We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Staff"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #73 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Holiday, Florida
1 review
“"Great Staff"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by Jason at the front desk who was extremely friendly. When he found out it was our anniversary he had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries sent up to our room. The room was very clean and had a nice view of the river. During our stay we were looking for things to do and were guided to outstanding places by Marcus Gardner from Valet. He was extremely helpful and friendly. We will be back to visit thanks again to Jason and Marcus for there hospitality. The ONLY complaint we have is that NO ONE informed us that you could up grade your stay to include the club house , which we would have done if we had known.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for upgrade to club house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments were shared with the entire team including Jason and Marcus. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

AL M. ALSALEH
HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    209
    132
    85
    55
See reviews for
123
154
61
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

There was not even a small bridge to keep things cool. The room was extremely small. The beds were full in size. The small bathroom was so tiny you could wash your hands from the toilet.
$18 per night parking added to the hotel room!!
Construction next door will wake you up.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. Our hotel has two types of beds, either double size or a king size bed. In addition, the $18 parking fee is a standard fee that downtown hotels charge through a third party that manages downtown parking due to a limited parking spaces.

Nonetheless, we are very sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t as pleasant as it should be and we hope that you will accept our sincere apology. We also hope that you will give us another chance to serve you if you are in the area.

Sincerely,

AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Ego, BC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

View of river, top floor. Access to hospitality suite. Not close to convention Center but easy walk. No issues with check in or check out. Pool was a great spot to catch rays. Restaurant was good enough for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. Your kind feedback and gracious score are greatly appreciated and have been shared with hotel team.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

AL M. ALSALEH - HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Besides the great location, water front view, and super comfy beds. The staff has been amazing accommodating my every need. Joseph and PA at the bar had tons of helpful info regarding the area and are just good people you can't help but like. Great stay, good times.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Peter,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We do appreciate your kind comments and generous score.

Your comments have been already with Joseph and PZ (PA), as well as with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

AL M. ALSALEH
HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The new renovations are very clean and open. I have read some of the negative reviews of some other people, and they are just their opinions. Believe me, this hotel is very clean and the people are extremely congenial. I have never met one rude person nor have I ever had a dirty room. The suites and junior suites are just beautiful. And the Club Room upstairs has a very efficient and wonderful person who takes care of it named Dontay. He is your main asset upstairs, believe me. Without Dontay, I wouldn't even frequent the Club Room. He makes our stay. And as far as the front desk is concerned, Laura and Aileen and the crew are always very friendly. I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you have to go to Tampa Hospital. The shuttle service is always available with a friendly smile. Thanks Kery, Scott, Chuck, and all you guys for your wonderful service!

Room Tip: Always try to stay on the riverside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We’re very glad to hear that your recent visit with us was nothing but pleasant, and that you found our staff congenial and helpful.

Our team is very passionate about the service they provide to our valued guests and we are happy that you recognized that.

Your gracious comments were shared with the entire team and everyone appreciated your kindness. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

On the river where the city is putting in a questionable walkway as there is nothing particularly scenic or accommodating to guests in the way of facilities. Hotel is an older structure that has been updated but remains and older and outdated building. Valet or street parking only though they do have a free local on demand shuttle as well as being just a few blocks away from the streetcar to Ybor city. As other reviewers have stated - if your looking for the Sheraton experience this is not it, it is just a downtown hotel with a pool.

Room Tip: If riverside rooms can be had at the same cost go for those as the city noise on the street side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you found our hotel outdated and your experience was less than pleasant.

We just wanted to share with you that our hotel was recently renovated; however, we take guests’ comments very seriously and they have a great impact on our decision especially when making improvements or remodeling.

We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had booked a stay at this hotel, and I had a sinking, disappointing feeling as we drove up. There were several staff members outside of the hotel on their breaks smoking and talking loudly as we passed by. Once inside the hotel, it was very dark, dingy and dirty looking. It is located on a tiny spit of water which appears much larger and deceiving in their picture. Hotel doesnt look anything like the online pictures for inside or outside. It is in the middle of a business district and is a business hotel, surrounded by alot of office buildings. Prior to going to the hotel, we called on the phone and the person on the phone was very rude, 2 different people both times we called. We dont recommend this hotel, there are many better ones to choose from in tampa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. It is very disappointing to hear that your stay wasn’t as pleasant as it should be.

Regarding the staff smoking outside the hotel, the Sheraton River Walk is a non-smoking hotel; therefore, we designated a smoking area out of the hotel in the back side. Such an area is on the opposite side of the main entrance but it can be partially seen from Ashley Drive.

Please accept our apology for failing to meet your expectation during your visit. I do appreciate giving us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.