but because of lack of over-site and management I give it barely two stars and on the same level as a Days Inn that's next door or Super Eight. It could be four stars but with out a change in management this hotel will look 25 years old in under three years. Hope this helps some one traveling.

Room Tip: Front desk day time management is terrible don't get to hotel before 4-5 you will not get your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetnTampa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Please accept our sincere apology for your negative experience during your stay. You can be assured that we are working on these issues and began putting two ladies in the breakfast area as well as added hotel housekeeping staff in order to have rooms ready on time. We have also done some recent training so our team is ready for your next visit to our property. I hope you will give us another chance in the near future and let us show you that we are prepared and ready to take care of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Being my first time in Florida we booked a night here for a next day family day at Busch Gardens. Spent alot of time reseraching where to stay and We made the right decision. This place was awsome. I was impressed from start to finish. It was everything and more. The room was perfect the view was great the pool was outstanding. Very professional staff and very knowledgeable. I will be back in Feb or March of 2012 for sure. The shuttle was a nice touch too. See ya in 2012!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetnTampa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Hello: Thank you so much for allowing us to be part of your families get away to Tampa! I'm so pleased to hear that we accommodated you and took good care of you. We look forward to seeing you again in February or March of next year. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback as well. Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#31 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.