We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown but not a true Sheraton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #71 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Downtown but not a true Sheraton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

On the river where the city is putting in a questionable walkway as there is nothing particularly scenic or accommodating to guests in the way of facilities. Hotel is an older structure that has been updated but remains and older and outdated building. Valet or street parking only though they do have a free local on demand shuttle as well as being just a few blocks away from the streetcar to Ybor city. As other reviewers have stated - if your looking for the Sheraton experience this is not it, it is just a downtown hotel with a pool.

Room Tip: If riverside rooms can be had at the same cost go for those as the city noise on the street side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you found our hotel outdated and your experience was less than pleasant.

We just wanted to share with you that our hotel was recently renovated; however, we take guests’ comments very seriously and they have a great impact on our decision especially when making improvements or remodeling.

We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    237
    147
    90
    59
See reviews for
139
175
62
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had booked a stay at this hotel, and I had a sinking, disappointing feeling as we drove up. There were several staff members outside of the hotel on their breaks smoking and talking loudly as we passed by. Once inside the hotel, it was very dark, dingy and dirty looking. It is located on a tiny spit of water which appears much larger and deceiving in their picture. Hotel doesnt look anything like the online pictures for inside or outside. It is in the middle of a business district and is a business hotel, surrounded by alot of office buildings. Prior to going to the hotel, we called on the phone and the person on the phone was very rude, 2 different people both times we called. We dont recommend this hotel, there are many better ones to choose from in tampa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. It is very disappointing to hear that your stay wasn’t as pleasant as it should be.

Regarding the staff smoking outside the hotel, the Sheraton River Walk is a non-smoking hotel; therefore, we designated a smoking area out of the hotel in the back side. Such an area is on the opposite side of the main entrance but it can be partially seen from Ashley Drive.

Please accept our apology for failing to meet your expectation during your visit. I do appreciate giving us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was expecting the "Sheraton´s experience" I had in another cities and countries . It was not the case. The room was not clean enough, specially the bathroom (some hair in the shower, stains in the bathroom sink that seems to be toothpaste....) the cabinet door almost felt down because it was out of the rail. They fixed, but it was bad to arrive tired and not to be able to open the closet to unpack my bags.
Overall people were kind and helpful, specially the valet parking people.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room. Check at your arrival how clean is your room, specially the bathroom. Is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share both your compliment and concerns regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff kind and helpful. However, we are very disappointed that we weren’t able to meet your expectation in certain aspects.

The cleanliness and the cabinet door issues have been addressed and the necessary corrections have been made. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenient. We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

Al M. Alsaleh – Hotel Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Tampa downtown city is very clean and surprisingly peaceful, which is a good thing for a city girl like me. But the Sunday morning knock on the door at 8:15 and two more time was a bit too early for a vacation mode. Last night's bar was less then 4 customers and not a "hello I'll be right with you." And this afternoon my accent called for a Bollini insteaf Bellini :-( Beside that the place is modern and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear evelynpadil,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us. It is very disappointing to read that we fell short and we didn’t meet your expectations.

The knock on the door in the early morning is unacceptable and please accept our apologies for not receiving a prompt warm welcome at the bar. We have already addressed this issue with our staff and I assure you that his will never happen again. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you again soon.

Best Regards,

AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My family and I are moving to the area, and needed a place to stay. I called ahead to make the reservation. The man that answered acted like he was doing me a favor by finding us a room. He checked us in was extremely flustered and didn't seem to know what he was doing. I filled out two tax exempt forms during check in and still was charged tax! I found out the next day, when looking on the website, that my dog could've had a bed and water and food dishes brought up. But I can't complain too much since the dog stayed free. I spoke to a woman about the tax exemption in the morning and she told me she would send me an email with a new receipt within 30 mins, it has now been 24 hours and I still don't have it. Overall the room and bathroom were clean. The beds were okay. No breakfast provided but there is a restaurant. There is only valet parking which costs $18 per night! I need a hotel for tonight but I won't be going back there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience we caused you and for felling below your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with appropriate departments and an action has been taken.

As far as the $18 valet charges, it is a common practice in Downtown Tampa that Hotels charge such a fee or even higher fees due to a limited parking spaces.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked a room for three to spend a night before embarking on a cruise from Port of Tampa. Although the hotel is not a lavish or modern as most SPG properties, we were very pleased with our stay. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, beds comfortable, and front desk staff were very helpful and professional. The hotel provides a free shuttle service to the cruise port and additionally to any location within a 3 mile radius. Although there are several restaurants within walking distance, we used the free shuttle to dine at the original Columbia Cafe in Ybor City. Shuttle drivers are excellent. Very short wait time for either our ride to the restaurant or return. When we were ready to return we simply called the hotel for a pick up in front of the restaurant.
The hotel does not offer free shuttle service from the Tampa Airport as it is quite far away, but provided information for the Blue One Shuttle, which is very inexpensive, when I reserved the room, I would definitely recommend this hotel for cruise travelers.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the river front offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
It is great to hear that you found our rooms and bathrooms very clean and you enjoyed our confortable Sweet Sleeper Sheraton Brand Beds. We are also glad to hear that you found our front desk staff very helpful and professional. We appreciate sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thanks,
AL M. ALSALEH / HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for a conference at the convention center and while a bit cheaper than the closer Marriott or Embassy Suites those, having stayed there before, would have been a better choice.

The room is dated. The ceiling In my room was recently painted, but they missed a big spot so it looked half baked.

The toilet mounted on the wall was crooked. I mean leaning! Water pressure and volume was fantastic!

Bed was comfortable, work area was adequate. Limited outlets to charge things meant you had to spread your devices around the room which is a pain.

Wifi is free, but slow.

The bar does not have nbcsports so no NHL playoffs shown there. Bartender says he's been asking for years. I guess they don't take employee feedback very well.

Housekeeping did a reasonable job, but didn't vacuum every day.

Even numbered rooms face the street and at very noisy. Trash collection at 4am can really ruin your day, not to mention the leaf blower toting idiots at 530am blowing the sidewalks across the street.

While this is an OK property, there are much better close by at a reasonable value in comparison.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Mr_Fireston, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent and less than pleasant stay. We are very sorry for our shortcomings and we wanted to assure you that all your comments were shared with appropriate managers and departments. The necessary actions and steps have already taken place to guarantee such non pleasant experience will never be repeated again. As far as the sport channels, I wanted to share with you that we submitted a request several weeks ago to install sport channels at the bar and lobby areas and we should get it done soon. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to prove ourselves.

Kind regards,
AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.